We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Island Winds West

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Island Winds West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
Dalton, Georgia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The condo is very nice, We have stayed in it before....the tv did not work but we called front desk and someone came right away to fix it. We like staying at Island Winds because it is close to everything

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendadedmon
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 star review! We are delighted to know that our staff was able to handle your request quickly and efficiently. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. -Brett/Robinson Social Team

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Too cluttered with cheap junk and large furniture. Not much space to walk around. Lots of broken, old and outdated art on walls and junk on every surface even in the tiny bathroom. Large balcony. Comfortable bed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADH50
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

ADH50: Thank you for your kind remarks about the gulf front balcony and king size bed although it is disappointing to read the rest of your review. This condo has welcomed many guests this past year and I have not heard any complaints. Since all of the condos are owned by individual people and all are decorated differently, this style...

Huntingdon, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

Small but compact. Some needed maintenance on screens on balcony. Plenty of balcony space. Lovely bedding and linens. Old building with no coding for venting of dryer. So, the venting went into condo and there was a lot of condensation on walls and floor closest to laundry area because of that lack of venting. Could be considered a health hazard....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! -Brett/Robinson Social Team

Linden, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely love the place. Great location and right on the beach. Very friendly staff and 24 hour security. Affordable price. This is our second vacation here this year. Will definitely stay again. This is a great place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the location. We can't wait to welcome you for your 2017 vacation! -Brett/Robinson Social Team

Fort Payne, Alabama
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was fairly clean,living room needed new furniture and a terrible musty smell in room. Also Sheetrock was falling off the wall around the windows in living room. The best thing is it's location, walking distance to restaurants in downtown Gulf Shores.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerrybU8664GG
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

jerrybU8664GG: I am sorry to read that you were not pleased with your condo. Unfortunately, from your TA name, I cannot tell if you were a guest of Brett Robinson or if you stayed with another agency. If you stayed with us, please email your name and unit number to tripreviews@brettrobinson.com so we can investigate and correct any issues found....

Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Everything was very nice except the pull-out sofa bed. It definitely needs a new mattress!! We ended up using the comforter off of the King sized bed as cushioning for the bed so the girls could sleep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccheatwd
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

ccheatwd: Thank for you taking the time to review your stay. I have forwarded your comments regarding the sleeper sofa to the property manager so the mattress can be evaluated. We certainly want everyone to be comfortable to enjoy our beautiful beach area. Despite this, I hope you and your family made memories that will be cherished for a long...

Baldwyn, Mississippi
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Quite, clean, comfortable! Good time to visit the beach because the weather is nice and not so any people there! 8th floor is great, don't get all the noise from below! Would be happy to rent this unit any time!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgmhcook
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon! - Brett/Robinson Social Team

Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Excellent location, close to eats and right on the beach. No problems getting to the condo and beach access was excellent. Good, clean pool also. We experienced no problems. Check in location was open 24 hours a day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 384terryw
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for the five star review! We hope to welcome you all again soon! - Brett/Robinson Social Team

Germantown, TN
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The nice walk- in shower with handrails, king size beds, & comfortable recliners & couch made this a good choice for me & my handicapped brother. Great view of the ocean too! Nice size pool & the beach walk to the ocean is not as far as down near Orange Beach!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcd1953
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thanks for the five star review! We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay! - Brett/Robinson Social Team

Sulligent, United States
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Perfect location. Room was very clean and staff was courteous. Our door key broke off in the lock - they fixed it promptly. Amenities are very basic. All in all a good place to stay. We enjoyed our experience with Island Winds West.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We apologize for the key incident but we are glad that it was promptly fixed. We hope to welcome you back again soon! - Brett/Robinson Social Team

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#2 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,040 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
316 reviews
0.4 km away
Paradise Isle Resort
Paradise Isle Resort
#13 of 24 in Gulf Shores
41 reviews
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Winds West staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Island Winds West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Too much furniture in the unit. Very crowded with cheap wall art and cheap junk. The couch is filthy. Enjoyed the large balcony and extra storage. ”
 of 5 bubbles ADH50, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All good, great view and comfortable bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 384terryw, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some minor improvements would make this room perfect, bring your own blow dryer and plan to cook your meal one dish at a time and you will be fine ”
 of 5 bubbles chazo687, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2 comfortable King bedrooms each with private bath . And plenty of cookware available! ”
 of 5 bubbles debbierA937JD, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There was not hot water available on the sink, but other than that it was a great experience on the property”
 of 5 bubbles khubbell, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5