We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Windermere by Mantis

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Windermere by Mantis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Windermere by Mantis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 April 2016

The rooms are big and spacious and all the rooms have balconies. Staff is friendly and willing to assist whenever and always just a call away. The location is excellent and within walking distance from the beach and most take away chains and restaurants, if you want to walk. I definitely will recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beulah L
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Vast rooms (the biggest I have ever experienced anywhere), superior breakfasts, gracious, competent and friendly staff - and surprisingly quiet. The bathroom is also wonderfully appointed and gracious. A stellar hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bostonkiwi17
Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2016

5th STOP: Port Elizabeth, South Africa. The only reason we stopped in PE was to visit family. We stayed one night in a Suite at the Windermere Hotel, which turned out to be a very acceptable oasis in the midst of somewhat less upscale looking hotels and apartments in the area. It is also minutes from the airport from which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zippy22
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Spent 7 nights at the Windermere in March 2016. Our room was in effect a suite, massive bathroom and dressing room, separate bedroom with huge comfortable bed. The gardens are lovely. Very African, shady green areas for outside sitting, big comfortable sofas to relax under a covered veranda. A plunge pool and the sound of trickling water. Just loved it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances F
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Very friendly staff, beautiful setting and stunning rooms! Very accommodating and helpful people. Great food and homely atmosphere, will definitely return for another stay... Will recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Port Elizabeth :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 267anelv
New Zealand
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a night prior to flying out of Port Elizabeth. We didn't get in until late afternoon and decided to take a light meal at the hotel. Even though there were only a few options on the menu the food was really nicely prepared and we enjoyed sitting in the beautiful oasis that in the internal courtyard. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikl
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Visited this fabulous establishment as part of a whistle stop tour of South Africa. Unfortunately for my wife and I we only stayed for one night. The standard of the accommodation is very high, lovely grounds, superb room and facilities and very attentive staff. We were made most comfortable by all involved in running this very professional business. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philsmith2188
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Dear Phil - thank you kindly for your complimentary review. So Happy that you enjoyed the short time you had here with us and that we added to the wonderful memories you have of your South African holiday!. We too are disappointed that you had only one night here at The Windermere but you never know, you may get the...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We only stayed one night at the Windermere but could not fault it. The rooms were large, well appointed and very comfortable. Fabulous shower! The staff could not have been more accommodating especially with a late check-out. We would definitely recommend this small hotel to friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HilbeeG
Toccoa, Georgia
Reviewed 12 February 2016

This is the second time we have visited Port Elizabeth and our second stay at Windermere. We have been very pleased on both our stays with the courtesy, professionalism, and skill of the staff in making our time very comfortable and relaxing. The room is spacious and well-appointed, the breakfast is delicious and perfectly presented, and we will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Lovely room, great location, close to Port Elizabeth Airport, super staff and a cracking English Breakfast, wish we could have stayed longer hopefully we will be back, would highly recommend this hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulineM1951
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline for taking the time to post such a lovely review - we to hope that the both of you will be back again one day soon to visit. Trust that the rest of your holiday was all that you imagined and that you took home lots of wonderful memories. Kind regards Caroline

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.6 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
448 reviews
3.0 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.5 km away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
275 reviews
1.5 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windermere by Mantis is a luxury boutique hotel, conveniently situated in the popular beachfront suburb of Humewood, Port Elizabeth. Offering guests an authentic, year round beach holiday feel, we invite you to kick off your shoes and relax in easy-living comfort. At The Windermere, we've taken the boutique hotel experience back to basics, where our focus is on the well-being of our guests. Our warm welcomes are genuine, our smiles are sincere, and our guests are made to feel immediately at home. Of course, you can still look forward to all the classic comforts and amenities expected of an upmarket establishment, along with the exceptional service that has become synonymous with the Mantis Group. Enjoy complimentary afternoon refreshments at the poolside, unwind on your private terrace, or relax in the courtyard with undercover patio - the heart of our hotel. Share a drink at the bar with like-minded guests, or take a walk to the beach, which is just a stone's throw away. To add to the homely atmosphere, familiar home cooked meals are available to order off our light meals menu. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, The Windermere by Mantis is the ideal base for visitors to Port Elizabeth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windermere by Mantis

Address: 35 Humewood Rd | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: RM618 - RM702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windermere by Mantis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, South African Hotels, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Windermere by Mantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windermere by Mantis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only saw one room but others have shared that the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles Zetat0urs, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't be fooled when you drive up. Walk into the place and you'll be very surprised. Don't judge a book by the cover.”
 of 5 bubbles 286paynem, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“i always like a room with a view, so try to get the middle top room.”
 of 5 bubbles 660beulahl, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The wifi works better at ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles Bostonkiwi17, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you have limited mobility choose a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles 130francesf, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5