We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Samara Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Samara Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent two nights here. Good location right in centre of the small town. Maybe 200 m to beach. Plenty of restaurants near by. Nicely landscaped ground with a nice pool. Hot breakfast with the room. Our room had a king bed and a double. Room was L shaped with small bed in the L so some privacy. Bathroom was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bandbtravel
England
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Samara is an unspoilt, rustic resort. Head there is you want something laid back and friendly. We loved it. The hotel is quite basic but just right for a place a few steps from a great beach. We were slightly put off when we arrived a bit early to check in, and used the poolside toilets which were dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safariSafari
Doris962, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments from your stay with us! We highly appreciate your comments as is our way to improve different areas from our service. My apologies for the inconvenience, we are currently working to avoid any future inconveniences. we will definitely are going to keep up your expectations on your next visit. Sincerely Saludos cordiales. Carolina...

emeryville
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, wonderful pool, a resident lizard and iguana. Breakfast was good. A strange smell in the bathroom but nothing serious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jason9943
Doris962, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service provided met all your expectations. We highly appreciate your comments, as is our way to improve different areas from our service. My apologies for the inconvenience we are currently working to avoid any future inconveniences. Thank you for your recommendations and we will be more...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

When we arrived in Samura we had booked into the Hideaway as it had the best reviews on Trip Advisor but it was a ten minute drive from town and whilst the rooms were very nice it lacked atmosphere and I was not impressed to be asked to pay for our two night stay the minute we arrived before we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archie G
Doris962, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Dear guest We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service provided met all your expectations. We highly appreciate your comments, as is our way to improve different areas from our service. Thank you for your recommendations and we will be more than glad to have you with us again on your next visit in Samara...

White Rock, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We stayed 4 nights here, and the receptionist Carolina was very helpful, and friendly. First room we got had a noisy non-functioning air conditioner. No cold water... water was too hot, and almost got burned. we were moved to another room, with a functioning air conditioner., but drain pipe under sink leaked, but was promptly fixed. Wifi was the slowest,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rayarama2016
Doris962, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service provided met all your expectations. We highly appreciate your comments, as is our way to improve different areas from our service. My apologies for the inconvenience we are currently working to avoid any future inconveniences. Thank you for your recommendations and we will be more...

Reviewed 3 March 2016

The hotel staff were very pleasant. The garden pool was beautiful and private. We stayed 2 nights and loved the location. The room was a good size and clean. The balcony overlooked the pool. We enjoyed our stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny H
Doris962, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment; we are happy your overall experience was so great, we will definitely are going to keep up your expectations on your next visit. PURA VIDA from Playa Samara, your playa in Costa Rica Saludos cordiales. Carolina Álvarez Garay Gerente de Operaciones Hotel Samara Beach

Stockholm
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We had booked at Belvedere but changed our itinary and tried to get rooms one day earlier which was not possible.Therefore booked for one night at Samara Beach. Rooms and garden were nice ,however when we arrived thre were only 5 sunbeds ( to cover 20 rooms ) when we complained we were told that customers had destoyed a number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christer H
Doris962, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments from your stay with us! We highly appreciate your comments as is our way to improve different areas from our service. My apologies for the inconvenience, we are currently working to avoid any future inconveniences. we will definitely are going to keep up your expectations on your next visit. Sincerely Carolina Alvarez Garay...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 19 February 2016

This hotel has really nice rooms and large bathrooms. It also has a nice garden with a small pool. The hotel is a bit far from the Samara village and there are no services on the beach so the location is not most optimal. I suggest the hotel to get some bikes for their customers so that it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
Doris962, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment; but i think is wrong Hotel we are in town, i hope next time can you visit us. Pura Vida have a great day Sincerely Carolina Álvarez Garay

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We're traveling to Costa Rica for 8 days and had one night booked at Hotel Samara Beach. They held the reservation for 6 weeks (with a credit card) and then called and said they don't have space. My travel agent objected, but there seemed to be no recourse. I'm guessing that they wanted the room for a guest who is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott B
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

My husband and I kept ourselves on a tight hotel budget so we could splurge elsewhere. HSB is a nice hotel with friendly, helpful service. 100m from the beach and close to everything. Pool is nice. Rooms are basic and clean, and do have air conditioning unit + ceiling fan - a must for us. We also had a King...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
Doris962, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for these wonderful comments from your stay at Hotel Samara Beach, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service provided met all your expectations, we will be more than glad to have you with us again on your next visit in Samara Beach. Muchas gracias & Pura vida desde Playa Samara sincerely Carolina...

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (194)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (132)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.9 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
766 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
377 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
199 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Giada
Hotel Giada
#7 of 15 in Playa Samara
273 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Samara Beach Hotel is located just 50 meters from the beach, on the Main Street of Playa Samara. Our Hotel is decorated in a tropical style with a Garden with unbelievable blooming flora everywhere and swimming pool where YOU CAN RELAX AND ENJOY A PEACEFUL ATMOSPHERE. Our Hotel has 20 spacious rooms, everyone equipped with a private bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, king size bed and one double bed, TV, mini-refrigerator, security box and balcony overlooking our garden and pool. For those arriving by car, vehicles can be left in our private secure parking lot. THE BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED IN THE RATE and it is served in a typical "Rancho" SURROUNDED WITH A RICH AND VIBRANT VEGETATION full of flowers, plants, and unexpected surprises. SAMARA BEACH HOTEL's wonderful location offers our guests RICHNESS AND COMFORT. Our friendly staff will help and assist you in organizing a wonderful holiday in Samara. Guided tours available for those who wish to truly immerse themselves in this BEAUTIFUL PARADISE. For those looking for adventure we offer horseback riding, boat tour, diving, canopy, kayak tours, surfing, sport fishing, turtle tours, and more. We also offer transportation and assistance. We are very close to bus stop; taxi service is available from Liberia Airport (2 hours away) or from San Jose Airport (4 hours away). Bus service is available from San Jose (get off at in the center of town), and Nosara Airport (1 hour a half away) offers domestic flights to and from San Jose Airport. Our Hotel is the perfect place for replenish yourself with the positive sensation of this enchanting atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Beach

Address: Main Street, Next to Alamo Rent A Car, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Price Range: RM350 - RM576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samara Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Samara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Beach Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Samara Beach staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Terrebonne, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Samara Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 16 had the bad Aircon”
 of 5 bubbles rayarama2016, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms had a view of the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles U9586KSmarkc, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The ground floor rooms overlook the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles rfincher, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles diane_515, 18 May 2014 | Read review
“Room #6 air conditioning drips like crazy and kept us up all night”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles SarahAndTerry, 6 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay