We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Portofino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Portofino
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Texas
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Keep in mind, this is a budget friendly hotel...simple, but so charming, amazing murals, lots of beautiful plants... the pool needed cleaning upon arrival, but it was cleaned that same night when we arrived. The breakfast was fresh fruit, and the best eggs ever, cooked on request The young lady kalya at the front desk was a delight. Everyone was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tammycostaricabound
hotel p, Gerente at Hotel Portofino, responded to this review

Your comment is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your experience, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

Portofino Hôtel ideal for simple people!!! This Hôtel met my needs being in the country to do humanitarian help. We choose a small apartment with air conditioning, 2 bedrooms and a kitchenette. Dailey maintenance. In the heart of Tamarindo and close to everything: restaurant, beach, bank, dry cleaner, taxi etc..The staff is friendly and responded to ou requests quickly each...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diane L
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 24 January 2015

The place is quite neglected... The staff is careless, the pool was dirty, loud music throughout the night, and people coming in and out of the hotel without any care... There was no security guard, nothing. The room was dirty, the kitchen was disgusting and everything was old. The shower had no curtain, so the floor was soaking wet by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chinayes
hotel p, Propietario at Hotel Portofino, responded to this review
Google Translation

Su opinion es muy valiosa para nosotros, estamos haciendo todas las correcciones necesarias, ya se corrigieron algunas aspectos de limpieza...

Reviewed 11 August 2014

we arrived to the hotel without reservation so they had last free room, the room was ok, but the sheets had stains so it felt kind of dirty. i can assume that they would have change it if we had told them to but we didn't... the cleaner asked me day after we arrived if she can clean the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanite2014
Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our experience started already with a very messy reservation procedure. Just to be sure, I confirmed our reservation before we left Liberia. And, reservation lost. After a lot of struggle, we got another room. But what a surprise, the pool was out-of-order. Ok, this I do not judge as a major disadvantage, because we had access to a nearby, small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank D G
hotel p, Owner at Hotel Portofino, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenos Días .Antes que nada siento mucho que no se haya comunicado con nosotros en el momento de su estadía...

MI
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is a very nice option for travelers. Fifteen dollars a night for a nice dorm room with a private kitchen and access to a quality pool. I say travelers because "vacationers" (fat middle aged people with huge wallets) may not appreciate the location and the slightly less than home like room quality. Travelers will love this place especially if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mattyc169
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you like smoking weed and a be surrounded by drugdealers this is the place! All the employees deal& smoke.. While working.. So dont expect much service from the staff cause they will be to stoned to help you out..even the simple thungs they will be too stoned for. Some of them won't.. The girl that works at this place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elsamaria048
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewed 28 October 2013

While the staff seemed nice and the outside of the hostel was very appealing (location is great!), the room itself was very dirty and unkept. They had only one room available because they hadn't gotten around to cleaning the others even though we checked in after dinner time. The door did not close or lock and the overall feeling was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah K
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed one night recently at Hotel Portofino and would have continued my anticipated 5 day stay but had a good offer to stay at a friends nearby condo for $0 --- hard to argue the economics. Hotel Portofino is in an excellent location -- less than 500m to Playa Tamarindo and surrounded by vibrant eating places and night time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YYCLady
NJ
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I've stayed here twice when visiting Tamarindo, and it is a very good value. Make sure you at least get a room with a kitchen so you can keep some staples in the fridge, plus, it will be more spacious and you wont feel like you are living in a cave. The two times I have been there the A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoanneS46

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.0 km away
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
#17 of 23 in Tamarindo
28 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
518 reviews
0.0 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Pasatiempo
Hotel Pasatiempo
#3 of 49 in Tamarindo
489 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Mapache
Casa Mapache
#1 of 1 in La Garita Nueva
25 reviews
0.0 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have a promotion:Apartment: 1 person $28/night 2 person $48/nightCabin: 1 person $22/night 2 person $37/nightShared room: $10/night ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Portofino

Address: North Cruza Por Langosta 10 | frente Spa Maya, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Portofino Costa Rica/Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Portofino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Walk down the road a little further, there are better options.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahk614, 28 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Apartments are nice for 4 people or more.”
 of 5 bubbles GoodTastesAllAround, 13 Jun 2012 | Read review
2 of 2