We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Sky Hotel

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mountain Sky Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain Sky Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed one night. The hotel is adequate. The only room they had was in the basement. The window was above ground but you could see the bugs crawling on the ground at eye level. (We had made reservations a month ahead but most rooms were given to the bus tours). The room was adequate, average cleanliness. The desk staff...

Thank bluebuggy
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. The rooms in the basement are used as a last resort. We try to put bus drivers and tour guides there, if possible. The tour groups that do come in are usually people in their 60s-80s and their main level rooms are specifically requested. I also apologize for the front desk...

Flowery Branch, Georgia
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a room on the top floor, away firm main road and in the middle of the floor. It was quiet and we slept well. The front desk and staff were friendly, but the hotel could stand to be updated. It is a convent location as you can walk to the grocery and several places to eat.

Thank rprr02
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We do have plans to continue updating the amenities and facilities of our hotel. Being in a remote town, procuring goods at a reasonable price is near impossible. The furniture in the rooms are actually those from the Westin in Seattle. We are currently looking at updating the beds and TVs. Ideally both would...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family suite for two nights. They have a king bed and also a small room attached to it with a bunk bed. It can accommodate two adults and three children very easily. They didn't have breakfast included, but they offer a breakfast buffet in the restaurant/bar downstairs for $12. We didn't have the breakfast there but...

Thank K D
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello KD, Thank you for your review. The restaurant/bar is no longer in the hotel so the noise level should not be a problem. Any future restaurant that would come in will be required to soundproof the area. We had numerous incidents with the restaurant. Because they were in the hotel, many people thought it was part of the hotel....

Portland, OR
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Loud bar with live music. We stayed in a room right above the front desk and the sound travelled right into our room. Our two year old could not sleep. When I asked the guy at the front desk what time the music would be over he said around 10. He also told me that the bar is a separate...

Thank bretzelpdx
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I apologize that your 2 yr old could not get any sleep. If it's any consolation, the restaurant is no longer here. And, any future restaurant/bar that comes in will have to have the place soundproofed so this does not happen again. I wish a manager was called to issue a discount. If you do decide to stay with...

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed there 8/6/2013 and arrived during "trivia night" in the bar. It was very loud. There are no elevators so plan on hauling your bags up the stairs. The room was outdated and appeared like someone had already been sitting on the beds. The carpet was worn and appeared dirty but had to tell due to the brown and...

Thank BellaBugQH
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Carol, Thank you for your review. I agree that we have work to do. Previous management.. actually mismanagement of the property has led to many issues I must now deal with. I assure you that we have plans to remodel bathrooms and replace the carpet. Unfortunately it will not be done overnight. I hope you allow us to earn...

Bethesda MD
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Decent and convenient (although Valdez is tiny) hotel with friendly staff. Hard to believe that there was no elevator so we had to make several trips up and down to move our luggage and gear. Bathroom caulking has seen better days.

Thank DocLeJeune
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, none of the hotels in town have an elevator. If something were to go faulty, there is no qualified tech. Someone from Anchorage (if that) would have to fly-in or drive 6+ hours. We do currently have plans to remodel the bathrooms. Previous mismanagement has left me with a LONG list of things...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Mountain Sky hotel is centrally located in Valdez. The outside building is not very attractive and scares you off when you approach. However, the rooms were very reasonable. Check in procedure took some time with a lot of paperwork. While entering the room we noticed the high temperature and discovered the heating system was on full power, but no...

Thank Party v
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I apologize your stay with us was not stellar. Check-in should not have bombarded with paperwork. Were you on a self-tour through AK? I apologize that the front desk was not more sympathetic to your situation and I assume maintenance was gone for the day. We have addressed the issue and are currently switching and installing new thermostats. 2...

Houston, TX
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is only my second review on Trip Advisor in many years of travel. This place is so bad I had to report it on here to save people from the same experience I had. There is no A/C and the temperature outside is 85 degrees. This wouldn't be so bad except your window is open to a dirty gravel...

1Thank jc02
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for review. I apologize our hotel did not meet your expectations. We do not have air conditioning like 90% of the hotels in AK. Our summer temps rarely reach above 70 degrees. Unfortunately, you were in when we had record temps. I do agree the carpets look like they are from the 70's. Believe it or not,...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 27 July 2013

When I checked in I asked the clerk how long I could extend my checkout. I was told that 4:00 PM was the latest he could extend it without additional charges. I said that 4:00 PM would be satisfactory. The next day at 11:45 AM I received a call from the front desk saying if I didn't check out by...

1Thank Bob M
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bob, We apologize for not meeting your expectations. During the peak travel season, we rarely have rooms available for late checkout. Late check-out rates are listed on our sign-in sheets, but please allow me to look further into your stay. The restaurant you mentioned is a separate entity. They are no longer here inside the hotel. You came during...

Redding, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Located conveniently between harbor, groceries, museums. Breakfast buffet( extra charge) convenient and ample. Free coffee 24hrs. Staff friendly an helpful. Rooms are clean. Free wifi. Nothing special itself, but a good base for doing things that are special.

1Thank Jake D
Jason H, Manager at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jake, Thank you for your review! I am pleased your stay with us was pleasant. I hope you are able to stay with us again! Jason H

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (31)
View from Room (7)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Room/Suite (3)
Dining (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (1)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn
0.8 km away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
137 reviews
1.0 km away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
52 reviews
65.7 km away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#3 of 14 in Valdez
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the head of the Azure waters of the Prince William Sound, nestled beneath the Chugach Mountains - Mountain Sky Hotel & Suites is the perfect choice for the adventurous traveler and the home-away- from-home vacationer alike. Enjoy the largest standard rooms in the area with easy access to adventure and the stunning wildlife of the sound......... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Sky Hotel

Address: 100 Meals Ave, Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Price Range: RM518 - RM882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sky Valdez
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Sky Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Sky Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Keep looking of other places in Valdez. Maybe Air B&B”
 of 5 bubbles edwardp567, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Valdez is remote so don't expect too much and try to avoid rooms overlooking the car park which also catered for coaches and lorries.”
 of 5 bubbles shark939, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 214 is near the front desk which is handy but it is also near the ice machine at at 4 AM that can be a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles gfindlan, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles mommet, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the basement rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Urspeter, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates