We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bayview Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The cost of staying at the hotel was not worth what we got in return. Our shower had no curtain and on top of that, we had no bath towels. They said they would take half an hour because they had not been dried yet (this was at about 8 at night). We never ended up reviving the towels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cg20172017
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we can only apologies for your poor experience. This should never have happened and the towel constraint will be addressed. Kind Regards Bayview Hotel

Italian Riviera, Italy
Reviewed 9 January 2017

No air conditioner and over priced for the rooms ,definitely does not deserve it's star rating and for what we paid there was no breakfast included , it is situated in such a prime position and in such a beautiful part of South Africa that one would expect special interest in satisfying people who visit and spend good money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U3248CIrobertos
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are blessed with our wonderful location and are working on upgrading the hotel as soon as possible. Kind Regards Bayview Hotel

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I travelled to Plettenberg Bay with a colleague of mine. The Bayview Hotel is in a fantastic location, and we had a very comfortable stay. It was convenient, the view was great and I would definitely go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J4607NPjohne
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you had such a comfortable stay and enjoyed our fantastic location. We hope to welcome you back soon! The Bayview Hotel Team

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Friendly staff , excellent location - short walk to restaurants/bars . Good stop for touring the area. Safe parking. Spacious and clean room. Could be noisy with people leaving early morning. Very good local beaches.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel! As you mentioned, we are right in the heart of Plett, close to everything you will need, including the beaches. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Bayview Hotel

Reviewed 30 October 2016

The Bayview Hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of town and has easy access to all the main road restaurants. Everything one needs is within walking distance. The rooms are clean and of fair size, and the beds are comfortable. It has an in house restaurant where you can enjoy breakfast. lunch & dinner if you decide to dine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amarok2
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. As you have pointed out, the hotels central location, onsite restaurant and reasonably priced rooms makes it a great accommodation choice. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Very pleasant hotel, centrally situated. Rooms clean, price on Booking.com seemed fair for two rooms but no breakfast included. My husband joined us last minute and the supplement they charged for him to share my room, exhorbitant. Far too expensive in the end with no breakfast included they could not even replenish the morning coffee sachets staff not interested either...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 265penelopel
Dublin
Reviewed 8 August 2016

If you want something in the centre of Plett Bay, near restaurants and bars, this hotel is fine. However, definitely the least 'wow' of all the accommodation we stayed in in SA. And it's not recommended you walk around in the evenings anyway, so you end up getting taxis in the evening anyway. Basic and clean and in the centre,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trinash
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Man it is great staying at the Bayview. Friendly staff, nice in town and nothing is to much for all the staff to do or go the extra mile. Near the beach and good restaurants. Shopping is great in Plettenbergbay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helma13
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Good location on the Main Street, close to all the amenities, shops and restaurants. Comfortable good size double bedroom with a view. There is restaurant located right next to the hotel reception, and parking is no problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ENaidoo
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location is excellent for both being close to the beach, shops and restaurants, as you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sydney
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I found the Bayview Hotel by a recommendation from friends who live in Plettenberg Bay. I only wanted 2 nights but the hotel was so nice I should have stayed a week. It is quite small, but in a excellent position, and most importantly, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My room had all the extras...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob2012Sydney

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.9 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
74 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
665 reviews
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
790 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
1.3 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: RM248 - RM1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bayview Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
SOUTH AFRICA
8 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was facing on the main road and in busy times like plett rage the street might be very noisy. Ask for a quiet room during busy times.”
 of 5 bubbles RiesCor, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Amarok2, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room facing Main Street have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ENaidoo, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a Bay view are excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles Bob2012Sydney, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“great view from the penthouse”
 of 5 bubbles onsstee, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5