We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Plantation Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Plantation Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,525: English reviews
Woolgoolga, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A huge thank you to the staff at Plantation Island Resort for making our holiday one to remember. As a young family we could not ask for a better place for our first family holiday. The location was spot on. A little wet at times but that's the tropics for you. The staff were friendly and went out of their...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rodgersl547
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you for the review and we are glad you chose us for your first family holiday! out staff are great and we thank you for that observation. We hope to see the three of you here again soon... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager '

St Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from another trip to the beautiful Plantation Island where we stayed at the Plantation Island Resort. It is absolutely stunning. We snorkelled every day, had a game of golf and spent a lot of time just relaxing on the beach or in our room. We have been to Fiji many times now and visited several other...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Frank S
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Frank It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay, and see us compare favourably to other parts of Fiji. I agree that this beautiful country is unique in many ways, and that is part of its special charm. We hope you can make it back soon... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi all, just joined trip advisor (long time reader) thought it was time to jump on board and share my many travel experiences and help others! Just got back from 10 days on plantation. Travelled with 2 groups of friends. No children. However I can say there was many things for kids to do, water park, kids club and mini...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Michelle L
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Michelle Thank you for the review, and making us your first! We are delighted that you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Anything you say to the staff simply goes through one ear and out the other, they are rude and really couldn't care less about you. Everything is extremely overpriced. In terms of dining, it is ridiculous quality for what you pay. The buffet is 'guarded' by two women who look at you suspiciously each time you go back to refill...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jules2ooo
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Your opening sentence is incorrect, our team are very caring and attentive however they wouldn't respond well culturally if spoken to like that, you are being discourteous. Please be assured that all pricing is kept to a minimum, despite the cost and logistical challenges of being on an island in Fiji. For example our Full Buffet Breakfast is FJD$41.00...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a second review as the first was deleted. Upon arrival we were greeted with clear water, lots of fish and the sound of beautiful Fijian songs sung by the welcoming staff. A lovely smile, a loud bula and a shell necklace was offered to us and we thought to ourselves- we made a great decision...we were wrong! We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Janenmarvs
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you for your review, and we agree our staff are amazing. There are several acrimonious statements that are not constructive or true. We genuinely apologize for not meeting your expectations as we do strive at all times to improve our services and facilities. We seek and embrace genuine and constructive feedback, advice and criticism. Regarding staff rostering, there...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My sister booked Plantation Island through a travel agent. It was meant to be a spectacular trip as she has a terminal illness. Unfortunately the resort is a two star experience with five star pricing. Our accomodation was in dire need of maintenance, no pool service for drinks or food, and the most confusing food system I've ever encountered. We...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank visitorAB
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula We genuinely regret that we didn't meet your expectations, glad though that you found Black Coral Restaurant to be sensational. We apologize if your children may not have "eaten free" as per our policy, and package inclusions. Please send me your booking details and I can look into that for you (gm@plantationisland.com). Please be assured that all pricing is...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a week at Plantation Island and I was a bit skeptical based on other reviews. I had nothing to worry about. I had been to Musket Cove Resort in the past but as now have a family, thought we would try Plantation Island and were by no means disappointed. Our 1 bedroom unit was close...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nicole V
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Nicole Thank you for your review, and we are delighted that you and the family did so much, saw so much, and had a great time! Inoke is a great guy and we definitely appreciate him along with all our team. You certainly get what this resort is all about, and have made the most of our facilities and...

Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our fifth holiday to Plantation Island, we didn't realise it has been ruined by the new management, we will never return, it is now an overpriced, run down sad resort which is a shame because the location is just beautiful and we had so many awesome memories from past holidays here! I felt sorry for the staff as...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank LavelleFamily
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Lavelle Family I regret that you and I did not get to meet during your stay. Our Reception Manager and Customer Care Supervisor, who you had discussions with at the time of your check-out, were simply trying to explain that had you raised your concerns earlier we could have done more to assist you with any issues. You made...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently spent 8 nights at Plantation Island Resort with our 3 young kids ( ages 9, 7 & 4) on their first overseas holiday, and can happily report that we had a very enjoyable & hassle free time and came home feeling so relaxed. Despite mixed reviews on TripAdvisor we are so pleased we chose Plantation Island, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ktb01
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula It is terrific to read that you all had such a great time with us here at Plantation Island Resort - and no sore back! The vast majority of our reviews are positive and we too are pleased you chose Plantation Island. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager

Oberon, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long day of travelling it was nice to feel welcomed on arrival. Resort staff were friendly. Rooms were good sized and suited us with 3 children, however we only had a kettle and fridge in our poolside room. A little run down but comfortable. Big Hello and Thank you for our stay to Tevita (Black Coral Bar man),...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CMLcuriousity
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula We are very pleased that you felt welcome and enjoyed your family holiday here at PIR, and in particular the Kids Club team. We are not a self-contained accommodation but a full service resort, that may explain why you had Tea and Coffee making facilities along with a fridge and not more in your Room. Vinaka Ross Greenaway General...

2,144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1573)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (158)
Viewed
View from Room (142)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (354)
Viewed
Room/Suite (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (606)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (451)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Garden Terrace Room (58)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Garden Bure (55)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Beach (51)
Viewed
Beachfront Bure (49)
Viewed
Kids Pool (5)
Viewed
Oasis Pool (17)
Viewed
Ocean Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Studio Garden Bure (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.4 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
639 reviews
4.4 km away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
556 reviews
0.8 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
793 reviews
18.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
8.1 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: RM636 - RM1,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and other travellers.
89 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (89)

Questions? Get answers from Plantation Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very simple, no mod cons - beds aren't that comfy. Tiled floor with just a bed and side tables. Bathroom is nice, no bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Samantha71410, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 2 bedroom garden bures are spacious and located not far from the beach and most amenties.”
 of 5 bubbles colw14, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach front Bures or any 200 series rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Rodgol, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 2 bedroom garden bures are newly refurbished”
  • Siting area, fridge and air-conditioner in bure.
  • Our 2 bedroom Garden Bure
  • View of Plantation Island (smaller of the two islands) from the air.
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles CCDownunder72, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do your research and pick a good time of year to visit. Room 222 was great location.”
 of 5 bubbles 725FrankS, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay