We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matava - Fiji\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 217: English reviews
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Sept. 2012. Kadavu is a beautiful place that, for me, is a place to see the "real" Fiji. What we liked: the staff, the location, the activities, the culture. What we didn't like: the mosquitoes, our bure, and some isolated incidents. The staff here, particularly the Fijian staff, were wonderful. The dive guides,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank lenkarm
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lenkarm, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences on Kadavu Island and your stay with us. We have addressed your mosquito point though unlike some reosrts, we continue to avoid spraying pestisides around the resort grounds. Unfortunately, you either spray noxious chemicals everywhere..or put up with some mosquitos....Regretably, the weather during your stay was rather...

Cuyahoga Hts.,ohio
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was our first trip to Fiji. We had read all the experiences at Matava. The good the bad and the ugly.... All I can say is WOW, what an awesome time we had. The trip was arranged by Sharkbuds Dive Adventures!!! Thanks Bob for all you do! The staff at Matava made you feel warm and welcomed, from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ed P
BiteMeFiji, Manager at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review

Bula Ed, Thank you for your kind and positive comments. It was a pleasure you have you and all the other Sharkbuds here and we very much look forward to welcoming y'all back one day for more diving fun in the sun ! Adrian

Decatur, Alabama
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We really enjoyed out time at Matava Resort. This was our first visit to Fiji and it was beautiful. The staff was warm, friendly and always made sure we had everything we needed. All we had to do was mention that we wanted to visit the village or go see the fruit bats on the other island and they said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolir
Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our first trip to Fiji. Unfortunately, the weather was not in our favor and it rained every day or night. The water's surface was rather daunting outside of the reef because of the unusually high swells and current, the mantas never showed up on Manta Reef and there were surprisingly fewer fish than we expected. But those are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rootie429
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I are managers of Aquatic World Dive Shop and we lead group dive trips to destinations world wide. We feel we have high standards and look for destinations that have great diving, accommodations, food, and service. We visit each destination before deciding if we will return with a group. We were very pleased with our first check...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sharon C
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Having worked through one of the hardest years of my life with considerable business and personal challenges myself and my beautiful wife Tamara decided that is was time to treat ourselves to an extra special experience. We were craving not just rest and relaxation though also looking for adventure in a pristine untainted environ. After having traveled to many other...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank JOHN C
North Saanich, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I'm back home and reflecting on the absolutely wonderful scuba diving trip my buddy, Sherry, and I had April 17-26, 2012. All of my 18 dives were fantastic & unforgettable! Dive master, Alex, has great knowledge of the creatures and their ocean environment, and his care and attention to us was superb. The dive with the manta rays on the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Diane T
Red Cliff, Colorado
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was our second trip to Matava. My wife, who is a vegetarian, was taken care of with unique vegetarian dishes that made her feel like she was receiving special treatment; however, this was not the case as everyone always receives special treatment from the staff. The resort creates a social atmosphere, yet you can choose to have privacy anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Daniel B
San Diego
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is a great little resort in a great location. Kadavu is a lovely remote island with a hearty mountainous backbone and lots of little villages filled with friendly people. The resort is beautiful, with a well trained, colorful and friendly staff. Meals are exellent, with the food varied, superbly prepared and served in adequate quantities. 2 of the 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m123sandiego
Vancouver
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I have been diving many places and between us have been on 12 live-aboards and so you know we like to dive. This time I requested some rest and relaxation as well. Matava was perfect for us. The staff was amazing (24 staff for a maximum of 18 guests), the food was really good and the diving...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank colourfulj

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (323)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
20.2 km away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.0 km away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
355 reviews
0.0 km away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 13 in Savusavu
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
36 reviews
25.3 km away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Address: Vunisea | PO Box 63, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Price Range: RM872 - RM1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matava - Fiji`s Premier Eco Adventure Hotel Kadavu Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
San Diego
White Rock, Canada
Sandy, Oregon
Naperville, Illinois
San Francisco
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are adequate but not airconditioned”
 of 5 bubbles 269richardm, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a bure lower on the hillside if walking up a hill and steep stairs an issue”
 of 5 bubbles AussieTravelholic, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the bures are on a hill, so try to choose one not too high”
 of 5 bubbles 975marieclaudel, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the top Bure with outstanding views and deck”
 of 5 bubbles Waimarie, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The bures are spread up a hill so be prepared for stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles debs343, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5