We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whalesong Hotel & Spa

112 reviews
Save
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good29%
  • Average26%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (112)Write a Review
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
12
23
22
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
12
23
22
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelexcellent restaurantbath and showerbreakfast buffetstayed here for nightsgarden route tripspacious roomsminute drivebeautiful beachsouth africabalconycoastlineplettlagoon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling for four weeks through South Africa and this hotel was a quite a bad choice. The location is quite poor as you overlook the highway N2; although you will see in the distance the sea.... The whole hotel including the rooms and...More

Thank Daniel Z
Response from Bridget V, Public Relations Manager at Whalesong Hotel & SpaResponded 1 week ago

Good Day Daniel Z, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Whalesong Hotel & Spa. We strive to create a truly legendary experience for all our guests and apoliogize that your experience was not made of this. We are concerned about...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is about 1,5 km from the towncenter but has a nice view of the bay etc. There is a small pool with nice view as well as the restaurant. The restaurant only has limited selection of food. The rooms are with balcony and...More

Thank Kim J
Response from Bridget V, client liason at Whalesong Hotel & SpaResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Day Kim J Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your stay at Whalesong hotel & Spa. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Nice room but there wasn’t iron, hair dryer and ar conditioning.. They do charge you 55 rands for the breakfast buffet and if you want eggs they charge extra.. that was awful! They could put 50 rands more in the price of the hotel and...More

Thank Iv S
Response from Bridget V, client liason at Whalesong Hotel & SpaResponded 13 January 2018

Morning Iv S Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at whalesong hotel & spa. We are delighted to read that you had a legendary stay and enjoyed the rooms. It is important to note that our rates are based on the...More

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We were a little concerned to read the negative recent reviews posted but on arrival these concerns were quickly alleviated. Large refurbished room with nice modern decor, comfy bed with good thread white cotton sheets, aircon that worked and large ensuite bathrooms with bath and...More

Thank cjwinthesun
Response from Bridget V, client liason at Whalesong Hotel & SpaResponded 13 January 2018

Good day cjwinthesun Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Whalesong hotel & spa. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your wonderful comments regarding the hotel and staff have been passed onto the whalesong team. We do hope to...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We came to plettenberg for a family beach holiday, adbon arrival to the hotel, were greeted with such a delightful reception. We were handed the keys to our rooms, and we didnt walk far to our rooms. We walked past the pool on the way...More

Thank Max V
Response from Bridget V, client liason at Whalesong Hotel & SpaResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Max V Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Whalesong Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Whalesong Team. We look forward to welcoming you...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345616
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Room Service
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$69 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$69 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Whalesong Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Heated blankets during winter."
Read review
"Clean the room before your guests arrive."
Read review
"Add complementary cool drinks rather than one bottle of water."
Read review
"wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing