We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Samagi Guest House & Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Samagi Guest House & Cottage
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We were really lucky because we tried to stay at Devi Tourist Home, but that was full and they told us to try Samagi. For 3,000 rupees we got a villa to ourselves containing a simple double room, a most beautiful bathroom, dining room and living room. A/C would have been an extra 500 rupees per night. There were some... More 

Helpful?
Thank 01STAY01
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear you've enjoed our stay. Your compliment gave our staffs and I many power to work. We look forward to having you with us again. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Because of this place, I decided to become a more active member of Tripadvisor and instead of only looking and reading other people's reviews, give reviews as well. I arrived at train station without booking and decided to go with the flow. One of the tuc-tuc drivers of Samagi guest house start talking to me and I came with him.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank blueprint2014
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Dear guest, Please contact us. If this was all true, I will pay you back. I know such a thing has never happened. I want all the tripvisor visiters have the cleverness to judge whether it is true or not. More 

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The place was the greatest, near the main road, not far from tourist attractions, nothing you can`t make on bike. Great meals, peace and quiet But the greatest thing/person there is Boss, he will make your dreams come true- safari with elephants? -yeas pleas; elephants riding? -of course the greatest ayurveda? -your welcome! It was the nicest place in our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dominika B
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to help guest's request. Please donnot hesitate to ask us! More 

bucharest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We waited over 30 minutes for the owner to arrive and show us the guest house. When he finally showed up,we said "hello" and the owner said nothing! He proceeded to open the room door and the first thing I noticed was that the room was very small and very dark. There were only two beds,no table,no chairs,no nightstand,no kitchen... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank rocioran
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

This review is NOT related with our guest house. To.a guest It seems you've mistaken. Such an incident has not occurred at our guest house. Please confirm again. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The rooms are located in a cottage 5 minutes’ drive away from the main street. The rooms and bathrooms were large and very clean. The location is very quiet. Attached to the cottage, there is a nice private garden. The food served is nice (lunch and breakfast) and cheap. The landlord is very helpful. Jeeps and bicycles can be rented... More 

Helpful?
Thank Merlulus
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear you've enjoed our stay. Your compliment gave our staffs and I many power to work. We look forward to having you with us again. More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I went to this place on 23rd December with few of my friends and had experienced the worst service I have ever got in my traveling life after paying considerable amount of money to this place .specially the person who owns this place dose not posses any idea of how treating their guests .he is most of the time unreachable... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank milan s
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

This is NOT a fair review. This local guest canceled one night on the day to stay, that's why we did not repay based on the cancellation policy. It is very regrettable as a same Sri Lankan that you put a negative review intentionally with your anger. More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

DON,T EVER go to samagi villa polonnaruwa.Most unpleasant experience with samagi villa and manju(owner) the main man in the episode i paid required advance of Rs.5000/= one and half months prior to our departure.Bookd form 24th Dec to 27th Dec i Kept checking with manju at samagi villa and was advised that everything was under control.I called on the morning... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank nalinda2014
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

This is NOT a fair review. This local guests canceled one night on the day to stay, that's why we did not repay based on the cancellation policy. Morever they booked earlier on Nov but it was no show without notice. I never promised to payback. It is very regrettable as a same Sri Lankan that you put a negative... More 

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived in Polonnaruwa off the bus at 10pm: tired, hungry and nowhere to sleep. Unbeknown to us, the bus conductor had called ahead to Manjula, who pounced on us as we decended the bus. Given our lack of options, we agreed to look at the room (agreed a rate of 1500) and if we did not like it he... More 

Helpful?
Thank JCClondon08
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. 10% is a service charge and tax by Sri Lankan government. This is legal. It was our fault not to expalin in advance well. Unfortunately, the different contents from tha fact is included in a review. We are trying to reply the view of our guest house as much as possible for the guest's better... More 

germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a had a huge bungalow with three rooms for ourselves. It was clean and modern, just the cable TV wasn´t working but it wasn´t important to us (we were offered to move but we didn´t want to). The dinner was very nice, rice and curry, but the breakfast was disappointing for the price it costs. The owner tries... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gerardo l
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It will be useful for the future better improvement in service. Thanks again. More 

St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed there for a single night after visiting archeological site. We were the only guests in three-bedroom villa. The building is brand new, very clean, with good spacious bathroom, well-equipped living room with TV, the kitchen was under construction. We had great dinner: rotti and avocado salad were delicious. Breakfast was very good and well served - one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank nskvortsov
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very glad to hear you've enjoed our meal and stay. Avocado and Mango Salad is very popular dish loved by many guests. Especially, mango is very good season at your visit. So it makes salad more deliciaus one. We look forward to having you with us again. More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Lake Park
Hotel Lake Park
#6 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
89 reviews
0.0 km away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#2 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
157 reviews
0.0 km away
Leesha Tourist Home
Leesha Tourist Home
#1 of 54 in Polonnaruwa
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Manel Guest House
Manel Guest House
#2 of 54 in Polonnaruwa
224 reviews
0.0 km away
Seyara Holiday Resort
Seyara Holiday Resort
#3 of 15 in Polonnaruwa
197 reviews
0.0 km away
Thisara Guest House
Thisara Guest House
#5 of 54 in Polonnaruwa
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our cottage offers more individual accommodation for up to 8-10 persons and contains 2or3 bedrooms with two single size beds (2 persons), a living room with sofa and 42"LCD-TV and Internet, a dining area with table and chairs, a fully equipped kitchen and a bathroom with hot shower. All rooms has AC and fan. Everything is very new build in 2012/March. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Samagi Guest House & Cottage

Address: 49 Lakeview Garden, Church Road, Polonnaruwa 00000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Price Range: RM151 - RM164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Samagi Guest House & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Samagi Guest House & Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The villa on the right has more rooms, but you are sharing one bathroom at the moment. The kitchen is under construction, but once it's done, will be ready for self-caterers (little food stands on the main road about 5min walk from the villas).”
  •                   Clean bathrooms
  •                   Best Bed
 of 5 bubbles nicolainek, 4 Feb 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay