We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bayview Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The hotel is very nice, just needs a bit of TLC. We had a wonderfull time there. we only stayed 1 night but we loved it very much. We stayed at the penthouse with the most beautifull view of the ocean and the lake. Thank you for making my holliday special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onsstee
United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Position is excellent. Staff friendly BUT rooms looking very tired. Bathroom not cleaned properly....hair all over the floor!! No milk supplied for in room tea or coffee. On booking.com website it boasts airconditioning - there isn't any. Would not like to be in here in the Summer months. The owners need to spend a night in their own hotel. Happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veekayhay
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your room. I hope you brought this to the managers attention and these issues could be rectified while you were still there. Our website and Booking.com advertise our rooms as having fans and heating. We are a 3 star established...

Goodwood Cape Town
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Loved the place, staff very helpful and friendly, Laundromat across the road to the left. Fantastic service. Not impressed with the Bistro on the ground floor, pricey and did not enjoy my starter or mains. Will definitely go back to stay when in Plettenberg Bay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 57Belinda12
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our location and staff are two elements that we pride ourselves on. Being based where we are, we are in walking distance of numerous restaurants to meet all tastes. We look forward to welcoming you back! Bayview Hotel Management

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The location was perfect and the staff were so helpful. If we had a reason to be in Plettenberg Bay again would think about this hotel. Easy access to everything. Staff were extremely helpful. Would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliMack_12
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 19 March 2016

All hotel - members and the manager are very, very friendly and polite. They help prompt when you are on the way to your next town. Also, if you have had a problem with your car the employees will help even.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank horstro
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

We had two nights booked but left after the first. We were on a road trip so wasn't expecting anything fancy, but this hotel was dark and dingy. Tv which was 10000 years old. Dirty carpet and an awful shower. Staff were okay but the rooms let the hotel Down

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charbeaumont
Cate G, Director of Sales at Bayview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Our 3 star property is constantly being improved upon bit by bit. We are busy replacing all the old TV's with flat screens. Level by level the carpets are being replaced (even though they are cleaned regularly) and the bathrooms are on the...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

This place is value for money. The room was more than enough for what i needed. The bed was comfortable the room and bathroom was clean. They offer free wifi. Close to restaurants and shops. And by far the cheapest in plett. I was there before and i will come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leraffy
Leipheim, Germany
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I had a feeling that this hotel is slowly getting stale and the staff just seem to plod through the working hours, our room was very small and the double bed could have been bigger but one must consider this is in a holiday area so they have a short, quick turn around. The best thing about the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
Uhldingen Muhlhofen, Germany
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Rooms are a little bit small but with a nice view on the beach. Very friendly owners. A car should be available to get to the town. We had a nice breakfast with the view on the garden / beach. Clean bath.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 228haraldg
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

A friend called , he and his party had checked in and were feeling ill upon arrival in Plett They were desperate for medical assistance They went off to the Mediclinic and left on their travels thereafter BUT ALAS Passports and cash etc had been left in the safe!! They called the hotel, spoke to the GM EXPLAINING their dilemma...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham e

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.9 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
75 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
665 reviews
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
1.3 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayview Hotel is privately owned and managed by an efficient and friendly team. It is situated in the heart of the village and is a mere stroll to the beach. One can enjoy Continental and Full English Breakfasts, or a sun downer overlooking the splendour of the Keurbooms River and the Robberg Peninsula.The Bayview boasts 38 en-suite rooms with breathtaking views of the magnificent coastline. The Bayview is well known for its convenient business and conference facilities, and it is equipped with all the necessary amenities needed to ensure the success of your function. For your convenience, the Bayview is open 24 hours per day and offers private parking facilities. Our team will be able to assist you with recommendations on activities you may wish to partake in i.e. tailor - made diving excursions, fishing, hiking, sailing, bird watching, bungi jumping, whale and dolphin watching, all in close proximity to the Bayview. Banking facilities, boutiques, art galleries and shopping malls are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: RM239 - RM1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Despegar.com so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bayview Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
SOUTH AFRICA
9 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was facing on the main road and in busy times like plett rage the street might be very noisy. Ask for a quiet room during busy times.”
 of 5 bubbles RiesCor, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Amarok2, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room facing Main Street have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ENaidoo, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a Bay view are excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles Bob2012Sydney, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“great view from the penthouse”
 of 5 bubbles onsstee, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5