We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sunset View Resort

    5322 South Big Lake Road, Big Lake, AK 99652
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    11/06/2017 12/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (4)
          Room & Suite (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (13)
          Alaskan Host Bed and Breakfast
          57 reviews
          #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Willow
           
          Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
          407 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Wasilla
           
          Alaska's Wasilla Bed and Breakfast
          41 reviews
          #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
           
          Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
          161 reviews
          #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
           
          Overview
          • Excellent59%
          • Very good0%
          • Average0%
          • Poor22%
          • Terrible18%
          8 Oct 2014
          “Beautiful Wedding, awful business woman”
          6 Oct 2014
          “Be wary of promises!”
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Suites
          Spa
          Laundry Service
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Restaurant
          All hotel details
          Alaskan Host Bed and Breakfast
          57 reviews
          #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Willow
           
          Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
          407 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Wasilla
           
          Alaska's Wasilla Bed and Breakfast
          41 reviews
          #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
           
          Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
          161 reviews
          #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
           
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (22)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 22 reviews

          Reviewed 9 October 2014

          We held our daughter’s wedding at this beautiful Big Lake resort and although the grounds and homes sound wonderful for a night or weekend stay, we don’t recommend ever dealing with the owner Kathy Giles for booking a wedding. Not knowing in advance how many...More

          8  Thank 907WorldTraveler
          Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort

          August 2 Wedding: I would like to address your concerns: 1. My husband/partner is available when I cannot be on site at the resort or at planned meetings and he was there to show you around the property. You informed him you were pleased with...More

          Reviewed 7 October 2014

          I traveled from Oregon to attend a wedding at this venue. I booked my room very early and was told I would receive a confirmation email. I never did, even after three additional calls. The owner, Kathy, said she was busy and would send me...More

          2  Thank Jonathon25
          Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort

          August 2 Wedding I would like to address your concerns; 1. I apologize if I did not send an e-mail confirmation upon request. An oversight on my part. 2. The Mother of the Bride was in charge of disbursing which families were to go into...More

          Reviewed 7 October 2014

          Our Stay-cation Getaway at Sunset View Resort Last month my Mother came to visit. I wanted to do something nice for her while she was here – something Alaskan! Coming from Mississippi, a place with a beauty all it’s own, I knew she would appreciate...More

          2  Thank JoshAlaska
          Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort

          Thank You; It was a pleasure having you stay with Sunset View. This is the second year with us and we enjoy the respect and care you take of our property. Look forward to you coming again.

          Reviewed 6 October 2014

          This resort is in the most gorgeous setting, and the house and rooms are nice. Unfortunately, you have to deal with the owner, Cathy, who is very deceptive and sneaky. We were there as part of a large wedding party and we had rented all...More

          2  Thank MarisaBell
          Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort

          August 2 Wedding; I will address your concerns; 1. You only rented the Upper Hillside Room, which was a large suite with two queen beds. You were given a verbal confirmation. 2. On the room confirmation you were always scheduled for the Large suite with...More

          Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

          We were excited to stay in this beautiful location and spend time with family and friends. We stayed in the McKinley House which is very nice. The challenge we had was with the owner Kathy. She was unorganized and unfriendly. To start it took over...More

          2  Thank Todd V
          Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View Resort

          August 2 Wedding Addressing your concern; 1. Check in was supposed to be at 3:00PM and your family started checking in at 1:00PM Your room was not quite ready and therefore you were disgruntled. We were very sorry, however you did arrive earlier than expected....More

          Alaskan Host Bed and Breakfast
          57 reviews
          #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Willow
           
          Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
          407 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Wasilla
           
          Alaska's Wasilla Bed and Breakfast
          41 reviews
          #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
           
          Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
          161 reviews
          #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Spa
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
          • Laundry Service
          • Things to do
          • Spa
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$199 - US$495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Family Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 11
          • Location
          • United States >
          • Alaska >
          • Big Lake
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (4)
          Room & Suite (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (13)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          Top Dog Drive In
          7 reviews
          11.30 km away
          Houston Lodge Marketplace
          23 reviews
          11.35 km away
          The Alaska Boathouse Restaurant
          16 reviews
          .07 km away
          Chepo's Fiesta Restaurant
          102 reviews
          20.74 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Happy Trails Kennel
          54 reviews
          5.49 km away
          Paint a Scarf Alaska
          79 reviews
          26.44 km away
          Iditarod Headquarters
          277 reviews
          19.63 km away
          Eklutna Village Historic Park
          67 reviews
          26.73 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Sunset View Resort staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Everyone seemed to be completely SATISFIED!"
          Read review
          "Rooms on main floor in McKinley View are VERY noisy. Room in ground floor in McKinley View is a fire hazard."
          Read review
          "There is one room that has an adjoining one that's good for families. The Master Suite is spendy but..."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing