We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bowman\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

This was an amazing little get away that I highly recommend! The owners, Kent and Melanie, are so nice and were very accommodating. Melanie cooked dinner for us and it was DELICIOUS. I went to culinary school and was very impressed with the food! These cabins are like a little piece of heaven, if you have a chance to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slbjarke
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 7 September 2014

My fiance (now husband) and I visited Bowman's in 2011 and decided it would be the perfect place to have our wedding. The food is incredible, the scenery is second to none, and the owners are everything you could ask for in Alaskan hospitality. We were married here in July 2014, and it was the easiest and most beautiful wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Megan W
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewed 25 August 2014

was looking for something off the beaten path after a week on a cruise ship. hope is the place. quiet and beautiful. the Bowmans have a beautiful well maintained place. our cottage was cozy and there is a brook and waterfalls running through the place. an amazing 5 course gourmet dinner complete with homemade rhubarb raspberry ice cream, comes with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barb g
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The owners were extremely rude from the beginning. We were immediately treated like scum, instead of guests. In the morning we were awoken by a pounding on the door, notified that check out was in a half hour. 15 minutes after checkout, we were changing a baby diaper in the parking lot, and melanie was telling us we needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jsjg12
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review

This group were the most ungracious guests we have ever experienced. When they left we had broken wine glasses at the showers, cigarette smoking in our cabins, pets sleeping in our cabins, drugs left behind. We do not cater to this crowd. They are the only people we have charged extra for damages in our eleven years here. Good riddance,...

Soldotna, Alaska
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We fell in love with Hope the first time we visited it. The people, the scenery, the all out atmosphere of the tiny tone was just lovely. We'd been a few times after and were always pleased. We were very excited when it was decided that we would/could hold our wedding there. Bowman's cabins were like a dream. I loved...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank AlyssaV_907
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review

These were the most ungracious guests we have ever experienced at Bearcreek Lodge. When they left we had broken wine glasses at the shower house, dogs in cabins, cigarette smoking in cabins, and drugs left behind. We do not cater to this crowd. These are the first people we have charged extra for damages in our eleven years of business....

St. Paul, MN
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Alaska after an 11-day trip to Kennicott, Denali and Seward. This was the perfect spot to end our vacation. As you can see from my pictures, our two boys (and my wife) absolutely enjoyed the splashing in the pond in front of the cabins, walking up the stream, taking out the canoe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and Daughter and I stayed in one of the Cabins at Bowmans. The cabins are small and rustic but it adds to the charm. They are located just about a mile away from Downtown Hope (which is micro tiny! but full of charm). We caught the red salmon run and did some gold panning on Resurrection Creek. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank www_prodev_com
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The employees or owners whichever they were, gave us a bad taste in our mouth from the very start. They were rude and belittling and had no sense of customer service. We had a larger group rent the majority of the cabins onsite and paid a lot of money to do so, and in the end it just wasn't worth...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jacob G
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review

These folks were the most ungracious guests we have ever experienced. When they left we had broken wine glasses at the shower house, dogs in our cabins, smoking in our cabins, and drugs left behind. We do not cater to this crowd. These are the first people we have charged extra for damages in our eleven years here. Good riddance.

Boulder, CO
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were excited to be at the best lodge in the small town of Hope! Beautiful setting for rustic cabin experience. The greatest food for miles and miles - worth it for that alone. Melanie is a master chef and accommodated us with wonderful gluten free organs food that tasted out of this world! Hosts work really hard on their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunzanna
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Sunzana! Our lodge has brand new beds throughout, and the Bearcreek Cottage is now completely remodeled and beautiful. See you soon.

Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved our rustic little cabin! No TV, NO internet, no radio ... Just lots of R & R while listening to the fire crackle and the babbling brook behind the cabin. Truly pure relaxation! Dinner which was served up by Kent and Melanie was OUTSTANDING! Multiple courses were served, all cooked fresh by Melanie. She is most definitely a gifted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CanadaCathy

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
31.1 km away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
1,724 reviews
29.5 km away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
34.9 km away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 147, Hope, AK 99605-0147
Region: United States > Alaska > Hope
Price Range: RM554 - RM665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge Hope, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Listen to the babbling brook”
  • View from cabin
  • The babbling brook
  • Babbling Brook
  • Cabin by pond
  • Our frist cabin
  • Our second cabin
  • Our Second Cabin
  • Flowers
 of 5 bubbles snewland, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Find a different hotel or camp”
 of 5 bubbles AlyssaV_907, 7 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Relax - take out the boat on the little pond. You'll smile and remember this as one of the best lodges you visited while staying in Alaska!”
  • View from Cabin 1
 of 5 bubbles urnojfk, 2 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We were in the rustic cabin #3, but I think if I were to book again I'd request cabin 4. Seemed a little more spacious and had a nice deck on the back as well as the front. But loved our cozy little cabin regardless!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles CanadaCathy, 22 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Cabins each offer individual touches, like porches front and/or back; so if more than one is open, ask to see them and choose .”
 of 5 bubbles lobbyist777, 21 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5