We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Plettenberg Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Plettenberg Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Plettenberg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 408: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Can't agree more with all the superlatives written below. Every word is true. The Hotel is of the highest 5 stars standrads. Its views, rooms, amneties, food, etc. I will also praise the hospitality and service. They strive to perfection, and achive it. We recommend strongly staying at this Hotel if you are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronniepeleg
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. Thank you for the high praise, much appreciated! Hopefully you are planning a trip back one day. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2015

High standard 5* plus hotel. When you view hotels on the internet or in a brochure you know that they use good photography & select the best rooms to be advertised. So when we arrived at the hotel I was a little anxious as to whether it would live up to my expectations. As soon as we arrived the service... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judrop
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting this amazing review. We really appreciate the time you took to give us such wonderful feedback. Congratulations again on your wedding anniversary and glad we could make it special for you. We hope to welcome you back for your next anniversary! Kind Regards, Annemie More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2015

After a long dusty day of a motorcycle road trip this was just what the doctor ordered! Our check in was charming and staff did not bat an eyelid - even to my dreadful helmet hair! This is a definite 5 star experience from check in to check out. The bathroom was fantastic and a long soak in the tub... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlanJL61
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

What wonderful feedback! So happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, including the restaurant. You are always welcome at the Plettenberg. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We have just spent six days in late March at the hotel. A better base for our honeymoon, we could not have asked for. We were upgraded to a sea view suite which made such a difference to the experience. Thank you for a wonderful surprise when we returned from dinner on our first night. It meant a lot to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J5JRY
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. & Mrs. York, Congratulations again on your marriage. Very happy to hear that we have added to your honeymoon memories. We hope to welcome you back on your 1st anniversary! Kind Regards, Annemie Parker More 

Menlo Park, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the Plettenberg Hotel at the conclusion of our 2 week visit to South Africa. It was perfect! The hotel is beautifully run, the rooms are spacious and well furnished, and the location is stunning. The views of the beach and ocean are first rate, and the 2 infinity pools are inviting. Our family all agreed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol O
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much for giving us such great feedback! Wonderful to hear that you had a great time with us. We hope to welcoming you back some day. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2015

stayed there for 2 nights at a cost of R7600 .p.n.... toilet in the cupboard, carpets worn and tatty and filthy. on complaining the Manager who really tried to be helpful offered us their so called "top room" which she said was R10000 pn, did not ask us to pay for this - what a dysfunctional room... other than the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank agios2015
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

I am devastated to hear that we did not meet your expectations of the Plettenberg Hotel at all. We take all our feedback good or bad to heart and will certainly look into all the feedback that you have provided. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and hope that you will perhaps give us the opportunity... More 

Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We stayed for three nights in January as part of our three week tour of South Africa. Whilst the Plettenberg Hotel is not inexpensive by South African standards, you get what you pay for. The service we received here was first class, from the assistance with parking through to the advice and guidance on where to go in the area.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank elliott1906
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. So wonderful to hear that all my staff went the extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable. I agree with you, we are blessed with a beautiful setting. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Just spent the last 4 days of our first trip to South Africa at this Hotel and have to say it was the perfect end to a great holiday. We were in the luxury sea view room which was as stunning as was the view from it. Great staff great hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Rob E
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

So happy to hear that the Plettenberg was the perfect end to your first trip to South Africa. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to SA and Plett. Kind Regards, Annemie Parker More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We stayed two nights at the Plett as part of a garden route trip and apart from the fact it rained whilst we were there couldn't really fault the hotel at all. It is in two buildings across the road from each other in a cul de sac which is the hotels car park, we stayed across the road from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peterhug27
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

It is always wonderful to receive such great feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We really are situated in a little piece of heaven and one can never get tired of the beauty that surrounds us. Would be lovely to welcome you back some day! Kind Regards, Annemie More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2015

we spent 2 nights in one of the Villas of the hotel since we were a family of 7. beautifully appointed rooms, very beachy feel. we went off season so it wasn't swimming weather but I would love to go back one summer. food in the hotel restaurant was great. staff very friendly and super helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Shelly W
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Wonderful that you enjoyed your stay at the Plettenberg in our secret season. We hope that you get the opportunity to come back in summer. Kind Regards, Annemie More 

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
590 reviews
6.9 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
469 reviews
1.7 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
706 reviews
9.4 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
197 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: RM1,098 - RM2,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plettenberg Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wyoming

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Plettenberg Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ensure you have a room overlooking the Indian Ocean. Fabulous views.”
 of 5 bubbles robinmL3688EZ, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was in the annex across from the main hotel but the situation of the room was good with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Pamls13, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, but ocean view are best”
 of 5 bubbles bushandsea, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed in both the annex and main hotel and preferred the main hotel, however both were equally quiet with wonderful sea views”
 of 5 bubbles davinat2013, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay as long as possible... What a find!”
 of 5 bubbles AwayWeGo2016789, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay