We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnolia Residency

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnolia Residency
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Residency
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The hotel located quite far from the jeep station and either you walk or take private car to the hotel. If you walk its will be took around 15-20 mins or if by taxi should be around 10 mins depending on the traffic at the city. Bear in mind, private taxi shall not enter the hotel road since its required...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamjmj
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Things with honest intent do fetch rewards and so has your kind words of praise and appreciation. We would sincerely want to thank you for your precious and valued review. We do look forward to seeing you again. Management Magnolia Residency

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Starting from the moment you walk in - the manager is very nice and happy. The other staff always made an effort to say hello or at least smile. The rooms were cosy and everything was clean. The breakfast up on the rooftop was absolutely incredible! Definite highlight were the pancakes and egg sandwiches. We had a great stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fattieharks
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

It is indeed rewarding to be praised. Thank you for recognizing our efforts to provide you with good food and solace stay. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You, Management Magnolia Residency

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We found everything at Magnolia Residency absolutely perfect. Our room (double executive) was spacious, very comfortable, super clean with the most fantastic view. The hotel owner/manager was always on hand with any requests and made our stay very easy. Excellent breakfasts are available too for a tiny sum. Factor in the bargain rates and this place really is amazing value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Green_J_M
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

The Magnolia team sincerely would want to thank you for your valued review and for your kind words of appreciation. We feel glad that we could provide you with a comfortable stay here in Magnolia. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You, Management Magnolia Residency

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Darjeeling in October 2016 and stayed in Magnolia Residency. It is located in a narrow lane close to Chowrasta. Rooms were a little small but clean. Amenities were good. We had booked the room with complimentary breakfast and it was totally worth it. It was from their in-house kitchen and was ample, wonderful, and delicious. They usually serve...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suchetana29
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

We the Magnolia team would want to thank you for taking out some of your precious time to drop in a review filled with kind words of appreciation. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You, Management Magnolia Residency

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Magnolia Residency had really lovely staff and great views from the terrace. If you stay make sure to catch the sunrise on the terrace, it's beautiful. Unfortunately I've had to give an average due to several factors. The room had a persistent damp smell and feel to our clothes. The weather was also really bad for our stay in Darjeeling....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessford92
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

We would sincerely want to thank you for taking out some of your precious time to drop in your review about your stay here in Magnolia. Sometimes in spite of our best efforts we fail to deliver good services, in this regard we do not want to attach any excuses because things once done can never be undone so we...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I visited this lovely hotel from 25 Dec to 29 may 2016. Though its location was little far from taxi stand butvery close to main market, mall road & chowrasta. one more best part of this hotel is the breakfast served on terrace. magnificient view in the morning with very testy food & hot tea... simply amazing. Pradhan family gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanmoy_TT
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your kind words of appreciation, we indeed feel rewarded and blessed. We would always look forward to seeing you and your family again. Thank You Management Magnolia Residency

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I visited this lovely hotel from 25 may to 27 may 2016. Though its location was little far from taxi stand, it is situated in very quiet place. very close to main market, mall road & chowrasta. one more best part of this hotel is the breakfast served on terrace. magnificient view in the morning with very testy food &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pashankar
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

We the Magnolia team would sincerely want to thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We also thank you for taking out your time to drop in your valued review about your stay in Magnolia. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Management Magnolia Residency

Reviewed 6 June 2016

The hotel is on the uphill road away from the Mall (on the road with the stable). The hotel itself is clean. The room, though not very big, is clean and luxurious. But it is on a very narrow road with cheap hotel/eateries on both sides. The approach road is through a local market, quite dirty. The breakfast served was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ratula B
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Thank you Sir, for your kind words of appreciation and taking out some of your precious time to drop in a review about your stay here in the Magnolia. We feel glad to know that the services rendered were recognized and we do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You Management Magnolia Residency

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Stayed from 26.05.2016 to 28.05.2016, room no 305. The room was clean and tidy with excellent view. They offer breakfast at rooftop which gives you an excellent sentiment. All staves are really helpful and polite. Mr.Navin is a very helpful and guide us for our sightseeing. The Mall is just 3-4 minutes’ walk from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CDaipayan
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

Some speeches become milestones and some milestones your destiny. We were indeed fortunate enough to have the privilege to render our hospitality to you. We the entire Magnolia team would want to thank you and look forward to seeing you again. Thank You Management Magnolia Residency

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Average hotel, Great breakfast, very courtesious, near to all attraction and eating joints in darjeeling. the staff is very helpful and always smiling. Next door you have quite a good number of eating options. The hotel does not have its own restaurant but serves breakfast.. home cooked and delicious elaborate. The taxis does not go upto the hotel.. so if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debnil
Haobijam S, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Residency, responded to this review

The unfolding sequence of reality and appreciation has been there for blessed Magnolia. In continuation to same we the entire Magnolia team would sincerely want to thank you for taking out some of your precious time to write about us. We do look forward to seeing you again. Thank You Management Magnolia Residency

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.9 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 94 in Darjeeling
624 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.3 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#12 of 94 in Darjeeling
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
1.0 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magnolia Residency is a beautiful little property located at the Mall, Chowrasta. The wall of the rooms are covered in traditional Tibetan Murals reflecting the cultural heritage of the region. The rooms are warm and inviting, with wall to wall carpeting, Wi-Fi Internet Access, LCD TVs, Doctor On Call, Anytime Cab, Laundry Service, uninterrupted power supply, travel desk services {e-air tickets | train tickets |airport transfers} daily English newspaper, beauty saloon (nearby) and international courier through DHL / FEDEX / BLUEDART & others. Multi cuisine restaurant serving Indian, Chinese, Nepali, Tibetan and continental cuisine open for Lunch and Dinner. Our team: the dynamic young duo of Mr. Chewang Sherpa and Mrs. Sonia Devi own and run the property, both being ardent travellers. They overlook the day to day running of the hotel. "We don't promise u much...but a Solacing stay in the Queen of hills" - Mrs. Sonia Devi ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnolia Residency

Address: Dr Zakir Hussain Road | Below S.P Bunglow, Chowrasta, Mall, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: RM106 - RM288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnolia Residency staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Kolkata
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Magnolia Residency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views from the terrace, and yummy breakfast with view.”
 of 5 bubbles GovindC497, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only room no.305 offers some view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would imagine all rooms are similar other than the size, just head to the rooftop for the great view!”
 of 5 bubbles SpokojNaZawsze, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“cafe at roof top with mountain view, rooms with great view”
  • Room Rate
 of 5 bubbles iamjmj, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try local food”
 of 5 bubbles Tanmoy_TT, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5