We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hacklewood Hill Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hacklewood Hill Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of Hacklewood Hill Country House
 Click to rate
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night before our flight home, loved the house and setting, the rooms were stunning with all the necessary facilities, the staff were helpful and friendly, food was fantastic had evening meal and breakfast, very good, would recommend to anyone sorry we had not stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for just 1 night before our flight to Jo' burg the next morning. situated in a suburban area and very convenient for the airport. A Victorian Manor with lots of character. Huge bedroom and bathroom with period furnishings. Nice dinner with 3 choices of starter, main and desert. The usual breakfast with cooked options. A very characterful country...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank familywilliams2017
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and commendations on our team.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night in Hacklewood Hill Country House which proved to be a charming old style house in a quiet location. The service was good and the food was also good but the property was rather tired and was in need of some investment to bring it up to date. If the investment was made this could really be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntate77
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hacklewood, and for your valued feedback. Admittedly it has been a long season (though no excuse), but I assure you that we will be tackling our problem areas over the next few weeks.

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant food experience with the finest dining out. Hacklewood still remains the best in PE. I have eaten at virtually every restaurant in Port Elizabeth and still find that eating at this establishment is simply the best

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T3477XGtimb
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hacklewood's restaurant plays a very import part of our guest experience, and it's always great when it gets a special mention.

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has the feel of a bygone era, old style decor and furnishings compliment the age of the grand old house that is Hacklewood Hill Country House. The rooms are large, very well appointed, have all the services you need and beautifully furnished. We dined in on our 1 night stay and the food was very high quality and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review...So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Mossel Bay
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The entire experience (booking, feedback, staff, meals, room, bathroom) was outstanding. You will never believe you are in the middle of a city. So near, yet so far away. The staff was very friendly and quick to suggest "to-do" things in Port Elizabeth. The menu and food caters to all tastes and is something that must be enjoyed at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marius v
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation on our property and it's restuarant.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We will definitely stay again. The accommodation was wonderful unfortunately we could not book the restaurant (which was highly recommended by locals and travellers) as we had a big party of 10 and we had not given them enough warning, however we will return to experience it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 87pat
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Chepstow
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were met before we had time to park the car and the luggage immediately taken up to our room. The greeting could not have been better. The room was spacious and furnished in keeping with the age of the House. The luxurious, relaxing atmosphere was just what we wanted after a very long flight from the UK. The food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandjChepstow
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

So glad we could make your first night in South Africa a fantastic one.

Guildford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

South Africa held many surprises for us and one of them was the quality of their guest houses. This one was fantastic, a period house which has been lovingly restored and adapted into luxury guest accommodation. It also has a fabulous (and, I believe, award-winning) restaurant which served up food that could rival many swanky and more expensive restaurants. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your outstanding review. We really appreciate being appreciated.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

what a wonderful suggestion from Trailfinders to stay our last night in South Africa.. we had the wonderful truly spacious Madiba Room and experienced an incredible evening meal with a really superb wine chosen form their wonderful cellar. Jeremy is a really unique chef with a very light touch . Would heartily recommend and the staff are truly amazing. Can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
HacklewoodGM, General Manager at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation and I will pass on your praise to Jeremy.

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
7.3 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
447 reviews
8.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
8.6 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
7.3 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
403 reviews
5.7 km away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1898, and nestled in a lush English garden setting in the leafy suburb of Walmer, Hacklewood Hill is one of the few remaining Victorian Manor Houses in the city, and as such retains much of the elegance and grace it would have boasted when its first inhabitants – a young doctor and his family – once lived here. Guests are greeted with intricately stained glass doors, gleaming wooden floors and the gentle sheen of wooden banisters lovingly buffed and polished for more than a century. Wandering around the house’s two reception rooms, your eye naturally gravitates from one fascinating period piece to another. A black and white checkerboard tiled veranda overlooks a sparkling swimming pool, perfect for leisurely dips on hot summer days – while the well-established garden beckons for a quiet stroll or perhaps even a civilised game of croquet on the lawn. The more energetic can opt for a gentlemanly game of tennis or just choose a secluded spot in the garden to enjoy the abundant birdlife which calls the grounds of Hacklewood home. The manor house’s eight luxury en suite rooms which are equally as enticing, especially as each so perfectly captures the essence of the Victorian Age. Each is individually decorated in palettes ranging from pastel blues and rose bedecked pinks to more masculine browns and reds. As a result, each room has its own unique character and returning guests will enjoy experiencing them all, and will, no doubt, be loath to pick a favourite at the end. In order to truly experience Hacklewood Hill at the height of its stately Victorian glory, guests need to make a point of opting for at least one dinner at the house’s five star restaurant. The dining room’s magnificent chandelier lights, to full perfection the cut glass, crystal goblets, starched linen and full silver service on the tables below, while superbly trained waiters serve a splendid array of cordon bleu dishes that emanate from the kitchen. Little wonder that the restaurant has garnered itself a slew of fine dining awards and has become a firm favourite on the Port Elizabeth dining scene – not only for its exquisite dinners, but also full English breakfasts, High Tea's and light lunches. For a thoroughly enjoyable trip back to a time when days were long and unhurried, furnishings were beautiful and handmade, and every meal was an occasion to use only the best china and silverware, guests need look no further than Hacklewood Hill Country House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacklewood Hill Country House

Address: 152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: RM629 - RM970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacklewood Hill Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacklewood Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacklewood Hill Country House Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hacklewood Hill Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hacklewood Hill Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room on ground floor includes a quiet porch with two chairs and a table in the garden”
 of 5 bubbles vona467, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Madiiba room - truly supern”
 of 5 bubbles Anthonyhblake, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are stunningly elegant”
 of 5 bubbles andrenamurdoch, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be very nice, with special atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles Ballner, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think all the rooms are good, but you could state your preference (ground floor or second floor) when making a booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Mietie, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5