We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glenburn Tea Estate

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glenburn Tea Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We will be talking about this wonderful tea estate and welcoming hotel for a very long time. The attention to one's every need, the delicious food, the delightful staff, the superb setting, the tea tour and treks are just some of the attractions of Glenburn. But don't take our words for it just go and experience it yourself ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandP19
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay here very much. You can do as much or as little as you like. Our spacious room in the new bungalow faced onto the mountain ranges in the distance, over nearby Sikkim, and we could also look up to Darjeeling way above. We enjoyed our "Bed" coffee each morning. We visited Darjeeling, had a guided walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel doesn't only welcome you at their doorstep, but already at the airport of Bagdogra: the driver offers you a cold drink and wet towels to get you set for the three and a half hours drive to the estate. On the way, you are offered real Glenburn tea, sandwiches (which we really liked) and cake. How English. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaartenMike
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A fantastic three night stay on the Glenburn Tea Estate. Amazing, sumptuous suite with fabulous views of Kanchanjunga, Sikkim and Darjeeling. Delightful guide lead walks around the tea plantations and a very interesting tour of the tea factory complete with tea tasting.The food was exquisite, the setting dreamlike and the service second to none. The 40 minute jeep drive from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _j_llewellyn57
Faye F, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review

Dear j_llewellyn57, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything we have to offer here at Glenburn, and we really appreciate the fact you have taken the time to share your thoughts on here. It was lovely to see a family of 3 generations enjoying a holiday together. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your time living...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How do I start to describe Glenburn? At the beginning, I guess. The journey up from Bagdogra/Siliguri is a 4/5 hour drive, and, once you get to the hills, the road twists and turns, is two way only, and has enough slow traffic to make overtaking difficult/dangerous, but, except in the couple of places where the tar has broken up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David270
Faye F, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review

Dear David270, What a thorough and beautiful review you have written, thank you so much. We really appreciate the details you have brought to attention and are so happy to hear you felt so satisfied with your stay here. You certainly made the most of your time here and I think you completed almost ALL of the treks we have...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is in a time warp and is wonderful. As the other reviews say the drive from Bagdora is long and the last half hour is down a very bumpy unmade road, but for us this made it more exciting. When you reach the house you received the best welcome and are made to feel at home immediately. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quokka2750
Faye F, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review

Dear Quokka2750, We are so pleased to hear you were happy with everything here at Glenburn. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts on trip advisor. We are delighted to hear that the bumpy road didn't put you off and that you found so much pleasure in everything we had to offer....even the lack of...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

A great place to stay. Views were stunning, hosts were really helpful. Tea tour, walks and toy train ride all great, and the Glenburn guides took all of the hassle out of it. Food was great too, and lots of it! Ride was long and bumpy, but drivers were safe and friendly. Picnic at a viewpoint was also a highlight.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sixfingers
Faye F, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted you felt so satisfied with everything here at Glenburn and we hope you may return one day! Best wishes from all of us here!

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

1st thing you must know, the drive in is absolute horrible..about 4 hours from Bagdora airport the last 45 minutes being so rough you will wonder if you will have any teeth left. Fantastic drivers though. Now to Glenburn, very lovely and tranquil place to spend a few days, spectacular views over the Himalayers.. great tea estate with extremely friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naki-one
Faye F, Manager at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review

Dear Naki-one, We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here, although we are sorry you found the road so challenging. We are pleased you could see past this however and enjoy the peaceful surroundings we have to offer here. We always hope it provides a 'breather' to the end of one's holiday so we are delighted to...

leeds
Reviewed 28 October 2016

After travelling around for a few days it was wonderful to arrive at Glenburn to a very warm welcome from Faye, Will and Alex. The bumpy drive down adds to the excitement of your arrival at this beautiful working tea estate. Our room, Planters, was colonial luxury with a huge comfortable bed and a little sitting room off the back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smartie_7
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We arrived at this beautiful place after a bumpy but breathtaking 6 hour drive from sikkim. . Faye, Will and Alex were there on the door step to greet us and we instantly felt like one of the family. The other guests were great fun..... mostly..... and it was really lovely to sit around the group table for dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leedsey

316 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (315)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
8.7 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 90 in Darjeeling
390 reviews
7.4 km away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 90 in Darjeeling
582 reviews
7.9 km away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 90 in Darjeeling
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#6 of 90 in Darjeeling
291 reviews
8.0 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
7.7 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Glenburn Tea Estate

Address: Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: RM2,340 - RM2,535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenburn Tea Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glenburn Tea Estate Hotel Darjeeling
Glenburn Tea Estate West Bengal
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenburn Tea Estate staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Kolkata
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Glenburn Tea Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The separate bungalow has suites with stunning views of Kanchenjunga”
 of 5 bubbles SandP19, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are superb. We were in the bungalow which has its own large terrace”
 of 5 bubbles _j_llewellyn57, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the newer, lower, bungalow have the better views, and are larger”
 of 5 bubbles David270, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles smartie_7, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the one with the spanish wood four poster bed!”
 of 5 bubbles leedsey, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5