We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Arenal Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Arenal Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

View of a maintenance shed. Enough room to squeeze around the bed. Told us we were getting a King and got a double and 2 twins. No hot water. No wash cloth. No towel racks. No bureau. No place to put your luggage except the floor. You get to choose between plugging in your refrigerator or your bedside lamp. Overhead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April M
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in a lovely bungalow set in spacious gardens. The accommodation was clean and had air con and a fan. The pool was lovely. Its a small walk into town but it went past a local market which was interesting. There is some road noise in some bungalows which is worth being aware of.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Liz: Thank you for choosing to stay at our family owned and operated Arenal Country Inn. We are glad you had a great time at our inn and on the beautiful grounds and tropical gardens. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future

Liberia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were very clean and almost looked new! The pool was clean, the grounds were very well maintained and breakfast was buffet style (with a good combination of eggs, pancakes, rice & beans, fresh fruit, cereal, hot coffee, plantains and sausage). Town is walking distance but not next door (also only a $2 taxi ride to town). There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snag08
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are constantly working to update and maintain quality facilities for each of our valued customers.

Los Angeles
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The wifi here is not strong enough for the rooms. The wifi is available only around the lobby area. You can get very weak signals in the rooms. The hotel runs out of hot water while you are showering. The rooms are run down and old and need upgrading. That may be what you get for what you pay. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniel126
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your comment. I commented that we do not used to make up our photos. What you see in them is what you will find on our property. Before you buy you have the freedom to choose the best option that fits your possibilities. Our prices always go according to supply and demand. To...

new york new york
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in cabins 7 & 8 which were identical. The rooms are poorly designed: cluttered yet there was no place to put stuff. the only shelves/storage was a sort of crawl space partly behind the beds. The room itself was dated. Service left much to be desired and the staff was indifferent; we arrive in the dark, pouring rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newyorker59
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your comment. I commented that we do not used to make up our photos. What you see in them is what you will find on our property. Before you buy you have the freedom to choose the best option that fits your possibilities. Our prices always go according to supply and demand. To...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really liked this hotel. It was clean and comfortable but the best part was the staff. They really went above and beyond to help us out and to make our stay enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunia2000
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are constantly working to update and maintain quality facilities for each of our valued customers.

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Cleanest place we have stayed in La Fortuna. We arrived late at 10PM and the owner and security guard were extremely accommodating! Slightly dated rooms are very well kept and very clean bathroom. The breakfast that was included was absolutely delicious. Highly recommend if you're looking for great service and affordable pricing. We will be back, thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keela M
ArenalCountryInn, Propietario at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Keela: Thank you for your lovely review and for noticing and enjoying all of the hard work and love our family and staff puts in to serving all of our guests and keeping everything beautiful and delicious for you. It was great to received you and we look forward to having you back soon!

Reviewed 19 September 2016

The room was great, very clean. the mountain view is nice. The breakfast was the most delicious than I had enjoyed. The garden is well-kept also the pool. We enjoy the nature and traditional country north garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERICK S
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you come back to stay with us again soon!

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel has Large separate houses with 2 double beds each. There is Also one appartment available with 8 beds. The hotel is in the middle of a nice maintained garden which attracts lots of birds, a lot of little red frogs can be found also in the garden near the small river. No real negative remarks about this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tom: Thanks for your stay and your comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are constantly working to update and maintain quality facilities for each of our valued customers. In 2015 we replaced all of our mattresses and bedding. This year, if the Lord permits, we will improve even...

Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We loved this place! Cute, private, very clean bungalows. The grounds and pool are beautiful and very well-kept. Breakfast was served in a charming setting and was delicious and filling. Excellent WiFi in our room. Front desk staff was very helpful when we needed transportation. Great value and great location for a home base when exploring the Arenal/La Fortuna area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda750
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you come back to stay with us again soon!

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.4 km away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
134 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
291 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,262 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
157 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: RM392 - RM654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arenal Country Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ashburnham
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Arenal Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 21 is one of the biggest”
 of 5 bubbles mustoml, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Farther away from the road the better.”
  • Pleasant setting for the cabinas
 of 5 bubbles timandanneh, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Visit the rainforest cafe, nice food. Also take a cab to the waterfall! Nice!”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Hotel have cottages with 3 ‘individual’ bed, when we ask, for second night staff give us one. ”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 had a cockroach infestation when we were there.”
 of 5 bubbles Haltz_11, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay