We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lizard King Hotel Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lizard King Hotel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016

My sister and I just spent three nights here and were pleasantly surprised. Rooms are super clean and the front desk device was great! Jeffrey and Rolando had great suggestions for things to do and places to see. Would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Jesicah R
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for being our guest!!! We look forward to your return :-) More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

We specified online AC, booked the room for that, but when we got here they wanted $20 more each night for the AC. There is construction next door - 7 AM metal saws ripping through tin, sounding worse than a dentist's drill! The walls are so thin the neighbor sneezed and my husband thought it was someone in our room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Windmillksm
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Ma'am, you booked a standard room that does not include air conditioning. We were happy to upgrade you to a deluxe room at your behest and politely informed you of the difference in prices, which are clearly displayed online and in our hotel. We reviewed your reservation together and you acknowledged that you had actually booked a room without air... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Had to cut my trip short due to an issue at home. Let the hotel know I was departing early. They advised me that there are no refunds give (even though this is not posted anywhere). I emailed the manager about this issue, and it's been 2 weeks now and not even a reply. I would not recommend this establishment.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pms1555
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pms1555, You were given a generous discounted rate for your stay and in exchange you signed a short rental agreement agreeing with the no refund policy. I can send you a copy of what you signed and agreed to which it states clearly that because you are receiving discounted rate there is no refund. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

So we set out to a night out in the caribbean. Found this gem of a hotel online and our expectations were surpassed by far. The place is neat, cozy, beautifully designed and overall appealing to the eye. The staff is incredibly nice and always helpful. We don't thin we'll go elsewbere when visiting Puerto Viejo

Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo G
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rodolfo, On behalf of all the staff here at Lizard King Hotel thank you very much for the positive and motivating comments. It's always so great to hear when our hard work manifests itself as such a positive experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Puerto Viejo. More 

Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016

The location is perfect, and Geoff was a great host making sure we knew everything needed for a great couple of days in Puerto Viejo. The rooms are clean but the showers were either cold or slightly warm with hardly any pressure!

Helpful?
Thank Kerrie7969
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We just returned from a week at the Lizard King. It is a great place to stay - comfortable, quiet, very clean, delicious breakfasts, a/c, television, and a great location. The King is just south of the mainstream of Puerto Viejo and an easy walk to anything in town. Bikes are available to rent to ride to beautiful beaches. Jeffrey... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToniL348
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed there for two nights in mid April. We loved the hotel and Jeffrey really was amazing!!! The pool is great, and the café too, but Jeffrey is The Lizard Kings best amenity. Great service above and beyond, thanks Jeffrey you're the best!

Helpful?
Thank Willa B
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hey Willa! I'm so flattered! We are really glad you were so happy with the Jeffrey - we are thinking about putting in a few more. It was a pleasure having you and Holland here at the hotel. Hope to see you again. Cheers. More 

CARMEL,CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The same price as our luxury hotel near San Jose but definitely nothing like it. The hotel is VERY basic. Something like I imagine a backpacking hotel to be. We came in at night and were tired of driving so stayed at the first place that looked decent with A/C ($15 extra per night). Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank LBPICO
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hi LBPICO, I sincerely apologize if your visit with us did not live up to your expectations. All our standard prices do include complementary breakfast which comes with coffee/tea. However, we do offer the option to book without breakfast at a discounted rate - it is important to make the appropriate selecting when making your reservation online. We apologize for... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Quiet. Clean. Affordable. Sexy. Thank you Jeffrey, and the Cheap Booze n Food. Awesome pool. After hours upstairs with Watermelon Vodka and another one for mix😈 Breakfast was amazing and the A/C was appreciated. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Darrin F
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hey Darrin, Thanks for staying with us - we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again if you are ever in the area. More 

Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Jeffery who wears many hats was an amazing guy he took care of our check in took care of our drinks and all of our needs. I can't say enough good reviews. about the service and style 0f this hotel. I highly recommend this resort if your staying for night or a week.

Helpful?
Thank CanadianThunder
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review

Hey Coletta! Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Double Room (53)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.6 km away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
942 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
577 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
619 reviews
2.7 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lizard King Hotel & Resort for its great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure.Free WiFi, BreakfastFree, ParkingFree Swimming Pool Access - 24 hours, 7 days a weekFree Bus-stop Shuttle to Hotel,Great Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the Beach.LaundryService,Orthopedic Mattresses,Air Condition, or fan,Mini refrigerator,Mini Bar,Cable Television, Coffee, RestaurantBakery and PastriesTours and Attractions Appointment ManagementOnsite. Massage Service ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica (On the main road of Puerto Viejo), Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: RM290 - RM612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lizard King Hotel Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lizard King Hotel Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to the rooms with A/C.”
  • A new friend! He was on the outside of the window.
 of 5 bubbles CornfedContessa, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're looking for a decent nights sleep, this is definitely not the place to be.”
 of 5 bubbles IntlTraveller9, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Think they were all good.”
 of 5 bubbles T8750NBjanel, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't book here.”
 of 5 bubbles Windmillksm, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Pool, Free Wifi, Friendly Staff, Close to Beach”
 of 5 bubbles brianthebruin, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay