We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beacon Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Beacon Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

813 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 800: English reviews
Start your review of Beacon Island Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We are thoroughly enjoying our stay here. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and clean. The staff are professional and friendly. The variety of food is great, and the entertainment throughout the day is a nice diversion from staring out to sea. Kids are loving the entertainment area and meeting new friends. The only gripe is they used "allways on"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wtfuss
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear wtfuss Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are currently looking at simplifying the wi-fi process and hope to get this resolved soon. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and...

Patensie, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Trying to get a booking at the Resort for ages, this vacation was worth waiting for!!! It was one of the most amazing and memorable times of my life. Amazing food, outstanding service, friendly staff and the setting.....oh my word !!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 276kf
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear 276kf Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family ,with 2 kids thoroughly enjoyed our week stay at the resort,Entertainment was provided for the kids so adults were able to relax. We had super weather so we were able to spend most of the time on the beach and in the heated pools.We were able to secure a late booking so were very fortunate as it was...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip T
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Phillip T Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Family of 5 what a win! A great holiday with everything on tap. The staff couldn't do enough for us and we certainly enjoyed every moment. Even not the day it rained there was full on entertainment. A great resort.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peter L Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located on a small beach area surrounded by natural rocks and the ocean this hotel is in a prime spot. Often one can spot the dolphins swim by as also the kayaks and paddlers. Excellent pool facilities and meal service at pool area. Comfortable rooms, small gym, table tennis and loads of entertainment for both small children and adults. The...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Love618
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Love618 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our week at Beacon Island met all expectations. The staff, from the first welcome from the entry man who issued our parking ticket, were warm and smiling and genuine, and nothing was too much trouble. One suggestion - you could provide duvets rather than sheets tucked tightly round sides and bottom of the bed, and also we did not think...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Errol M
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Errol M Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The Timeshare units are sold as 2 single beds but should a guest request a king bed then the beds are converted into a king....

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is equal to world wide resorts but the hotel lacks the sparkle in being equal to the offering of similar locations world wide.This is predominantly a "family" time share hotel where repeat visits are undertaken, the sparkle is lacking and the establishment must not bank on the location.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfreda K
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Alfreda K Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. I am disappointed to read that we didn't meet your expectations and that you found that we have lost our sparkle. We shall do our...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely week with family and friends. Very suitable for families with young children in school holidays. Food in all restaurants was excellent except sushi was very average. All food a big improvement from last year. Each night brought difference cuisine. Heated pool a big plus. Friendly and helpful staff. Many day outings and attractions. Spa on par with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrinhvd
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Katrinhvd Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed at the Beacon Island Resort for the last 3 years. We will return again with out a doubt. This was extra special for me this time as I chose Beacon Island Resort to wake up on my 70th Birthday. On returning to our beautiful room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Janet C Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. A 70th Birthday is a must to celebrate, it was a honor to have you celebrate this special day with us. We are truly delighted...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you ever have the privilage of traveling to South Africa, Plett is a MUST on your to-do list! There is so much to do with many excellent restaurants and the Beacon Isle resort is situated on the waters edge offering the most amazing views. If you are lucky you will spot the dolphins gliding past and surfing waves on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raymond G
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Raymond G Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. It certainly reads that you had a busy and exciting holiday. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
678 reviews
5.9 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
517 reviews
1.1 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
103 reviews
9.6 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: RM130 - RM2,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6th Floor facing the Pool area. Sunny view”
B8721BUjanetc, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with numbers between 11-19 get full sun in the afternoon”
lisakellyrigg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request balcony with ocean views”
JenniK488, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can request sea facing or rooms with a balcony... what ever your preference.”
lynnebodoh, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked Robbery beach and it was perfect.”
Thesavages, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates