We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Mountain Paradise

La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Announcement
Click for details
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Arenal Natura Ecological Park
    0.5 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Great Hotel Experience
The staff were extremely polite and accommodating. The casitas... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,019: English reviews
San Jose, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I usually do not write reviews but hotel staff at mountain paradise was so horrible that it was hard to not write a review. I stayed at that hotel for 3 days during Christmas break . I booked a taxi one day to go out at around 12:00 p.m . I was told that its not an issue. 11:50 a.m...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymousI9112QS
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. On behalf of the whole family of Hotel Mountain Paradise we offer our sincere apology for not having met your expectations in the hotel. As for your annoyance for the waiting time for the taxi service, I would like to tell you that both the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful week's holiday in Costa Rica. However our first night, 14 Feb 2016, was at the Mountain Paradise Hotel which turned out to be a nightmare for us. In the middle of the night, around 2am, the air conditioner unit on the wall started rattling, making a lot of noise and dripping lots of water. We could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SD-TMD
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a small hotel with nice large rooms with a jacuzzi just outside the doorstep. If you are looking for action, this is not the place for you. Everything closes down around 10pm and the guests are going to their rooms. The pool is heated but very very tiny. More to sit and relax in than to swim and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keviit
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were extremely polite and accommodating. The casitas were close to each other and to the reception area, but they still provided golf cart service to and from, great service when it is raining! The complimentary Costa Rican breakfast was delicious, with the extra bonus of the view of the Arenal volcano as you ate. The wait staff never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Parkland, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was was the worst hotel we stayed in during our otherwise wonderful trip to Costa Rica. My husband and I spent 4 nights here Dec. 24-27. The grounds were beautiful and the staff were very nice and accomodating but that's where all things nice ended. The room was absolutely terrible. It smelled moldy and mildewy and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon S
eCommerceManager1, Gerente at Hotel Mountain Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. On behalf of the whole family of Hotel Mountain Paradise we offer our sincere apology for not having met your expectations in the hotel. We are very sorry that we were not aware of your inconvenience, as we would have loved to give you and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I took a trip to Costa Rica and decided to stay at this location since it was near the Volcanoes, and near where we went zip lining. The scenery was very nice from the Hotel's Restaurant and there were several different types of animals that were around the property. The Restaurant food was average, but there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought that the pictures showing a Fred Flinstone inspired resort just weren't flattering. I was wrong. This place looks like it was designed by a 10 year old, and feels like it's run by one as well. Or, if not 10, then someone who thinks they know what a resort is, but has clearly never experienced it. Everything in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a two day trip after visiting the beaches of Tamarindo. The drive took longer than expected and got in after dark. Super easy to locate and the staff were great once we arrived. They made sure we had all our adventures booked for the next day. I'm sure they trips were a bit more expensive then booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, helpful staff (a particularly lovely, happy chap on the gate), spacious rooms with quirky bathroom and outdoor jacuzzi with a volcano view. A lovely hot pool with swim up bar and good buffet breakfast, but all additional meals, drinks and services were quite expensive. The lush surroundings meant lots of visiting birds and wildlife. Nowhere ever felt busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank secretpet
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as part of Costa Rica monkey tours and was our favorite hotel. The rooms are 2 room bungalows spread throughout the Property. The hotel's pool was heated w/a swim up bar. The rooms themselves were very spacious with Individual hot tubs just outside the glass doors. The volcano is visible if it's not raining and the b'fast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mooseylou

1,448 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1028)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (258)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (108)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (106)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (229)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Master Deluxe Suite (74)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Premium Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,263 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,571 reviews
1.0 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,002 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,735 reviews
6.3 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Home away from Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: RM516 - RM1,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mountain Paradise staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mountain Paradise staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jshaunmoore, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are all good.”
 of 5 bubbles TheTexan2016, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a volcano view”
 of 5 bubbles bmm240, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All are stunning and private with careful planting & design”
 of 5 bubbles myfriendkarin137, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“there all great,it all depends on your budget and how many people you will stay with.”
 of 5 bubbles 903stefanya, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5