We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Botella de Leche

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
La Botella de Leche
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of La Botella de Leche
 Click to rate
Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place for the price and location. Yo get what you pay for an Hostel. Unfortunately they allow smoking all over the place. First is against the law, second is a family place full with children absorbing all that smoke. Hopefully they will change this to make it a great place to recommend for central located Tamarindo Hostel

1Thank Jvegamon
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Jvegamon, I do not smoke, I actually hate, however by lay, we have special areas designated for smokers, so...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my first time in a Hostel but I'm really happy that I chose this one. Since the first moment I got in touch with the hostel to ask about Tarmarindo and surfing lessons the hostel was totally friendly and patient. (I had a lot of questions ;-)) The service which this hostel offers to their customers is gorgeous....

1Thank nisha_ndr
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Nisha, Thank you for the comments, we enjoyed your stay here with us too. And yes, you had a lot of questions hihi, but it is our job and pleasure to answer to the best of our knowledge. We miss you now, we got use to see you every morning. i´ll pass the message to Marcos, we think too...

Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I could have never imagined what I would find at La Botella de Leche. Its beautiful pool, comfy beds and well equipped kitchen are nothing compared to how its staff make you feel since the first time you put foot in it. I couldn't have felt more comfortable in a hostel than in La Botella de Leche. The warmth and...

1Thank Gabriel R
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Gabriel, Thank you very much for your warm words. It was a pleasure to have you here and it was a pitty to see you go. We are glad you capture our essence, we respect everyone and we welcome all kinds. One love after all. I wish we can see you again sometime soon. We did not like to...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having never stayed in a hostel before, me and my friend had some doubts prior to arriving at La Botella De Leche. However, after reading all the great reviews we decided to give it a shot and it was the best decision I've ever made. From the moment I walked in I could see why this place had the high...

Thank lynnma9282
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Lynnma9282, Thank you for your words. I will pass them to Leo and Marcos, we love them vey much too. We like to think ourselves as a big family, we have fun together and we want you to feel comfortable and have fun with us. We are glad we gave you a great first experience with hostels, now we...

Reviewed 11 March 2017

The owners Manuel,Stephanie and Chris and staff are tremendous, from the minute you walk in the hostel until you leave you made to feel at home. They have created an appealing atmosphere that's caters to the young and older travelers alike. The hostel has covers almost everyone's needs,fast wifi,pool,bar,kitchen,tv lounge area and more. We stayed three wks in a one...

1Thank Hoss_Kar
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Hoss Kar, Thanks you for your kind words. I will pass the message to Chris and Steph too. We are glad that you felt comfortable during your stay and that you felt the "like at home" vibe that we aim for. Big huggs and I´ll take your word in the Would stay again part. Thanks again for writting Manu

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Myself and two friends travelled to Tamarindo and La Botella de Leche on a whim, and I am so glad we did. We were greeted by the most hospitable staff and Manuel and Stephanie (the owners) are two of the kindest and helpful people I have had the pleasure of meeting while traveling. We stayed in a co ed dorm...

2Thank Olivia S
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thank you Olivia, we miss seeing you three coming and going at the hostel. It was always nice to see you three with a smile in your faces. Come whenever you want. You are part of us now. Huggs from all the staff. Manu

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

This hostel is an absolute gem! This was my first hostel experience and I wouldn't want it any other way. La Botella de Leche was easy to find and is extremely cute. We walked in to be greeted by the owners Stephanie, Manuel and their adorable kids as well as the rest of the incredible staff which made us feel...

1Thank alysha g
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Alysha, Thank you for the great review. We are glad you had a great time with us. It is a pitty I didn´t get to say goodbye. At least you know you have a family here whenever you want to come back to Tamarindo. Huggs and hope to see you again sometime soon! Manu and Stephanie.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in this hostel and it was amazing. First of all the owners are really friendly and helpful. It is an amazing place if your travelling alone to meet other backpackers becauses there is a lot of commun area and the pool is great after a day at the beach! It is far enough from the bars...

Thank Jessica H
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thank you Jessica, it was a pleasure to have you here. Thank you for the kind words towards us. Hope we´ll see you sometime soon again. We are glad you met other fellow backpackers. Best Regards Manu

Saint Clair Shores
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Manuel & Stephanie (owners) are most hospitable and very helpful for any traveler that has not spent significant time in Tamarindo or Costa Rica. They made everyone feel welcome nad made sure everyone was satisfied with there stay.

Thank l0rie007
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Hola Lorie007, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here enough to write one. Also, I might disagree in the casual part (as written in your title) or the significant time in Tamarindo, we always help our guests no matter what whether they are brand new to the town or...

Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Have stayed at several of their locations over the last 10 years. Love the vibes, relaxation, people, and very helpful to make your stay enjoyable. Clean rooms, full available kitchens. Stay during xmas once and was even given a mask carving as a present to make me feel included. Cant wait to go back.

Thank jshrub3
OlivierFontana, Owner at La Botella de Leche, responded to this review

Thanks Jshrub3, We hope to see you coming back again soon into our family. You will always be welcome. Huggs Manu

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (90)
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Dining (3)
Family/Play Areas (3)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (1)
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Room/Suite (12)
Bathroom (8)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
550 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
1,190 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
1.5 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 km away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#4 of 78 in Tamarindo
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are the first hostel in Tamarindo. In business for more than 15 years, we know what we are doing. Our objective is to help you have a problem and stress free holidays here with us. Family owned, comfortable and quiet. We are always improving to satisfy our clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Botella de Leche

Address: Tamarindo Beach | 50 mts from Banco Nacional de Costa Rica, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: RM61 - RM305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Botella de Leche 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Botella de Leche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Botella De Leche Hotel Tamarindo
La Botella De Leche Costa Rica/Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Botella de Leche staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Botella de Leche staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you don't have to battle your bunkmates for the AC temperature in the private room!”
rodo106, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you travel with friends, try to ask for the room upstairs. It's perfect, quiet and it has it's own private balcony.”
A6694FLsergios, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I recommend bottom bunks in the dorms for more privacy.”
12heleneh, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were good, after 12 the security guard keeps everything quiet so that everyone can rest”
D742JGscotts, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“All Rooms have A/C and are very Clean.”
AndreJTerra, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$50* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates