We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alaska Funny Moose

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Alaska Funny Moose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alaska Funny Moose
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
dilon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This was our first booked fishing trip to Alaska. We didn't know what we were getting into. We looked at their videos to get a feel of it. Jim, our great host described it well. It is a fishing camp. But it is a clean fishing camp. We went to catch fish and we did. The guides they work with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bryan m
South Vienna, Oh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This has been our 3rd opportunity to stay at the Funny Moose Lodge outside of Soldotna, Alaska. We have stayed in a different cabin each year we have been there and all have been clean and provide all the comforts required for a comfortable stay. All have the items needed for cooking your meals except for your food. Towels and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tdurham001
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

4 guys, a van, supplies and fishing equipment. Rolled up to the lodge July 28th. Welcomed by Jim and given itinary for the week and the very few sensible camp rules One halibut trip, one float plane trip, 2 river trips. Charters were brilliant with limits on our target species plus some stellar "bycatch". The floatplane ut of high adventures... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ian G
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A great place for a serious fisherman. Not a place to pamper your wife. The charter excursions were well organized with expert guides. Neat comfortable, basic cabins. Well organized system for shrink wrapping fish and freezeing them.. They pack them in insulated boxes for taking home as baggage. Great fishing on the river bank at the lodge. The best trip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don9368K
Bishop,CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was another Fantastic trip to Funny Moose. George and Jim...Thank you for so much fun!!! The Salmon are monsters this year! Every time we come back we learn more about Alaska fishing. PEOPLE if you are looking for the Ritz Hotel this ain't it. BUT if you want a Fish Camp where you have the best bed in Alaska... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mikie6
Rigby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

If I could rate this worse than terrible I would. The accommodations were filthy, we had to clean everything when we arrived. Mind you, I was there for the fishing not for the accommodations. There was no drinkable water and because of the intense smell of sulfur in the water the entire cabin if that's what you'd call it, half... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Russ S
JimDicken, Guest Relations Manager at Alaska Funny Moose, responded to this review

It is hard to answer any review without knowing which cabin and who is writing it. We check most guests out by 9AM on Saturday and have all 10 cabins ready by 4PM the same day. However occasionally someone shows up early and we attempt to take care of them. This means a change of the linens, sweep and mop... More 

Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were a party of 4 adults (2 couples) from Nova Scotia Canada. We arrived at Funny Moose Lodge May 25 and stayed for 7 days. Did not know what to expect but found this place to be the most economical so we booked it. It turned out to be great. It is a little out of the way in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank N0vaSc0tia2012
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My girlfriend and myself stayed at Funny Moose the first time this year and we did our research for months prior to planning the trip. We used tripadvisor and read all reviews, made phone calls and we knew what we were getting long before we booked. I can say it was just what they say it is, a fishing camp... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Arrived at camp first day it's open. Jim and Lou very nice guys. George the owner couldn't care less to meet any of us. Completely ignored. There are NO FISH the first month of season. NO FISH. Caught 2 small halibut in high horrible seas. Member of party slammed onto floor from waves. It was a pukefest even with patches.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Fishingfoo
Management response:

I will try to answer this one issue at a time... Jim and Lou good .. George could care less. This is not true. George has hired me for a reason. I am good with people. George has been in the business since the 70's and prefers after years of working with customers to take care of the fishing schedules... More 

1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great value for the money, very accommodating, good people, willing to go above and beyond to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Thanks Jim, George, and captain Lou. Will have memories and experiences to share for the rest of my life. Already starting to make plans to come again.

Helpful?
Thank brush_buster2

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
9:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soldotna hotels
18.8 km away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
19.1 km away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
72 reviews
17.8 km away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
121 reviews
17.9 km away
BEST WESTERN King Salmon Motel
23.9 km away
Caribou Crossing Cabins
Caribou Crossing Cabins
#8 of 40 in Soldotna
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Funny Moose Lodge is a lodge directly on the Kenai River. We have fishing right on the property and staff will clean and package your fish. There is a fee for vacuum packing your fish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alaska Funny Moose

Address: Sara Street, Soldotna, AK 99669 (Formerly Funny Moose Lodge)
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Funny Moose Hotel Soldotna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alaska Funny Moose staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Roswell, New Mexico
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Alaska Funny Moose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring clothing layers and a good rain outfit.”
 of 5 bubbles Piscataquog, 9 Sep 2013 | Read review
“we took what we got and didn't fuss a bit”
 of 5 bubbles 160IanG, 14 Aug 2012 | Read review
“All are ther same.”
 of 5 bubbles Don9368K, 12 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Bring your own cleaning supplies”
 of 5 bubbles RussS230, 18 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Bring towels soap etc”
 of 5 bubbles Fishingfoo, 17 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5