We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountain View Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mountain View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Good breakfast and night animation. The view is pretty nice too. The noise of the drunk people partying downstairs is a real problem. Especially at 3am. They also let us check-in in dirty rooms. After we mentioned it, they "cleaned" the room but didn't change the towels or the linen. We had to complain again. Last but not least, three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julien T
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julien Thanks for your review of our Hostel. We continue to improve our services & we do appreciate your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks again Ally

Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

As the Eagles once said, you can checkout any time you like but you can never leave. The first hostel I have left and was genuinely sad to do so. Incredibly hard working staff and a place I called home for a week. Beautiful mountain views and if you make the effort friends that will last a lifetime.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter M
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dearest Pete Like we said about Sam, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you & we were very sad when it came to the day of your departure. What great times were had with you guys & we will never forget them. Justin continues to be Justin & still loving life. Stay in touch mate & look forward to...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 June 2015

STOP RIGHT NOW AND LISTEN TO ME It’s 2015: we put a robot with lasers for eyes on Mars. There’s a black man in the White house. People are still watching Seinfeld reruns. And the perfect hostel has been invented. If God made hostels (and in a sense he did, right?) he’d see the Mountain View hostel in Sapa and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sam m
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Sam, Sam, Sam Oh how Mountain View misses you & Pete. What a great time Justin & I had with you both. One more night, one more night. We talk about you alot to our customers & we are glad you stayed with us for as long as you did. Keep it real Sammo & continue to have a wicked...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

Great breakfast buffet, perfect place to crash after the long night journey from Hanoi. Really nice staff, very helpful to get bus tickets and help you figure out your itinerary in the country. They really offer useful advice to organize your trip. Justin was truly efficient! Vietnamese staff is also great. Chilling room is perfect to power nap before leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexia B
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alexia Thanks so much for your review of our Hostel, we appreciate your feedback & we are glad you had a great time with us. Justin is amazing & I'm glad he gave you our 5 star service. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Take care. Thanks Ally

Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

We booked for two nights but only stayed for one. We Paid around 22 euros, so 25 USD. Good things first: -After arriving with the night train we were exhausted and they allowed us to shower (nice) -the breakfast Buffet was really good -the Restaurant and hang out Area is nice but we had some really Bad experience here: -we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lars W
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lars Thanks for your review of our Mountain View Hostel. We apoligise for the construction that was happening but safety first as we were rewiring the whole Hostel. We appreciate your feedback though. Thanks again Ally

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

Nice hostel very well located in Sapa. Chilling area is huge and really nice - not a party hostel but just a great spot to socialise and have a few drinks. Dorms are dorms, nothing special but the breakfast is one of the best I had. The staff could be a bit more friendly.its cool that they keep your bag...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marion50328
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Marion Thanks for your review of our Hostel. We appreciate your feedback & our glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have a great time on the rest of your travel adventures. Thanks Ally

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Made a mess of our bus and kindly gave us a night for free then made a mess of our bus the next day leaving us to sleep on the bus floor for seven hours. Tours are overpriced and misleading information. Fun hostel if you want to make friends but wouldn't book anything through them, try and go with women...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ellen Thanks for your review of our Hostel. We do alot of research into our trekking tours & they are our own exclusive one's. We try with all of our tours to go off the beaten track & do something different to everyone else. Hope the rest of your travels have been fun. Appreciate your feedback. Thanks Ally

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

We were so lucky to have perfect weather for the entire 3days we were in Sapa. The view of the mountains from our spacious room was absolutely breathtaking. The food was fair and the hotel a little dated but l would stay there again for that gorgeous unobstructed view.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey R
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Tracey for your recent review of our Hostel. You are right, it is an amazing view from the Hostel, especially on a clear day. Please take care & enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers Ally

Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

The room (private double) we had was a good size and clean although there was an issue with the sink that caused all the water to flood out on to the floor. Good job it was a wet room! The downstairs is great to hang out, very social. The walking tours seemed very expensive, we decided not to bother and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dave Thanks for taking the time to review our Hostel, we are glad you had a great time with us. Please continue to enjoy the rest of your trip. Thanks again Ally

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 May 2015

This place has a lot of potential but some unfortunate room characteristics diminish it: Pros: -Great free breakfast and food to buy at their restaurant during the day -Really nice chill out area/ bar to meet people and hang out/ play games -Beautiful views when it's sunny -Staff try to give good service and encourage people to have fun -If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leah C
Alyson2309, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for your review of our Mountain View Hostel. We appreciate your feedback & will be sure to take it all on board. With Sapa growing everyday, there is alot of construction going on which is out of our hands. We do hope you have a great time on the rest of your travels. Thanks again. cheers ally

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 km away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.5 km away
Sapa Vista Hotel
Sapa Vista Hotel
#12 of 63 in Sapa
116 reviews
0.0 km away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#17 of 63 in Sapa
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sunny Mountain Hotel
Sunny Mountain Hotel
#31 of 63 in Sapa
393 reviews
0.2 km away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 63 in Sapa
583 reviews
0.3 km away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#16 of 63 in Sapa
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
- The Mountain View LEADING Hostel Hotel - is located in the heart of Sapa town just minutes from the town square sporting some truly epic views of the Sapa Valley. Our cozy rooms are all heated, providing an excellent base for exploring the rich diversity of ethnic groups and gorgeous terraced valleys Sapa offers. After exploring you can put your feet up in our Mexican inspired bar and restaurant - friendly cafe - You'll be greeted by a cranking wood fire (in winter!), a range of hearty western foods, Tex Mex and local dishes. So kick off your boots and jackets in our custom built drying room and then plop yourself down next to the fire with a hot drink or even a hot mulled wine!free wine every night The Mountain View offers a number of comfortable room configurations including 6 bed dormitories and private rooms with twin beds or double beds. All of our rooms have rain shower suites with an endless supply of hot water and did we mention they're heated! Here at VBH we pride ourselves on providing tours that are off the beaten track. All of our tours in Sapa reflect this. We don't go into the main tourist valley of Sapa, we're found some truly beautify place's offering real homestay experience. Expose yourself to the real culture and colour of Vietnam's ethnic minorities on a trek through spectacular terraced rice paddies, bamboo groves and thatch villages. Or become a legend and Touch the Top of Indochine at the summit of Mount Fansipan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain View Hotel

Address: 54A Cau May St., Sapa, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Price Range: RM53 - RM62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Sapa
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sapa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain View Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mountain View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have beautiful views of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles 46moniquem, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The private rooms are worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles teddy702, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“dorm rooms on 1 & 2 floors. Reception, 3rd floor. Private rooms street side, noisy rooms in back Quiet &great views when weather clear”
 of 5 bubbles sharo, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Get the room with window.”
 of 5 bubbles travelinstylej, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“A good breakfast. A good emplacement.”
 of 5 bubbles claruslux, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5