We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kaps Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kaps Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Start your review of Kaps Place
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Kaps Place for three nights in March/April 2017. We had a lovely quadruple room which was spacious and had a vestibule with hanging space and storage. The bathroom was shared and across the corridor. The room and bathroom were very clean. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent - a cold buffet and hot breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
Huacas, Costa Rica
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I stayed here for three nights, and was very glad that I chose this location. For the rate, it is a very nice hotel. My room (I was in the Annex, #4) was clean, the place was quiet, and the breakfast that is included had so many options. I am an early riser, and almost everything was ready when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Karolinabv, Director General at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear Guest:Thank you for sharing with us and TripAdvisor users your lodging experience at Kaps Place Hotel B&B. We are always aware of providing a warmth and efficient service. We’ll continue improving our service and trying always to please all our guests. From all of us thank you very much. We look forward to having you as our guest in...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 1 week ago

This palce has amazing character a big shrine at reception bearing witness to a thousand candles that have been burned there, tranquillo music playing all the time, murals, mosaics and court yards. Great value for the price, booked on Expedia and had double room with private bathroom plus breakfast - eggs cooked the way you like 'em, rice 'n' beans,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ammarray
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I had a reservation here. I cancelled it in a timely manner prior to arrival, via email. Although the email was received, Kaps took the full money from my credit card without warning or my permission. I've emailed them for the return, and they've refused with a rude and nonsensical reply. Total thieves. Have had to raise a complaint with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SlaterE84
Karolinabv, Propietario at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear Emily, I hope you are doing well with peace in your heart. This comment is very nasty from you, you know that you made the reservation for 1 night and you sent the cancellation email just the same day of your arrival and our cancellation policy is within 48 hours in advance as we sent you in the confirmation...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

My second time at this place...and I would choose it again...close to city but quite...surroundet by shops and restaurants...and a good restaurant by itsself...breakfast was one of the best I had in whole centrel america...everybody was very kind and helped you quick with everything you need...Thank you Kaps place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Schomberg S
Karolinabv, Director General at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for sharing with us and TripAdvisor users your lodging experience at Kaps Place Hotel B&B. We are always aware of providing a warmth and efficient service. We’ll continue improving our service and trying always to please all our guests. From all of us thank you very much. We look forward to having you as our guest...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Kapsplace is an incredible value conveniently located in San Jose. Karolina and her amazing staff make every effort to provide comfort and support for a relaxing stay. The rooms are clean and cozy and many have private baths. Plenty of privacy and places for groups to debrief as well. There is an updated restaurant with a delicious and fresh breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angie550
Karolinabv, Director General at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear Guest: It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're always trying to improve and to make the hotel better. We'll continue working to improve our hotel service. Once again, thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you soon! Muchas gracias. Pura Vida!

UK
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I initially chose Kap's place based on its location -- five minutes from the place I would be working during the week I was in San Jose. I was then delighted to read wave after wave of positive reviews on Tripadvisor. My experience was largely positive, but a few things could have been better. First of all, the positives. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zmrzlina
Karolinabv, Director General at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We much appreciate your comments about Kaps Place Hotel B&B. For us is always important to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. All our staff is very proud of have providing you a memorable lodging experience at Hotel Kaps Place. We look forward to having you as our guest in the very near future. Muchas gracias!...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We came to San Jose after staying a month in Cuba, which was rather shocking in regard to price/performance and that you always had to negotiate about everything. So probably this review is a bit biased ;) About the hostel: from outside it looks quite small and uninviting, but once inside it changes to a small Oase in this -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
Karolinabv, Director General at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear guest: For all of us is very satisfactory knowing that all the services provided by Hotel Kaps Place were much appreciated by you. Thank you for call us "heaven after Cuba". We will keep working with enthusiasm for merit your kind words. Pura Vida! Muchas gracias!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I came here as part of a tour group and stayed an extra day in my own. The rooms here are nice and clean. There are common areas with ping pong and pool. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a cafe on site which is very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank link888
Karolinabv, Director General at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear Guest: It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're always trying to improve and to make the hotel better. We'll continue working to improve our hotel service. Once again, thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you soon! Muchas gracias. Pura Vida!

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Kaps Place a number of nights on different dates throughout a two week period in Costa Rica. The hostel is very relaxing with a number of communal seating areas both inside and out. In addition it is only a short walk encompassing an attractive park to the downtown areas of San Jose. Staying in three different rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Karolinabv, Director General at Kaps Place, responded to this review

Dear guest: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kaps Place Hotel. We do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We will keep working for improving our services for making the visit of future customers a memorable experience. From all of us thank you very much. We look forward to having you again...

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (319)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
921 reviews
2.5 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
279 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
844 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 85 in San Jose
960 reviews
0.9 km away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaps Place

Address: 1142, Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 2000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: RM163 - RM242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place Costa Rica/San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kaps Place staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Atlanta, Georgia
over a year ago
jacksonville, florida
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kaps Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see all rooms available as soom have windows olny to the interior of the main building or by the restaurant.”
ammarray, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the annex is great if you like quiet”
angie550, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Less expensive rooms are in the Annex but the main building is probably better.”
dorothym26, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator; so ask for a room downstairs if you don't want to climb withyour luggage.”
EEM88, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in Zen House 6, a night workers dog will keep you up”
Jeff1986-403, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5