We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
NewHampshire
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This is not the hotel if you are looking for modern sleek corporate type of lodging, but if you are into history, funky places and want to live in the history of Alaska, this is the place to stay. Yes, there is no elevator and some of the rooms have to use the hallway bathrooms, but it has a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank highspirits3
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. You really seem to get the hotel. thank you again Bettye Adams

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Room was awfull ! Inside room without proper window (window was almost against a dark wall in some sort of big chimney. So no lookout or fresh air. It was very hot and stinky. They gave me an enormous noisy and dirty fan for "fresh air"... Nothing worked properly, or was broken or dirty (mousedroppings in cupboard in bathroom !)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingann2016
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your respnse. I have been looking into the situation you are referring to. We are searching for the room that you were in. Meanwhjils wwe are inspecting all of our kitchenettes to see if they need defrosting. I am sure that it was a stain not mold as the fridges are cleaned with bleach all the time....

Reviewed 29 June 2016

A total scam. Two employees on the phone told us what we cannot get after we checked in. Go somewhere else - not in this town. Hotels are booked. Their excuse, both employees don't know what they are talking about! We were told we could have a kithennett but we would got here it was not available!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have individualy wrapped plastice glasses. There is internet, but you need the password for it. We have been struggling with overbooking and were working hard to get everyone into the hotel. We are on the National Register of Historic Places and the oldest operating hotel in Alaska. I just bought some fans for the...

Miramar, Florida
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

PROS-located in downtown Juneau, historic hotel 1913s; close to small shops, plenty of places to eat, Mexican, American, coffee shops. Room was clean, comfortable bed, shower clean, CONS-Hotel smell moldy, dusty, has not been renovated. No elevator so if you are comfortable with going up and down 40-50+ stairs then you are good. Carpet in room looks like it hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria F
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was not as good as you hoped. We are on the National Register of Historic Sites and as such do not have an elevator. I am glad that the desk clerk was polite and friendly. There is non smoking in all the rooms plus the bar. We do shampoo...

Johnstown, Colorado
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed at the Alaska Hotel three nights. I know it is easy to judge an old building as being dirty, but this place was filthy. If I walked on the carpeted floor in our room, my socks turned black, the shower felt grungy and the bathroom floor was almost always wet. I asked for assistance with a plumbing problem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 132sheryl
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will look at all the carpets and see which ones need shampooing. I certainly hope that you got a discount on your room. If not please get in touch through our web site and I will see that that is done. Thanks you again Bettye Adams

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2016

After a lot of walking around Juneau, this was a good stop for a cold beer and to take in the sights of this historic hotel. Very interesting bar area, old stairs and friendly staff. Seemed to have a musty smell so not sure that we'd like to stay overnight.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seetheworld2014
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are the oldest operating hotel in the state of Alaska and on the National Register of Historice Places

Reviewed 8 June 2016

Pros: centrally located. If you're a single traveller on a budget, this is a good price for the location and includes an active bar. In my backpacking days, this might have been a consideration. It's basically a ramshackle hostel that has a historic designation. Just about everything else was a con: the room was musty; the towels smelled awful; the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisawQ1492IS
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will do an fresh inventory of the cooking items in the rooms with kitchenettes and purchase mnore where needed. I will check the mattresses to see which one sinks in the middle and fix the bed frame. No we have never had screnns on our windows and this summer is the first time guest...

Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Well it is what it is, an old small hotel that has probably never been restored. Small room. Even smaller bath. Every thing is clean as it can be for its age. No a/c and room was hot so I had to open windows. Bad mistake because there are people outside all the bars on Main St most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taasinc
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have been restoring it for 40 years. The hotel was a condemned building when we bought it in 1977. Thank you again Bettye Adams

Seattle , Washington
Reviewed 18 May 2016

It most likely still looks like it did in 1913, the stairs are very steep, there is no lift. However our room 332 was in the back of the building and was very quiet, except for people stomping around on the fourth floor apartment. The bar is just as funky, my friend enjoyed the cold beer. Mostly country or 'old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penelope M
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are the oldest hotel in Alaska and strive to be like we were in 1913. Thank you again, Bettye Adams

South Plymouth, New York
Reviewed 2 March 2016

This is the second time husband and I have stopped in for a cold, local beer after getting off of a cruise. Local people are friendly and this place is authentic. There is a large, commercial spot right next to the docks that seems to suck passengers in with loud music and over-priced drinks (believe they are called Duck Farts)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljc2tall
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. we are on the Historic Register of Historic Sites as well as having cold beer

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
201 (20)
Viewed
207 (22)
Viewed
212 (28)
Viewed
322 (20)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.6 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
311 reviews
1.2 km away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
11.7 km away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.6 km away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#9 of 16 in Juneau
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Alaskan Bar
The Alaskan Bar
Cuisines: Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Price Range: RM382 - RM430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in front overlook the busy street. There is some level of downtown noise. The front bay windows however are very cool.”
cptdjc, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back”
SHEILSA_12, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a bath.”
luv2vacaywt, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quieter room”
DBH20, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the street side of the note due to noise and sidewalk cigarette smokers,”
rwhite1066, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5