We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grosvenor Hotel

Orbitz.comUS$60*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$153*
US$60*
US$153*
US$60*
US$153*
US$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Grosvenor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Well worth a stay if you want value for money. We had the accessible room and it is one of the cleanest and best accessible bathrooms I have used. We ate in the restaurant again good everyday food value for money there as well. If you want swanky don't stay here. If you want friendly staff and good value this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye B
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Faye B Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Grosvenor. Yes, we are all about value-for-money and providing our guests with all essentials. In a perfect world, it would have been nice to do "swanky" but we need to be realistic about the clientele that Timaru is attracting. We are glad that you enjoyed...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

This place is not funky nor hip, modern or bohemian and definitely not boutique. It's awful . Rooms very very basic. Drab decor. Nice bed. No fridge. Very bleak. Luckily only one night. Quaint old lift. Central location .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank percipop
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Percipop Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I can see from places that you have visited: Havana, Lyon, New York City, London, Honolulu, Melbourne and places that you have stayed in are marvellous as I have stayed there myself before such as Adelphi Hotel in Melbourne. It's apparent that you are a sophisticated and worldly...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Very central city, walking distance to CBD etc, the hotel staff were excellent, the room was good and was newly revamped, we decided to use the restaurant in the hotel and the food was very good, good range of craft beers and the food selection would cater to most with daily specials, this is our second stay, we were here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Dave K Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review for us. We are appreciative that we hit the mark with our facilities and services. We are humbled that you choose to stay with us again. You made our day indeed. We look forward to serving you again in the near future....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

The service at the reception was ok, not too friendly, but attentive. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was of solid quality 🌞. We think that they are doing a good job at this historical place: Renovating and refurbishing step by step, quite an ideal blend between old and new. You get good quality for your money. 🍀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BURGWIN
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings BURGWIN Thank you for taking the time to write a review. For someone that came from Melbourne, you have the vision and understanding about blending the old with the new. The Grosvenor will be outstanding once all renovation is completed. We are taking it a step at a time, to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable, comfortable and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

From the outside this place looks a little worn, when we arrived we thought we had made a mistake. But it's okay inside. A bit worn and tired, the bathrooms especially need a dose of modernism applied. The beds are old but reasonably comfortable. It's a simple place from a more simple time is probably the best way to describe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZMidds
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings NZMidds Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are aware of bathrooms requiring modernizing. We are one third towards accomplishing our target. This year, we shall reach our two third milestone. That being said, all bathrooms are not lacking in facilities but aesthetic appeal. We do our best within our resources. Faithfully Ping...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, good size rooms with big comfy beds, free wifi, good tv reception, friendly helpful staff. You can eat here in the bar, good menu, the hotel is central to all amenities with a private car park opposite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Jill T Thank you wholeheartedly for taking the time out in writing a gracious review for us. That meant the world to all of us here at The Grosvenor. We send you our well wishes and great fortune for this year and beyond. Yours faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect. Just a few steps from Caroline Bay and the shopping street. The King Suite (215) was new renovated and has a stunning view over the harbour to the Pacific Ocean. The service is great. We really enjoyed our time in this lovely hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelTobiJ
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings TravelTobiJ We couldn't have asked for more, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also appreciative that you enjoyed your stay in Room Two One Five (our King Suite). To all of us, it is our favourite room. Stay safe and happy holidays. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

When I read tripadvisor, I don't only look at traveller reviews, but also the replies that Management give to these reviews. Initially, I was put off by the sarcastic and unprofessional tone of the proprietor Ping Lim's replies to some reviews here on Tripadvisor, however I decided to have an open mind when I stayed. Upon checking in the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yblieb
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings YBlieb We are glad that you have an enjoyable stay with us. I'm sorry if you find me sarcastic which is never the intent. As for me, I'm stating the facts rather than giving opinions. Well-being and livelihood of our staff is paramount to me, and whenever incorrect opinions are given, I need to rectify them before damage is...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked a 'Superior Room' in this hotel. The location is great. As I knew, this was a very old hotel that had been renovated. The receptionist on arrival was friendly. The lift was questionable. It had not been renovated. Still the old gate type of elevator you had to slam shut before it would move. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChinaHol13
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings ChinaHol Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Regarding your comment upon the lift, it is both loved and jeered on equal measures. We are provided with management report by booking sites and suffice to say that the percentage of people liking the old lift is matched by the same percentage of people hating it. As...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Went here for Christmas lunch. Not exactly what I was anticipating - the decor and atmosphere were pretty bland. However, the food was really nice. It was a smorgasbord with a huge range of food, and plenty of it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DodgeyAus
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sir The buffet is held in our conference room. It is meant to be plain to enable our customers to decorate the room to serve their need. Our Christmas Lunch is booked out months in advance yearly. We are glad to have met your expectation. Stay safe. Faithfully Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
156 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
86 reviews
1.2 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.4 km away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#17 of 18 in Timaru
38 reviews
1.9 km away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range: RM232 - RM356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Timaru, New Zealand
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“West side possibly quieter, higher rooms may have a view.”
FoxburrNewZealand, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“There looked to be a very cool room at # 215 - ask for that to spoil yourself.”
HapiTraveller57, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great location in the centre of town.”
sideshowbob3, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check out the room before you move in.”
keithg126, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although the best room in the hotel there is noise from the port opposite. This did not detract from our level of sleep however.”
309margaretj, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$60* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$60
TravelocityUS$60
AMOMAUS$153
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates