We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Show Prices
#14 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown\/Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 476: English reviews
Morgan City, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This hotel is located downtown and with easy access to interstate. Room service has quality issues, people are not very friendly and food is not very good. Front desk personnel is friendly but can not help much when there is a issue needing to be addressed. Parking is fine unless hotel is booked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Tim W, Thank you for your candid review! I would like to take the time to truly apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay with us. I hope this did not impact your stay too greatly. If you are ever in the area we would love another opportunity to prove what a great hotel and staff we...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Traveling on our way to visit family further in Alabama, we stayed in this hotel. The service, from the front desk to our breakfast server, Tamika, was warm, accommodating, and efficient. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. We love the Holiday Inn brand and this stay met our expectations. Thank y'all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smaragnus
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Smaragnus, Thank you for your excellent review of the Holiday Inn Downtown-Mobile. We are glad to know how pleased you were with your accommodations and the warm service our staff provided. Your 100% satisfaction is our highest priority, and we do our best to make sure our guests’ needs are being met. Thanks again, We look forward to your next...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Being in town on business, needed a place to stay overnight. Hotel is located in a historic area with many attractions close by. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Hotel is clean, rooms are quiet with some very nice views. Beds are very comfortable with nice linens. Only downside is that parking related to check in is not clearly marked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roman T
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Downtown-Mobile. We are glad to know you liked your clean room. We appreciate your comments about parking. With limited parking downtown, we are happy to provide private and off-street parking to our guests for a daily fee. We value your suggestion and hope to be of your service again. Tayler...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

A good location in downtown Mobile. Walking distance to everything, the Exploreum,Dauphin St. which is loaded with lots of shops,great restaurants, pubs,Bienville Square, Cathedral Square. If you have a room higher up your get a great view of the skyline

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjbwolfe
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review as well as selecting our hotel for your "getaway" while in Mobile! It's always great to hear from our guests about their stay and enjoying the downtown area. Thank you for the kind comments, it's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again!...

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great restaurant with exceptional food. Tamika and Jasmine was super. If you visit Mobile I recommend that you for sure dine in their restaurant and ask for Tamika and Jasmine. Both of these ladies are the topping on the great food with great customer service and friendly attitude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie S
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Ronnie, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Downtown-Mobile recently. It is terrific to hear that our associates, especially the restaurant staff was able to make your stay more memorable. Making our guests feel right at home is what we love to do, so we really appreciate your gracious remarks, and we will share them along. It...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Be careful of the price gauging for those going to the 5th Qtr. Classic (FAMU vs Tuskegee). I reserved a room at this hotel on the Holiday Inn website last Sat. (83/one night). I received a confirmation email and everything. When I went to check my reservation on Wednesday there was no record of it. After several calls to Holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westends89
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Tayler Myrick Front...

Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 September 2016

July 13-19. The room was great comfortable beds, microwave, mini frig, etc. We came for a national convention and it happens there were 2 other conventions that same weekend. So, it was a pretty busy one. The front desk didn't have all the answers but I didn't have any major questions. There is a garage next door that's included in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rendk1982
France
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Slightly delayed review, stayed in June. Room was good sized and high floor meant it was quiet with good views. Hotel is easy to find and get to and reasonable nearby parking. But immediately surrounding downtown area is lacking if you intend to be there for a few days. Hotel restaurant was very poor, dinner menu very limited and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigBadD
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Dear BigBadD, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad that the hotel location, size of the room, and parking facility made your stay that much more pleasant. On the other hand, it is very troubling to read about your unsatisfactory dining experience, particularly the food selection and service. I am very sorry for any...

Reviewed 11 August 2016

I arrived on August 4, 2016. The front desk staff that afternoon who checked me in were great! However, when I came back to ask a question later that evening, the front desk staff was distant, lacking information and pretty much behaving as though I was bothering them. As far as the hotel goes, it was a typical for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coffy B
Stephen S, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with the amenities that we offer and our lack of dining options. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience...

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Rooms were great, with gorgeous views. Staff was kind, pool was super nice, loved the little store at registration. Really enjoyed this Hotel. Breakfast buffet was good too!!! Ballroom was nice, and very clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 km away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 km away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.6 km away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Price Range: RM451 - RM915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Fairhope, Alabama
4 months ago
over a year ago
6 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Eat Breakfast somewhere else for the price.”
 of 5 bubbles ThePCGuy, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the South West side are the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 201timw, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles SouthernTraveler1995, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles POLLYANNA57, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Call the local sales team for support, they are awesome! Donna was more than helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles DAVIDF581, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay