We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Suttons Bay, MI
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The exterior of this hotel really doesn't do it justice. However, once you walk down the little stairwell to the front desk, we were pleasantly pleased. Trisha was very friendly and thorough even letting us see the available room before booking. We had a basic, but comfortable room with sliding glass door that walked right out to the courtyard complete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whatyouremissing
tyler, tx
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

we had a few problems 1. got quoted the wrong rate, so they asked us to pay more. we did not because other issues irritated us, so it was awkward. 2. they sold new years eve party tickets for $65 person and had a small party and very loud DJ present until 2am so we were essentially unable to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dlltyler
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here twice, last time I was solo 3 years ago, and now this time with my wife. The room was fine, though the AC unit made a lot of noise, as did another one on outside of wall. But the issue here was the new bar downstairs, place music non stop, and we had a balcony sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MotoSurf
zoesandy, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this review

We are really sorry that your stay is not pass as you wanted him, but for the noise, we are not responsible, c was the festival of the music has tamarindo.salutation sandy

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are very happy with our stay. We stayed in Ocean view room number two and we had our own little terrace and it was amazing to wake up in the morning and see the ocean. Nice garden and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful woman in the front desk. Very close to the beach. Breakfast not included, but very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnicaSWE
Airdrie, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front desk agent was over the moon nice. She was welcoming and gave us lots of wonderful information. The bakery was delicious! We had breakfast and it was good, the bakery provided the bread and pastries. YUMMY!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelseyD555
Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We only stayed one night here but had a very good experience. The food in the bakery is excellent as well as the dinner in the restaurant. Our host arranged for a surfing lesson and kayak fishing trip, both of which were very fun. Although there is not easy access to the water, the view is beautiful and very quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Visited Tamarindo and stayed here. It was excellent for the price and Trish was fun to talk with. There is a group of Howler Monkeys that hang out in the trees next door. The rooms were clean and had great beach / ocean views. Location is great! Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Don't ever stay here. This is the worst service and guest treatment I have ever got. Owner is French and very rude. Myself and a friend drove down to Tamarindo and checked-in to this hotel, dropped our bags in the room and went out for a walk about. Very quickly we agreed that this was not the place for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
zoesandy, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this review

Hello, This 2 mans was very nice people when they comming in the hotel.They asked me a good price for the room for 2 days,We charge the room and 4 hours later,(they use the shower,the beds!!!)they tell in my emploed : we dont want to stay here,we dont like tamarindo,no my hotel,TAMARINDO!!!and in the all hotel wen you charge the...

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. We were supposed to stay only one nite but we really liked the place, so we decided to stay 2 nights. The beach it is located at an easy walking distance but there is not access directly. Staff and owner ( french woman, Patricia) very nice :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaNi M
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Quaint rooms, nice location, and an excellent restaurant! The walk to the beach through the marsh area is picturesque. The amenities were not world-class but very nice and met our needs. The food at the restaurant is everything you want near the beach, would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1time2fly

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Other (36)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Studio (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.6 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.7 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 23 in Tamarindo
90 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
524 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 23 in Tamarindo
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family and friendly hotel located on the beach. Tropical garden, with faun and flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Address: Calle Central 275, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: RM246 - RM625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Laguna Del Cocodrilo Costa Rica/Tamarindo
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked room one, but the lock was tricky. It was nice having a room on the main floor as they walk right out to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles whatyouremissing, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are upstairs to the right once inside the hotel area. I think #10 and #11. They have amazing views with great private decks.”
 of 5 bubbles KenW843, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get an Ocean View room for a few extra bucks. You will appreciate the views.”
 of 5 bubbles CCTEXAN08, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Spring the extra for the Junior Suites with balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles GoonGloop, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“No mini fridge in room”
 of 5 bubbles samanthabP9027HY, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay