We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Casa Antigua

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Casa Antigua
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Hamid is the nicest! If you are lucky enough to stay at Casa Antigua when Hamid, the owner is there, you will be well taken care of! I needed a hotel close to the airport that was affordable and this hit the spot. If you want a nicer place that is definitely not a bit rough around the edges, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinDough
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Stayed here in with a group from Panama. April 2016. The room was right across on the corner from the front desk. You can hear every car on the street and anyone who is talking at the front desk. You can hear the planes leaving the airport. The rug in the room was dirty as well as the rug in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ra0659
Hotel Casa Anti... H, General Manager at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

we are sorry that you did not have a good experience in our hotel please understand the fact that we are a transit hotel near the airport , as you mention that you are a world traveler ,you should know that any hotel in major city's that are near the airport are busy and noisy do to the airport activity...

Marco Island, Florida
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Be warned. Very strange place. Our stay was hot--no air conditioning. Small room. Extremely noisy from road and airport noise. Sketchy area. Spend a few extra bucks and stay at a legitimate hotel. No restaurant. Pool didn't look usable. Staff clerk was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fallsbiker
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Very let down from a recent stay. Was under the impression from the website that there was a restaurant. On a Friday evening the entire place was a ghost town, and the staff giggled when I asked about food. What was worse, was that in the morning, I discovered the sheets were filled with bugs. Wouldn't stay here again, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcdsf2016
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights while hopping in and out of San Jose to catch flights. It is really affordable and close to the airport with an included breakfast. Perfect for our use! Our room also had A/C. The back has a neat pool and cool artwork and some minor gym equipment if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin T
Hotel Casa Anti... H, recepcion at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment.

Reviewed 30 March 2016

DO NOT STAY HERE! seriously. you will not sleep. by far the loudest room ive ever stayed in. huge trucks driving right beside your window with air brakes, and cars all night long. so incredibly noisy. tried to talk with reception and he just walked away as soon as said it was bad. im sure this is not the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElPandito
Hotel Casa Anti... H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

sorry that you did not had good experience with us please understand that the night that you stay with us , was problem at airport and all flight was canceled and we had full house and no rooms in the quiet side was available for us to offer you Our Hotel is located near the airport the reason that you...

Diriomo, Nicaragua
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Wanted a reasonably priced place and near the airport to stay prior to my departure (business trip). Very unique place, very friendly staff and accomodatng (I had to leave at 6am and they make it possible to have breakfast at 5:30am!). Rooms are small but comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Kyrenia N.Cyprus
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Stayed for 2 nights on my arrival in CR. Charming small hotel with Henry the owner being an unforgettable host. I made great friends with Pishou the Persian cat and Rusty a beautiful golden retriever (could have been something to do with the cat and dog treats I'd taken with me) Had Room 1 at back of building, still able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 February 2016

My girlfriend Steph and I could not have come across a better place to stay to start our trip to Costa Rica off. The Hotel Casa Antigua is conveniently located a couple minutes cab ride away from the airport (US $3) and is perfect layover spot for the rest of your Costa Rica journeys or for the last night stay...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Trevor M
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I wanted a quiet, comfortable place to unwind after a month of intensive study at Costa Rica TEFL and before flying back to the US. Hotel Casa Antigua, Alajuela, CR, offers a tasteful oasis in a noisy, bustling city. The owner and host is of Persian origin, and he is disposed to share his unusual perspective on world history and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adolph H

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
604 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
94 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Brilla Sol
Hotel Brilla Sol
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
743 reviews
0.0 km away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#14 of 30 in Alajuela
224 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 30 in Alajuela
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa Antigua Hotel is only at three minutes from Juan Santamaria National airport, in a very safe neighborhood and near good restaurants and rent cars. We offer our customers tropical breakfast, taxes included, swimming pool, free internet and WIFIA access, laundry service, playground and beautiful gardens. Also, all our rooms count with private bathroom, hot water, fan, television with cable. Our main purpose is that our customers could feel comfortable as in their own home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: Principal via a Alajuela | 500 metros al este del Casino Fiesta Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Price Range: RM297 - RM346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Antigua Costa Rica/Alajuela
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Casa Antigua staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Northwest Romania, Romania
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Casa Antigua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“IF you have no choice request a room in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles ra0659, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles jcdsf2016, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“try to get rooms at the back, less road noise”
 of 5 bubbles trevorm719, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for inner room away from street, with private bath.”
 of 5 bubbles adolfo83, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“bad location surrounded by traffic in all directions”
 of 5 bubbles alexvK5567HT, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay