We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Robberg Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Robberg Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Robberg Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 543: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am struggling to write this review as - like the Curate's Egg - it is good in parts. This place is a collection of properties now merged to create a B&B (although you can get an evening meal if requested in advance). Having read some of the reviews we were disappointed to discover that we were to be in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs S
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate that you have taken the time to highlight what we are doing right, as well as provide valuable feedback on where you feel we need to improve within our service and facilities offered at the lodge. The rooms you...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful position but a little too far out of town for me, beautiful rooms but the little things that give you a 5 star are missing! The management need to look at the rooms carefully and try to relax on your loungers with no cushions, not what I expect from 5 star.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. Please accept our apologies for the amenities that were not available to you during your stay as mentioned in your review, we appreciate that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention. We hope that you have traveled safely and...

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a suite but it was disappointing as it didn't have a sea view. The bathrooms were very dated and in need of an upgrade. The level of cleanliness was poor - hair on floor in bathroom- not ours!! The staff were very off hand. We ate in one night and the meal was very good but even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janetony2015
100roaringlions, General Manager at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate your valuable feedback on where we need to improve our services and facilities in order to avoid our guests leaving our lodge disappointed in future. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness of your room and bathroom, we understand that this...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The position is right on the beach, views in the morning of the surf. Food was excellent as were all the staff, liked the touch of tea,coffee and cakes available in the restaurant area during the day.The bar operates an honesty book.Modern and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your positive feedback on our wonderful staff and the meals prepared for you too. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon...

Chatteris England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impressions on arrival were not good! However inside you see a totally different situation. The rooms are very large clean with large bathroom area. Staff are friendly and helpful with good food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dicksie
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you have had a pleasant experience and that our staff and service during your stay has been a highlight for you as you look back on your stay. We hope that you have traveled home safely and we...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am not sure if I am doing this a slight injustice as we stayed here in between two of the most fantastic hotels I have stayed in. We were here for 4 nights and booked the two suites in the Beach Lodge. Both of these were lovely rooms and on the surface looked perfect. However in a 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginlip
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate your positive feedback on our staff, service, and meals prepared by our chef during your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodation too, the views from these rooms truly are breathtaking. We would...

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had only booked a one night stay at the Robberg hotel during our garden route holiday but we wished we had booked a longer stay. We stayed in guest room R3 - a great room. The location is excellent for a beach break and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntO4430EV
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed every second of the unique seaside experience we offer. It warms our hearts to hear that our staff and service have made such a wonderful impression too, as excellent service is what...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the Robberg Beach Lodge and enjoyed it very much. The reception was very friendly and explained us very detailed what to expect. Our laundry was ready next morning what we appreciated very much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank udos43
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your positive feedback in your review. Please do visit again soon! Best wishes, The Bailey Family & The Robberg Team.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property comprises about 4 separate buildings, we were in cottage pie, and our room was enormous. A lovely en suite and big bedroom with TV and WIFI. Lovely gardens and the views along the coast were amazing. Plett beach is very long and sandy and a walk along it taking 30 minutes strolling will take you to the town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vap88
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that there are only positive memories to recall as you look back on your stay with us at The Robberg. It warms our hearts to hear that our wonderful staff and service have been mentioned in your review too. We hope that we will have the pleasure...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in February and it was just wonderful.At first we had a room in the Cottage Pie at the back of the hotel.Work was being carried out on our second day but we were moved to a front room with veranda and sea view.Both rooms were very comfortable and clean.Breakfast was nice,we also had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mclaren095
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. It warms our hearts to hear that you have enjoyed every second of the seaside experience we offer and that our staff and service are a highlight for you too as you look back on your stay. Thank you for your...

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
518 reviews
5.7 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
506 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
130 reviews
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
787 reviews
7.4 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: RM248 - RM1,121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom
Spokane, Washington
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms have beach views so ask on arrival”
  • Bedroom in our suite
  • Balcony area, beware of the ants
  • Lounge area in our suite
 of 5 bubbles tcgw, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“seaview might be okay, the poolside garden rooms are very run down”
  • puplic toilette at the pool
 of 5 bubbles Bebedikta12, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The two suites in Cottage Pie are very nice but no sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 619mrss, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles janetony2015, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lifts, some rooms have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles vap88, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5