We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Windermere by Mantis

Expedia.comUS$104*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Windermere by Mantis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Windermere by Mantis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 1 January 2016

It is a wonderful bed and breakfast kind of a place with nice big rooms with living room space besides huge beds, clean bathrooms, nice sitting areas and wonderful breakfast in the lawn area. It is located right next to popular eateries including Coachman (highly recommend), Rasoiee Indian restaurant, McDs, etc. You do not feel like you are staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apurva D
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Windermere Hotel - we do appreciate all comments good or sometime not quite so good as these are the comments that allow for us to improve where we can. Apologies for the delay in your breakfast service - it is normally quite a slick operation. Trust you enjoyed your holidays here...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

My wife and I stayed here for one night after arriving in Port Elizabeth following a long haul flight and internal flight transfer. So the plan was to find somewhere to refresh before starting our self drive holiday of the Garden Route. The hotel fitted the bill exactly and the previous reviews are generally on the mark. A few things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huntsy
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I've spent 3 weeks at the hotel on a business trip and I've experience the following. Bedding and Linen was clean and fresh. Breakfast was standard and not much to choose from but the quality of the servings was great. Room Carpets in some of the rooms are torn and dirty (Maybe because of the rainy season). Some toilet levers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Werner d
humew00d, General Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Thank you Werner for taking the time to post a review your comments are appreciated and have been noted. With regard to the carpets - as you know during the time of your stay here and in fact in the week prior to your arrival we experienced extremely heavy downpours and in one of the rooms that you stayed in...

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of years ago and after a long flight from the UK found it to be a little oasis of calm just minutes from the airport . We decided to return this year for a night before heading out for a safari at Kwandwe a couple of hours to the north. Once again we were blown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review that you posted - we are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay here with us here again and that everything was as you had so favorably remembered. Do hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your holiday and lots more wonderful memories have been made. Kindest regards Caroline and The Windermere Team

Cape Town
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We were privileged to bid successfully on one night's accommodation at the Windermere through St Luke's Hospice charity auction. We stayed over recently and were welcomed, and spoilt with complimentary coffee on arrival (freshly made), off-street parking, and the signature HUGE room. The friendly and helpful staff are the cherry on top. Thank you Windermere, Caroline, Annalisa and colleagues.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mushilele
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - we too were privileged to have you both to stay here with us again here at The Windermere as were hospice (such a wonderful organisation) who had you donate once more! We look forward one day to another visit from the you both in the near future!...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We spent one night here in early September. The location is perfect if you want to explore Summerstrand. It is within easy walking distance of the beach, restaurants and the Boardwalk. It's also close to the airport. That said, we would advise hiring a car or asking reception to book a taxi if you want to head into the centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thelongs2015
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Windermere Hotel is truly appreciated and for which together with your kind comments we thank you. Happy that we contributed to making your short stay here in Port Elizabeth memorable. Kind regards Caroline and The Windermere Team

Florida
Reviewed 8 September 2015

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at the Windermere Hotel in Port Elizabeth for one night in August. Due to some bad weather in the area, our flight from Johannesburg was very delayed and we did not arrive at the hotel until almost 22:00. In spite of the late arrival, we were greeted warmly and offered some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simmrouter
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post such a favourable review - flight delays are most inconvenient and extremely tiring when lat e in the day so we are very happy that we managed to make this time a little less stressful and little more enjoyable for you all and that you didn't leave Port Elizabethwith negative thoughts!!...

Grahamstown, South Africa
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We booked last minute as our flight had been cancelled due to bad weather. From booking to check-out the service was superb. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed - although we would have liked a coffee machine in our room. TV channels were limited and the hotel is on the flightpath for the airport - so as much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarbiCow
humew00d, Manager at The Windermere by Mantis, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thank you kindly for your review posted and delighted that you and your family enjoyed your short stopover here with us at The Windermere Hotel. We would mention that Port Elizabeth is rather unique in that the airport is in the centre of the city and therefore wherever one is based the arrival and departing of aircraft can...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We only stayed one night before starting down the Garden Route. On arrival we were greeted charmingly and shown to our room. WOW . Spacious is an understatement, and when was the last time you had under-floor heating in the bathroom? The location is great, just one block fro the foreshore, where there was a market selling everything.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BrianTB_12
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2015

We stayed only one night on our way through to Shamwari, but boy is is something else. everything is oversized to a factor of 10. In the rooms on feels like Alice through the Looking Glass. The huge beds shrink into obscurity by the size of the bedroom, The bathrooms and wetroom must be the largest ever, I have seen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wrinkleytraveller

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.3 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
460 reviews
2.9 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.5 km away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
284 reviews
1.5 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerstrand
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windermere by Mantis is a luxury boutique hotel, conveniently situated in the popular beachfront suburb of Humewood, Port Elizabeth. Offering guests an authentic, year round beach holiday feel, we invite you to kick off your shoes and relax in easy-living comfort. At The Windermere, we've taken the boutique hotel experience back to basics, where our focus is on the well-being of our guests. Our warm welcomes are genuine, our smiles are sincere, and our guests are made to feel immediately at home. Of course, you can still look forward to all the classic comforts and amenities expected of an upmarket establishment, along with the exceptional service that has become synonymous with the Mantis Group. Enjoy complimentary afternoon refreshments at the poolside, unwind on your private terrace, or relax in the courtyard with undercover patio - the heart of our hotel. Share a drink at the bar with like-minded guests, or take a walk to the beach, which is just a stone's throw away. To add to the homely atmosphere, familiar home cooked meals are available to order off our light meals menu. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, The Windermere by Mantis is the ideal base for visitors to Port Elizabeth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windermere by Mantis

Address: 35 Humewood Rd | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: RM501 - RM675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windermere by Mantis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Windermere by Mantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windermere by Mantis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only saw one room but others have shared that the rooms are good”
Zetat0urs, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't be fooled when you drive up. Walk into the place and you'll be very surprised. Don't judge a book by the cover.”
286paynem, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“i always like a room with a view, so try to get the middle top room.”
660beulahl, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The wifi works better at ground level.”
Bostonkiwi17, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you have limited mobility choose a ground floor room”
130francesf, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$104
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates