We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostel Hakuna Matata

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Hakuna Matata
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel Hakuna Matata
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The very best thing about this hostel is its location, right beside the bus station, convenient for bank, shops, post office, restaurants & the National Park. Also the outdoor space at the front, which is nicely laid out and has a small swimming pool. The breakfasts, at 2,000 colonies, were reasonably good value On the negative side the receptionists we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hi David, firstly thanks for your review, but I wish with this answer to clarify a couple of things. Sorry we seemed charmless and helpless, but with during high season when we are full we are not always able to take care of our clients as we would like, some days we got to face problems that go beyond the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've traveled my share. I've stayed in 100s of hostels and Hakuna Matata is easily among my favorites. First of all it looks exactly the way you would hope a hostel might look if it bordered on a beautiful national park in the Costa Rican rainforest. The garden is beautiful with native plants exploding everywhere. Enormous mango trees shade the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello James Thanks for the wonderful review. We are happy that you had enjoyed it here with us. Thanks for the advice, we are already solving the problems that we've reported! Cinzia

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Loved the location of this hostel, close to the bus terminal and close to the centre of town and Cahuita NP. Also the staff at this hostel is great, they were helpfull and nice. The dorm rooms were ok, there was a van inside but it was not very strong so the mosquitos ate me alive. I was sleeping in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanda S
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello Nanda Thanks for the review! Unfortunately the mosquitoes in the Costa Rica are real vampires!!! Cinzia

Santa Rosa, California, Usa
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We had a private room and that was nice. It was not very comfortable and it had an extra bunk bed in it with signs saying that if the bed looked messed with they would charge us the fee for another person sleeping in there. Kind of weird. Everybody who works there is nice enough and maybe it was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShawnaM135
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry you hadn't a perfect experience. We are puzzled about your feeling about the staff: we didn't mean to be rude or not to aknowledge your presence. On the contrary, we value interaction a lot. You are welcome to Cahuita again and we hope you manage to find better solutions for the same price!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Although they make a fair effort in keeping a nice garden and pool and the rooms are reasonably okay, the state of the kitchen is repulsive. The was only one filthy dishrag, which stunk incredibly and made everything wiped with it smell awfully too. This was never changed the entire week I was there. I stopped using the kitchen after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcusEh
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello Marcus The kitchen is cleaned 3 times a day and unfortunately we can not throw the foods stored in the refrigerator as long as we are not sure that the guest is gone. Unfortunately many guests are really rude and not only do not wash what they use, but also break the numerous accessories available in the kitchen. Also...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my 11-years old son 3 nights in Hakuna Matata Hostel in July 2016. It is a very chill place. The location next to the busstation is great if you travel with public transport like we did. The garden with a small nice pool is beautiful. The open air relax place with hammocks, seats and sofa's is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello Marion Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you had a good time in our facilities. We are a small family hostel and we try to do our best to ensure visitors a great experience. You are welcome back anytime. Cinzia

Reviewed 14 August 2016

Two night stay in Hakuna Matata. The hostel is right next to the bus stop so easy to find even at night (just head up the road) and a quick walk in the morning for the early day buses to San Jose (8am). We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and got a decent night sleep. The hostel has hammocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello Jamie! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you had a good time in our facilities. We are a small family hostel and we try to do our best to ensure visitors a great experience. You are welcome back anytime. Cinzia

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 15 June 2016

stayed in a dorm room for 3 nights, there was no fan and the power went out for 2 days meaning everything had to be charged in a public area. staff are friendly, main downside is the ventilation, the rooms are so much hotter and stickier than even outside! great place for some downtime, really enjoyed chilling in the hammocks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello Matt You're right the fan in your room, often it stops and you need to move it to start it again. We are providing to replace it! However we are happy that you had enjoyed it. Good continuation travel! Cinzia

Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Awesome hostel, chilled out, plenty of hammocks, nice pool that lights up at night, fully equipped kitchen. The hostel is just next to the bus station, bank and supermarket, very close everything. Luca was a great host (the gnocco fritto was delicious!) and Luciano was always very helpful. The owners were going to the airport and they offered to drop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hello Elenkasab! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you had a good time in our facilities. We are a small family hostel and we try to do our best to ensure visitors a great experience. You are welcome back anytime. Cinzia

Sweden
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful garden, equipped kitchen, lots of tables to eat by, lots of hammocks to chill in. Also they had a puppy, can't complain about that. And the hostel is located RIGHT next to the bus station, shops and ATM. Only bad things were that they only had one toilet for women and one for men. Fortunately I was there in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millajk
cinzia b, Proprietario at Hostel Hakuna Matata, responded to this review

Hallo Millajk Thanks for the comment! In reality the baths are 3 but for law we are forced to put the symbols man, woman. The third it free really to allow both the sexes to use. However we have in forecast to build other 2 baths and 2 showers to eliminate every uneasiness to the clients. Cinzia

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
4.9 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
129 reviews
1.0 km away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
195 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
0.2 km away
Buena Suerte Bed&Breakfast
0.5 km away
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Cabinas Caribe Luna
#13 of 45 in Cahuita
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hakuna Matata Hostel is a lovely accommodation choice for travelers. Situated 20 meters away from the bus stop and surrounded by tall mango trees which give it a jungle-like vibe, it's a go-to experience for visitors of Cahuita. It's also located 3 minutes walk away from the national park and the beach and it has some food store right next to it. The hostel offers bed dorms and single rooms, a shared kitchen where you can cook your own meals, free WiFi, a beautiful swimming pool and a very nice common area with fun games like kicker or darts. As a side note, you will also be able to see wildlife here as the trees above the hostel are often frequented by monkeys and sloths. Come here to relax and meet adventurous travelers like you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Hakuna Matata

Address: Main Street | Vicino Alla Fermata Del Bus, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hostel Shangri La)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Price Range: RM58 - RM174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Hakuna Matata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Hakuna Matata staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great access to beautiful national park and idyllic beaches.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdN1591ZK, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose other accommodations.”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusEh, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“AC if available, it was hot in July.”
 of 5 bubbles F3244FBjamief, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The first or second room of the dorms or the number 4 or 5 for a private”
  • Relax
 of 5 bubbles stockcar69, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just go to dorms: cheap, clean, big”
 of 5 bubbles Alvise_rzz, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5