We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bella Manga Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Manga Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Manga Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 11 August 2016

A lovely find out of the maddening crowd, this is Bella Manga Forest Resort. A perfect place for a detox of our ever present electronic age of T.V. and computers. A heavenly place were one can enjoy nature at it's quietest. Brilliant "Starscape" as very little light pollution. A place of peace and tranquillity. On the downside I do acknowledge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael John H
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

After reading through some of these comments i though let it be my turn. We are from port elizabeth and booked a forest cabin. The main house is very beautiful and where we stayed really wasnt bad especially for the price. Everything was in working order but i have too agree with one of the other comment. The kettle was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi B
Reviewed 12 June 2016

One of the best places we have ever stayed and we cannot wait for our return in Summer. Being close to nature and breaking away from the City life is what Bella Manga is all about. Amazing place for bird watching, too many indigenous species spotted to mention here, even a pair of very curious Knysna Loeries! The two dogs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heinrich C
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review

Thanks Guys, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and you "got it"!!! Yes we are a bush getaway and sanctuary not a boutique hotel. You are welcome back any time.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Situated in the uplands about a 15 minute drive from Plettenberg Bay and close to the excellent Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve. Lovely surroundings at this beautiful 150 year old Manor house. We spent 2 very comfortable nights in one of the cottages in spite of no electricity because of a major breakdown in the region. No fault of the owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ursula L
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Tranquil surroundings and breathtaking views are the order of the day in a perfect blend of comfort and country at the beautiful Bella Manga. The self-catering cottages were clean, homely and had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend away. Our children loved the walks through the farmlands, spotting cows along the way and feeding the horses. One of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkHarris27
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We spent a weekend in one of the forest lodges which was well equipped. We enjoyed the absence of television with just the sounds of nature around us. Unfortunately our stay was not long enough to fit in a hike, which we would have enjoyed. The surroundings are quite beautiful and peaceful. Fiona was very friendly and accommodating. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renew1
Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I booked a weekend away for 4 people in a 4 star self catering forest lodge via a local e-commerce company. On arrival at reception we were met by the owners who, in my opinion, were very rude. I feel they have no customer relation skills and their continuous comments about their non-racist dogs did not go off well with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AvidTravels101
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review

We have been running Bellamanga Country House for more than 12 years and we find your remarks very unjust. At the time of your visit we were a four-star graded guest house with un-graded forest lodges, they are rustic and in a very safe and secure area. These lodges are for people who prefer peace and quiet, an experience with...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place Bella Manga is with stunning surroundings and rondavels. We spent 2 nights there where unfortunately it rained 90%of the time which we do know is a natural occurrence. However, that said, on arrival we could not get into the premises despite ringing the entry bell for an extended period. Eventually had to resort to phoning to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Q
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Bellamanga Country House. I find it difficult to believe that you were kept waiting at the gate as we normally hear the gate ring in the house and then the gate would have been opened for you and either Ray or myself would come out straight away to greet...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

This was our second stay at Ray & Fiona's beautiful Country house. This time we had our 6month old daughter with us. We had a lovely stay. Ray & Fiona are very warm and welcoming. The estate is very well taken care of and the accommodation is clean and comfortable. It's a peaceful place for some good R&R. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Good2GoTravelers
Strand, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We were given a two day stay in a self-catering unit as a gift from a good friend. We had to change our dates once as my wife just had an operation including a second procedure that went wrong and later became infected, necessitating the need to change our date, Fiona was very accommodating with this. We finally arrived after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lotsaluv
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review

What a shame you didn't enjoy your stay at our little piece of Paradise Derrick. It wouldn't have taken a lot for you to communicate with us about your problems ie the shower issue!! We would have gladly put you into the other unit where there is a shower but we are not mind-readers. We were happy to see you...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
9.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
67 reviews
11.8 km away
La Boheme B&B
La Boheme B&B
#65 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
46 reviews
15.9 km away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#21 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
12.4 km away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#10 of 66 in Plettenberg Bay
223 reviews
12.5 km away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 9 in The Crags
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just 8 minutes drive from a Jeep or horse-back safari at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve or a mere 15 minutes drive to Plett's sandy beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions. Our accomodation holds something for every pocket with our thatched en-suite African rondavels, garden rooms or suites and Colonial Rooms in the Manorhouse Three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country House

Address: | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: RM285 - RM417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bella Manga Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bella Manga Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are also self-catering chalets,”
 of 5 bubbles 315vidas, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“B& b rooms are the nicest”
 of 5 bubbles patricklorrainec, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any of the cottages have a nice outlook”
 of 5 bubbles naebee01, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you enjoy sleeping late do not have a room at the bird aviary as the budgies wake early and chatter noisily. We did not mind the chatter”
 of 5 bubbles ursulaL343, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a shower.”
 of 5 bubbles lotsaluv, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay