We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aspen on King

Show Prices
#3 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aspen on King
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Aspen on King
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Terrible customer service, not friendly, unable to accommodate the little things, dont have a shower if you plan to wash your hair, shower pressure is below par. The people on the desk were unable to accomodateba change in sleeping arrangement, despite there being a foldout couch in the lounge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassloan
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologise you found us unfriendly and the customer service terrible – we understand it can be hard to feel like you are being treated with kindness when being faced with having the responsibility of paying for damaged items and having complaints made about you from other guests. When faced...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Our family spent one night in the Aspen Lodge 3 bdrm unit. There were a few negatives: It was extremely freezing in the unit when we arrived at 1pm, but luckily for us we were only dropping off luggage and leaving immediately so we just turned on both heatpumps and thankfully it was warm enough when we arrived back. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 288clares
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you found your room clean and spacious. We are also pleased you found the facilities and amenities to your liking. I’m sorry you found your room freezing when you arrived, our standard check in time is 2pm, we don’t tend to turn on heaters very early - unless we...

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here back at New Years and loved it especially the bathtub! Definitely my new favourite to stay at in Timaru. Also had a lovely chat with the owner about Christchurch while there. Also we were due to check in late at night due to work commitments and they were more than happy to arrange for us to check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice J
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Thank you so much Alice for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your room so much, including the spa bath! It's never a problem to arrange a late check in at all, and we like to make it as easy as we can for guests who are arriving later. We are so pleased you have chosen us as...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a family spa unit. Everything was clean and well kept. Room was toasty warm after our cold long drive and beds were very comfortable. Lovely lady on reception was knowledgeable on what to do whilst here and they also have an extensive DVD collection for guest usage free of charge which was good for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tee N
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you found everything clean and well kept - the team here at Aspen on King work very hard to keep our standards high. We are glad you found your room warm and that you were able to enjoy some of our DVD collection, it's very well used in the...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Booked 5 days in advance. Got there at 4pm and was treated to an upgrade to a room with a spa. Room was plenty big enough and we'll appointed with comfy seating, dinner table and kitchenette. Bed was large and very comfortable, with all important, great pillows. Bathroom huge, large vanity, wonderful shower and the spa! We found the accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meegs_23
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your room with the spa, and found our bed and pillows comfy. We are glad you found your room warm and quiet! We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind Regards, Corey and Dana

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 June 2016

As a place to stay on regular business trips Aspen on King has been great, it feels like a home away from home where the hosts are considerate, kind and very thoughtful. You feel cared for. There are comfortable, quiet, spacious rooms catering to a variety of options depending on your needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0nkey2016
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We understand that when you are often away from home the need to have a room that you can find comfortable and relax in is of the utmost importance. We strive to provide rooms that are exactly that - comfortable and relaxing. We are glad you feel...

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my two young sons on Saturday and Sunday of Queens Birthday weekend. I was thoroughly impressed with the spacious and clean two bedroom unit that we had for the two nights, it was a quiet location and the motel management was extremely friendly and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this establishment to all of my family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandakT4861PK
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Thank you kindly Amanda for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased you found your unit spacious, clean and quiet. We are thrilled you would recommend us so highly. We hope to have yourself and your boys stay again soon! Kind Regards, Corey and Dana

Whangamata, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights with my son and grandson. Found it noisy-other quests on the Sat night. Also not cleaned very well while we were out. Roomy enough, but does need refreshing. As we arrived found staff quite lacklustre. Very central location though and Botanical Gardens across the road is a big plus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise N
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Dear Marie-Louise, Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are glad you found our location and the spaciousness of your room a positive point. We strive to offer the best in accommodation and are very disappointed your stay did not meet your expectations. We apologise you found other guests noisy on Saturday night, if we were...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stayed here recently for a couple of nights as a business/leisure trip. We had a luxury one bedroomed unit on the ground floor at the back, which was spacious and very clean. The bathroom included a spa bath which we didn't use unfortunately. It was nice to have a place to relax with plenty of room. Only negative would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loopylady
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you found your room spacious and clean, and that you were able to relax. We are sorry you found our wardrobe space inadequate. The wardrobes in our luxury units were designed to give maximum space in the bedroom while still being functional. We are looking into the best way to...

melbourne
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Stayed in March 16 in a 'one bedroom unit' - which is one of the older refurbished rooms closer to the front of the complex, very comfortable and spacious (well kitchen and living room) - a giant flatscreen in the living space plus another in the bedroom might be a bit overkill but if thats your thing you'll love it!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hideyhole
Aspen o, Manager at Aspen on King, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you found the living room and kitchen comfortable and spacious. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy the bathroom facilities of your room. Our standard one bedroom unit was designed to maximise the spaces our guests will spend the most time enjoying. Next...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
245 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
83 reviews
0.3 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
3.1 km away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
61 reviews
2.7 km away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Aspen on King

Address: 51 King Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range: RM406 - RM500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aspen on King 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aspen on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen On King Timaru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aspen on King staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
10 months ago
Houston, Texas
australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Aspen on King staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose room away from stairs if you prefer privacy”
amanda00013, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms mean u don't have to carry your luggage upstairs and rooms at the back of the property are away from the road.”
jloPerth, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Has free WiFi”
NowMoreWellTravelled, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms would be great based on my experience”
dee-em, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem to be off the street”
  • Pots and pans plus stove and microwave oven.
  • Kitchen view.
  • Recycling bins - way to go Aspen and Timaru!
  • Complimentary coffee/tea and a plunger.
  • Toaster plus various utensils in the kitchen.
  • Lounge room + kitchenette.
  • Kitchen comes well equipped.
  • Lounge room and its small table and chairs.
eevis77, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5