We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sudu Araliya

PricelineUS$53*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$67*
US$53*
US$67*
US$53*
US$67*
US$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sudu Araliya
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 230: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Sudu Araliya
 Click to rate
Bombala, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and out look is stunning as the lake is huge and breath taking. The food was nice however for western people the choice was limited. The only disappointment was we left 2 postcards and money for the stamps, with the receptionist to post to our granddaughters for us and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineD27
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Sudu Araliya at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear valued guest! Greetings from Hotel Sudu Araliya!! Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review on TripAdvisor & especially for appreciating friendliness of our staff. We are delighted to read your comments & happy that you enjoyed all our facilities as well as the location of the hotel. Sorry to hear your disappointment about post cards....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The public areas of the hotel, the gardens and the pool area are very well presented. Being a large hotel it can have large bus groups. We spent two nights at the hotel and certainly the night without the bus groups was a better experience. The room was clean but sort of illogical - hard to find how things worked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jade808558
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear valued guest !! Many thanks for taking time to review your recent visit with us. We 're so pleased you had such a memorable stay at Hotel Sudu Araliya and truly appreciate all the lovely comments you've made. We're glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with all our facilities & feedback on the service. Which we will...

Biel, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Sudu Araliya throughly. It's not the most glamorous hotel but the friendly staff made us feel so welcomed. Food needs bit more upgrading to foreign standards. The pool area needs a life guard at all times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thejani K
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear valued guest !! Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback with us and thank you for highlighting some experience what you had. We have taken & well note about your concerns. Hotel Sudu Araliya as an organization prides itself in exceeding every guest expectation & is open to feedbacks which could see us getting to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This hotel is large by Sri Lankan standards and the ground floor is definitely the show piece with a view of the lake and a large open dining room leading to the bar and swimming pool. The other floor have long and twisting corridors which can be a little confusing at first. The staff were attentive but they do operate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackw53
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest !! Thank you for taking the time to post your Comments about your recent visit to our hotel on TripAdvisor. Whilst apologizing for the inconvenience please be informed that & we have noted your constructive feed back and area mentioned will be rectified in due course. Vacation of The Sinhala & Tamil new year we was fully...

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

It is an ideal place if you are expecting to explore the polonnaruwa ancient city. All the important places are located within the walking distance. The hotel itself is a very calm place with a friendly staff. The Parakramabahu reservior is at the edge of the hotel will give a fantastic view from the hotel garden and the rooms. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isuru L
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest! Greetings from hotel suduaraliya !! Thank you for giving your valuable time while holiday in here for posting a very positive review of our Hotel & the service. Your heart warming feed back was very soothing an encouraging. It was indeed happy to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us & found all the comforts...

Lisse, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Upon arrival we were given the rooms on the inside with view on the staircases...., okay if you stay 1 night, but for 3 nights we preferred a little bit of openness and better view. Staff have resolved this and we got a room on ground floor level. grounds are super and the pool is very good. Restaurant food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest ! Greetings from hotel Sudu Araliya Pollonnaruwa!!! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit to our hotel on trip adviser. Thank you for being our guest & for sharing your Travel visit experience of hotel sudu araliya with other trip adviser readers. Guest feed back always helps us to improve...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Our family stayed during the August holiday rush. Rushed we were. So my experience is coloured, and is limited to the August season. We were offered a suite as all the rooms were booked, It is massive by any standard, The linen and beds were good, clean. We were told that the hotel has seen better days and needs a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surajdeen S
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear valued guest! Greetings from Hotel Sudu Araliya!!! Thanks for giving your valuable time while holiday here for posting a positive review about us. We are thrilled you had such a nice stay with us & found all Comforts you had expected . It was last year Auguest but not forgetting so thank you for your generous compliments. Whilst apologizing...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 13 March 2017

After resolving some problems with our reservation we enjoyed the room and the view from the hotel to the lake very much. The staff are very friendly and helpful in finding the right safari park for us to visit. The food at dinner was pretty awful but we compensated by placing a candle-lit table outside at the lakefront and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avigott
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear valued guest! Thank you for selecting Hotel Sudu Araliya for your stay and we appreciate to that you shared your sincere sentiments with us. Whilst apologizing for the inconvenience please informed that have noted your constructive feedback and area mentioned, will be rectified in due course. It's nice to hear you had friendly helpful service from our staff. We...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

This is a large hotel with an efficient reception and responsive staff. Entrance is lovely. Good buffet. Lake view. Very quiet. Clean. Hot water maker needs pencil to plug-in ( done by staff) - no adaptor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ireneaq2017
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear valued guest! Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Sudu Araliya for your stay & we appreciate to that you shared your sincere sentiments with us. It's nice to hear you had efficient service from our staff. We must emphasize that we enjoyed serving you as much as you enjoyed our service. Whilst apologizing for the inconvenience please be...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Friendly and very obliging staff, Rooms are spacious and very clean. Pool area was very attractive, nice area to spend the day. Very good hotel for family to satay and easy excess to historic places. We will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vijitha2017
HotelSuduAraliya, Management at Hotel Sudu Araliya, responded to this review

Dear valued guest ! Thank you for giving your valuable time while holiday in here for posting a very positive review of our Hotel & the service. Your heart warming feedback was very soothing an encouraging. It was indeed happy to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us & found all the comforts you had expected ,thank you...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
10.8 km away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
510 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
401 reviews
10.7 km away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
176 reviews
3.2 km away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
102 reviews
5.5 km away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Polonnaruwa is one of the most historically renowned destinations in Sri Lanka. It comes as no surprise that there is a steady stream of visitors that flow into the city each and every year. With an extraordinary collection of ancient relics and nature's own wonders, the city is leaden with plenty of amazing opportunities for travelers to experience many facets of Sri Lanka.Strolling on the banks of the Parakrama Reservoir, gazing at the splendorous creations of ancient civilizations and giving in to the enticing aroma of traditional Sri Lankan food are but a few of the many travelling pleasures that await you in Polonnaruwa. Of course, selecting the best of the hotels in Polonnaruwa is the right way to make sure that your exquisite surroundings are complimented by comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sudu Araliya

Address: New Town , Polonnaruwa, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Price Range: RM275 - RM533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sudu Araliya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sudu Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudu Araliya Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sudu Araliya staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sudu Araliya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the kitchen area can be noisy”
jackw53, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms with a balcony are great, inside rooms are not great and ask for a lake view room.”
HarryC505, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for rooms that open out to the lake”
surajdeens2017, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms have the best view.”
vijitha2017, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There were very good rooms facing the big reservoir called Parakrama Samudraya. Request for such a room.”
Thusith_Perera, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$53* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$53
Orbitz.comUS$53
HotelQuicklyUS$67
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates