We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Santo Tomas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

870 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santo Tomas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 770: English reviews
Aichelberg, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is perfect to relax after a long journey, especially because of the friendly and relaxed staff. The owner, Thomas, gave us a very warm welome and was very helpful with any kind of advice. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet and there is a lot of space to sit and relax. Just a few meters outside the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael O
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola Michael, Great meeting you and your wife: and wonderful to see your smiling faces in the morning. This job is so much better , than working in the complaint department of Sears. I try to be there every morning in the breakfast are to assist in any way possible to create a nice Costa Rica Travel Memories ! My...

West Hills
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was a great location. 7-10 minute walk to "center" of town. We felt very safe. The front desk was helpful. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was small but did the trick for the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GingerWestHills
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola Ginger, What a nice solid , short , concise review . We are only 4 blocks form Central Avenue , where the the Gold Museum, Jade, Museum, National Theater, Central Market, Art galleries .shopping is located and is just the center of activity in San Jose. The Free Hot Cooked Breakfast , served by the pool is designed to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were looking for a hotel that would be a great value for budget seekers like ourselves and Hotel Santo Tomas was the perfect fit. Located in downtown San Jose, this hotel is a short walk from the Central Market and all of the interesting museums that you may want to visit. We enjoyed the free authentic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha W
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, Hey, I love that you really described what type of equipment the gym has in it, that means you do know what a real gym is. Can't say enough about how well you have described the hotel, location and the services we strive every day to provide. I really appreciate the fact that you understand that the original...

Reviewed 10 December 2016

Great value hotel in a good location. The hotel is really pretty with old colonial style furnishings. It also has a pool which is great for when you've been walking around San Jose. Also has off-road parking (although you do have to pay $11 per night). It's well located for all the sites and not too far from the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scampi2016
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Scampi2016, Wonderful title you have and our location is very central. We do suggest on the rental car to taxi in and have your car delivered to the hotels parking lot the next morning after the free breakfast. We can assist with this and they will pick it up on your return and provide you with a free GPS...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the most basic room, but if you're only looking for a place to rest your head this is great. High ceilings, ceiling fan, comfortable bed and clean bathroom, wifi throughout - all great. The pool and gym area look fantastic - shame it was raining for the best part of our stay and we couldn't make use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine M
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Madeleine, Everything you need : well that is pretty important. We have five different room types to fit most budgets and travel needs, you booked it on the hotels direct web site for the best price, availability and service. The property is on Avenue 7, calles 3 & 5 , large white sign on top of the parking lot...

Waverly, Iowa
Reviewed 7 December 2016

HST is located close to shopping and restaurants. Tom, the owner takes personal interest in making sure your stay goes well. In my recent experience in late November, everything was really perfect: Parking is safe and secure, rooms are clean and large. The pool is beautiful, and the exercise room was surprisingly well-appointed. I usually stay a day or two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BE665
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola BE665, I like that term ( HST will be my new go-to hotel in San Jose ) that is really nice , Thank You ! I will show my staff your review and make especially sure my cleaning and maintenance department knows of your praise. The exercise room is a real gym, no disco gym here, if you know...

Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located within walking distance of many central attractions: Jade Museum, National Theatre, Art market, and Central Market. There are plenty of near by restaurants and even some vegetarian ones. The hotel is a converted old mansion. If you are expecting modern or upscale, this isn't the place for you. It is, however, clean and convenient. Hotel owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArchanaSharma
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Archana, Yes you are correct our location is really central and we are located on Avenue 7 just before it goes steeply down hill to avenue 9 and 11. For anyone aged, with physical problems or just lazy climbing that hill in the sun is a killer ! Restaurants close by : Egyptian, next door , Columbian in front,...

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Boyfriend and I stayed the night in the economy room for a Guns and roses show. We didn't expect much for the price. Seriously blown away and plan on booking here in future. Tom is wonderful and welcoming. Gentleman who works desk in day is extremely helpful and personable. All staff friendly. Breakfast provided is excellent and a bonus. Ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola Kristen C, Yes, that was a good concert ! I had at least 5 other travelers that had came for the show, just in my little hotel. The day man is Omar and he is a sweet heart. I will be sure he sees your post. Great having you stay and I look forward to your return for a...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 28 November 2016

To tell the truth, I was a bit put off by their pre-arrival communication - no dirty bills, no early checkouts, beware of unlicensed cabs (but no pick up service offered) - and by the front desk's near refusal to change a bill for the taxi. BUT - the minute I saw the rooms all was forgiven. I did opt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CARLYE P
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Carlye P, The email we send three days before your arrival is to provide the travelers with useful information on how things work in Costa Rica , nothing more. You would be really mad upon arrival to try and pay your bill here with bills that would not be accepted in the banks and all other establishments. As we...

Norway
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We were supposed to stay for two nightswhen we arrived in Costa Rica, but due to bad weather we had to layover in Panama. We only stayed one night and it was OK, we did not get that much of an impression of the place. It is a short walk to the shopping street. We left early and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindri
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Lindri, Yes that hurricane Otto played havoc with travel plans. As you left early on a tour I am sure they provided you with a breakfast. We don't do take away breakfast. How much more do hotels have to give away free. Oh and by the way, none of this that we give away is free for the hotel...

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (370)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Upstairs Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Plus Upstairs Room (29)
Viewed
Economy Room (35)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool and Hot Tub (29)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Plus Upstairs Corner Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Plus Upstairs Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
759 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
1,277 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 84 in San Jose
269 reviews
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
5.7 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: RM290 - RM483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santo Tomas Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santo Tomas staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santo Tomas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms are nicest!”
 of 5 bubbles 555hilarya, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 30 was quite nice.”
 of 5 bubbles MarineDC2017, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sqeaky floor boards. Ask for an isolated room if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieG69, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“22 rooms I think. squeaky floorboards so you might want to ask if a secluded room upstairs available.”
 of 5 bubbles S1727GAcharlesg, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 was very spacious with 2 queen beds”
 of 5 bubbles 287MichaelO, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay