We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ibis Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We didn't stay at Ibis, but we had a scrumptuous breakfast and dinner there just about every day of our one-week stay in Tangalle. A unique place to dine, because it's quiet , balmy, nicely lit, and a stone's throw from the surf. The food is beautifully served. On the last day, we treated ourselves to lobster. And if, after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marijke2016
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Nice resort, right on the beach. They have different kind of rooms, we stayed in one of the bungalows which was great. ‘Garden’ is nice: little palm trees, hammocks, lounge chairs, the works. Restaurant/bar area is quite big and robust. Friendly staff and owners, they speak good English and can arrange everything. Food is fine, enjoyed the fish of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank friestijl
Dittelbrunn, Germany
Reviewed 26 September 2015

WE visited the Ibis Guesthouse in July 2015. It is very close to the beach. The bungalows are very clean and comfortable. the stuff is realy friendly and helpful. They speak English and the owner although German. It is a great place for relaxing. If you want to go to the town it is a 25 minutes walk. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monika M
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We stayed two nights. Guesthouse is located on a secluded beach (not a swimming area, you have to walk for 5min to be able to find a swimming spot), and benefits from many beds, chairs and rocking chairs, perfect to relax with a good book. Room was quite big and clean, as was the bathroom. Staff was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Benoit D
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2015

The whole property of these charming villas is away from any traffic noise. We were offered a choice of many comfortable rooms with huge beds, fans, ensuite & seats outside on the huge balcony overlooking swaying palms and rolling seas. We had the friendliest welcome and any requests were never a problem. There are huge day beds, deck chairs &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debster2481
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We arrived to Tangalle from Weligama just on one day. But when we saw this place, we decided to stay there till the end of our journey (on six days).We were looking for a hotel on the place without preliminary booking. All hotels were full in those days, we have found just one room in Ibis. We reach an agreement...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Кирилл Т
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guests, as I know, you got the discount and agreet to eat in the Ibis Restaurant (what you have not done). Ibis Guesthouse has a laudry service, which you can use. It is not very kind and fair of you to wash all your cloths in your bathroom by hand and hang it every where on the balcony, even...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This gueshause recommended me friends, who stayed here 6 years ago. The main building with restaurant and the bungalows are located in a pleasant shade of palm trees, there are also few beach bungalows and many chairs, where you can have a rest and just relax. The rooms are nice. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petra B
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

We were looking for a nice place to relax in Tangalle. This place suited our needs: hammocks, nice terrace in front of the room and direct access to the beach. But the service was terrible. The staff obvious wasn't really into it. Grumpy, slow and unfriendly. The main reason why we left after just one night.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SimoneMts
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guests, very sorry, that the staff was not friendly to you! To explain the reason, the staff was "burnd out" after the busy main season. But of course they should be always friendly to the guests! So, very sorry again! Best greetings!

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 2 March 2015

The only nice aspect about this hotel is the fact that you have somewhat a private beach with (worn out) hammocks and sunbeds. Other than that the staff is not very friendly and not at all helpful and the food isn't good either (except for the pancake breakfast). The rooms are ok but compared to other places we've been to,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boomboxsis
Melbourne
Reviewed 31 December 2014

After reading some very positive reviews on trip advisor, we were excited to stay there. However, we were overall disappointed with the facilities and the service we received. the room had one power point only, so it's either the fan or recharge appliances. lighting was grossly insufficient, we had to take everything outside to pack during the day. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sueM3519YW
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guests, we are very sorry, that you had not a good time in Ibis Guesthouse. Even so we tried to make all your wishes come true. And you had a lot of wishes every day in this few days! (For example you got 2 reading lamps.) Next time you better go to a 5 star hotel, not in a...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
2.6 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 14 in Tangalle
290 reviews
0.5 km away
Serein Beach Hotel
Serein Beach Hotel
#2 of 78 in Tangalle
117 reviews
1.3 km away
Tranquality Chalets
Tranquality Chalets
#12 of 78 in Tangalle
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ganesh Garden Cabanas
Ganesh Garden Cabanas
#8 of 86 in Tangalle
372 reviews
4.5 km away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#3 of 14 in Tangalle
563 reviews
0.2 km away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#5 of 86 in Tangalle
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ibis Guesthouse has 5 nice doublerooms, 2 big A/C familyrooms and 5 bungalows on the beach. All rooms/bungalows have hot water, a sea view balcony or a big terress. Enjoy delicious western and eastern food in the Ibis Restaurant. Celebrations, weddings and conferences can be organized for you. Relax in the pavillons and sunchairs at the beach. Water- and beachsport, table tennis is possible, katamaran trips on the near by lagoon can be done. Herbal massages you can get. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Guesthouse

Address: 27 Madilla, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Price Range: RM120 - RM334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Guesthouse Hotel Tangalle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ibis Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seems like everyone gets ocean views.”
 of 5 bubbles KathyS844, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You don't need air con as there's a nice sea breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles DougInverness, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Best view on the sea: rooms above the restaurant; Calmer rooms: in garden area”
 of 5 bubbles oasisinside, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“In summer - go for the airco rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MarinaT69, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Couples on the first floor. Family with children in the bungalow”
 of 5 bubbles dick1937, 11 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay