We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Costa Rica Surf Institute

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Costa Rica Surf Institute
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had an awesome experience with CRSI - they really went out of their way to make my stay awesome. Here's a few highlights: -I had a horrific time trying to get to Costa Rica; due to various difficulties with airlines I arrived more than 24 hours after I was originally supposed to get in. Even though I did not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cms385
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Phillip's review is spot on, I wish we had read it prior to paying our deposit. CRSI is really a Spanish school that dabbles in surfing and the management struggles to coordinate the whole affair. While we were there the management demonstrated very little concern for our experience or skill in organization. A few things that happened: -We arrived on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Emersn
crsi, Manager at Costa Rica Surf Institute, responded to this review

Hi Emerson, Sorry that you had a poor time, we wish you had mentioned this whilst here so we could have addressed it on the spot. The transition from our old campus to our new location was tougher than we anticipated and we regret that it negatively impact the experience. We were not fully set up in the new location... More 

Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I hesitate to give this place a bad rating simply because the surf lessons themselves are awesome. Carmelo, a local ripper who gets respect in the line up was knowledgeable of his home break and the wave types as it changes with the tide. Luca, an ex-pat, was nice and friendly. Also gave tips on some good breaks to avoid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip K
crsi, Manager at Costa Rica Surf Institute, responded to this review

Hi Philip, I am sorry you had a poor time in the accommodations. We're currently addressing all the issues you mentioned as we remodel the on-campus residences. You can check out the progress on our Facebook page. No surf students will stay in the accommodations until they are fully ready. In retrospect, we should have closed the accommodations while we... More 

La Fortuna
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Learning to surf had been on my bucket list for many years, so when I was offered the opportunity to try a one-day surf lesson with Costa Rica Surf Institute (CRSI), I figured it was time to finally cross it off the list! Playa Tamarindo on Costa Rica's golden Pacific Coast is the quintessential surf beach -- It's possible there... More 

Helpful?
Thank DesafioAdventures
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We've travelled all over the world, and this vacation was our all time favorite. While kids took Spanish, my wife and I surfed. After Spanish class, the instructors took the kids surfing. The instruction is supportive yet demanding. The kids said they liked Spanish class better than their "regular" school. Just fantastic. Every single thing was great.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mindts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I came to CRSI after hearing that Tamarindo was a great place for surfing and looking for a place to learn spanish and surf. It turned out to be the perfect spot. The lodging is perfect, you stay in apartments that provide everything you need. There are kitchenette's in each apartment which allow for doing your own cooking if you... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Tamarindo is the perfect place to learn how to surf! The waves are very consistent, its a big beach break with very few rocks to worry about, the wave itself is not very heavy. Once your surfing skills start excelerating you can always walk to playa grande to test you ablity on some bigger waves. The surf instructors are very... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Chrishartcook
crsi, Director of Sales at Costa Rica Surf Institute, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback Chris. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Tama! Pura vida. -Chris More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I didn't really know what to expect when I arrived here. I was surprised, but not at all disappointed. The rooms are shared here, like a hostel, but nicer. The rooms are located on the edge of the campus (the grounds are mixed use, housing a Spanish school as well as the surf camp) and right above the surf desk... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank supasonics

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.0 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.0 km away
Casa Mapache
Casa Mapache
#1 of 1 in La Garita Nueva
24 reviews
0.0 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
1,998 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,198 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Costa Rica Surf Institute offers surf camps, family surf camps, advanced surf tours, yoga, and surfing and Spanish programs in Playa Tamarindo and Playa Grande Costa Rica.We'd love to host you, teach you to surf, and share the Pura Vida. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Costa Rica Surf Institute

Address: CRSI Tamarindo Main Road | Across from Hotel Zullymar, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: RM246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Surf Institute Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Costa Rica Surf Institute staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed at the Villas MAcondo which was really great :) Room with a/c and fan and solo bathroom. Quiet and awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles cms385, 6 Mar 2014 | Read review
1 of 1