We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grosvenor Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grosvenor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Dunedin
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We stayed as part of a group this last weekend. Unfortunately as I travel extensively nationally and internationally on a weekly basis, I would not rate this property very highly. We booked a premium room and were given a standard room above the exit for the bar below, which was extremely noisey. The room had no refrigerator, a normal facility...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P111Dunedin
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings P111Dunedin Please provide us your direct contact info because we don't have any idea of the group that you booked under. Having a username of P111Dunedin doesn't make it any easier for us to respond to you accordingly. You claimed about being placed in a standard room erroneously. Have you clarified that with our Front Office staff when you...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Waiting staff in the restaurant amazing friendly bubbly and had a smile for every customer cold not fault her. A credit to the hotel. Unfortunately that is the only good thing we could say. The reception staff in the morning - obviously, well as she told us in no uncertain terms she was not well and she did not want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwithme1971
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings travelwithme1971 Yes, travelwithme1971, like you said, whatever you said do have a lasting effect on the livelihood of our staff here. Jackie, our Front Office Lady has just undergone a major surgery and she's in an absolute physical pain when you were scornful. She came to us earlier to say that she tried to explain but her gum was...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

The Grosvenor is a heritage building built in 1895. Given that I did not have high expectations regarding the quality of the rooms They were dated and a bit tired but were clean. The squeaky floorboards didn't worry me but the person below might not have been impressed. So far ok but not great. Check out was a pain. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shayne M
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Shayne Apology for not attending to your check-out promptly. We shall have a word with our Front Office Supervisor to remind her to take the mobile phone with her at all times. Being a small size hotel, our staff are required to do other tasks at down times. Furthermore, there is an Express drop box by the reception where...

Reviewed 3 November 2016

Hidden treasure in the city, had a comfortable rest & reception was friendly and helpful at all times. I would recommend having a dinner meal and hot breakfast downstairs in the bar if you are not keen to walk far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Senia E
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Senia E We are appreciative that you enjoyed your stay here, and thank you for your recommendations. Stay safe. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Devon
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Second visit to this Hotel. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean. The location is right in the centre so, close to shops, restaurants and the beautiful Caroline Bay. Very reasonable rate for rooms and the restaurant and bar downstairs is by far the best food in Timaru. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather43Devon
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Heather Thank you for your kind words. All our staff here fondly remembered you and your hubbie. They are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and they are also excited that you are settling well in New Zealand. Sharon in particular missed the banter that she had with you daily when you were staying with us. Do come...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This is the second time we have stayed, this time during the week and in a superior king room. Lovely room, all the amenities that you need for a short stay + a brand new bathroom. Speaking with the young receptionist in the morning, she advised us to stay in room 215 next time. She even took us up to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank goodtimes225588
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Smiley Your genuine letter warmed and touched our hearts. The Scottish builder that you referred to, Connor blushed when we conveyed to him that he's been mentioned by you as well. Room 215 is the new King Suite that we have just finished. Meanwhile, we shall carry on with our renovations. Stay safe and we wish you well. Faithfully...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This is the 2nd time Ive stayed at this hotel over the last 3 yrs. Both times I have enjoyed and relaxed at this comfortable hotel The rooms are adequately suitable, with warm bedding, kitchen facilities, en-suites, tv, heating, quiet and clean The hotel provides a restaurant, bar & pokies, pool - downstairs The lift is a little slow but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KalznChch
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings KalznChCh Thank you for a very thorough explanation of The Grosvenor. That meant the world to us. We are appreciative that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come again. From all of us here at The Grosvenor, we wish you all the very best. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Stayed here last weekend for a wedding. Great location, room nice and clean, even had a bit of a view of the water! Gave us an early check in and late check out which was very much appreciated. Unfortunately didn't have a chance to try the bar/restaurant, but will give it a go next time I'm in Timaru.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jvbroomfield
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Jvbroomfield Thank you for your compliments. Yes, do come back again. We look forward to serve you again. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Reviewed 2 September 2016

I loved staying here this past month in August 2016 with my family. We felt comfortable, well cared for and enjoyed the bar downstairs. We also felt that the food served at the hotel's diner was one of the best meals we had while in Timaru and during our week stay we did try many locations.. The decor is interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melly T
Oamaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the great price and central location. I can say I really enjoyed my stay, a historical hotel with a quirky style. Clean, comfortable and polite,helpful staff. I would definatley stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kiwiasme
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Kiwiasme Thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words. Do come again. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
144 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
82 reviews
1.2 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
1.3 km away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
44 reviews
1.7 km away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range: RM289 - RM383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Timaru, New Zealand
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“had first apartment as come in drive ,. be warned very steep drive”
 of 5 bubbles 11Bear, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Order a hot breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles seniae2016, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms. Unfortunately none were available for our booking. A view of the harbour is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles heather43Devon, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 215”
 of 5 bubbles goodtimes225588, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay