We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silverbirch at Birchwood

Save
Share
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the grill”(36 reviews)
“enjoyed my stay”(29 reviews)
“value for money”(32 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
317
270
66
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
317
270
66
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillenjoyed my stayvalue for moneyshuttle servicele petitattending a conferenceexcellent staygolf cartexcellent servicethe wi fieast rand mallpleasant stayrooms are spaciousfree shuttleevery hourtambo airportconference facilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 683 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

After our wedding we had the honor of occupying this amazing hotel. Was relaxing and above our expectations. Thank you to the friendly staff and Nadia for making our wedding that little bit extra special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank papawillem90
Reviewed yesterday

We stayed one night at Birchwood on 7 July, 2018. The staff were great, the check in fast and the room was ok. I think the room number was 513. On 22 July we stayed again. This time arriving around 7pm. We checked in to...More

Thank Reg_ly
Reviewed 2 days ago

Quality and convenient location, close to airport, close to good local amenities. An ideal base for onward travel in / around Johannesburg and surrounding locations. The conference facilities are excellent and the staff welcoming, professional and attentive. Perhaps the only real downside is the proximity...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stevedesay
Response from Greg H, Manager at Silverbirch at BirchwoodResponded yesterday

Dear stevedesay, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that our product offering, including the staff and location, met your expectations and hope that this means that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not experienced any problem during my stay. Friendly staff !!!! For sure I will come back. Clean rooms great food. Transportation towards airport OK and on time. Internet access failed sometimes. Thanks a lotMore

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank C
Response from Greg H, Manager at Silverbirch at BirchwoodResponded yesterday

Dear Frank C, Thank you for providing us with your feedback, Naturally, we are incredibly pleased that you did not experience any problems or disappointments during your time spent with us, although, have noted that you informed of frustrations with the internet access. We have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Improvement on the menu, the menu is very limited and the hotel should at least offer 2 to 3 drinks per meal, because one is not sufficient. I like now the internet was improved this is good and the room are wide, however the rooms...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank domingosquingles
Response from Greg H, Manager at Silverbirch at BirchwoodResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear domingosquingles, Thank you for your comments, We are sorry to hear that a menu experienced did not meet your expectations or approval, however, would like to enquire as to which restaurant this occurred in and on which date. We naturally do vary our buffet...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Malebo S
15 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Greg H | Property representative |
Hi there - the best solution is to email the Reservations Team to get the best available rate and a formal quotation.
0
Votes
MissTravelPants1987
22 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Greg H | Property representative |
They have fantastic Banquet Packages where most items are included, however, not unlimited drinks.
0
Votes
Jennifer V
2 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Greg H | Property representative |
Silverbirch does not have this as a standard however, potentially they could assist if asked.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The place is huge so make sure you know where you are located when booking."
Read review
"Try and get a room away from the main roads. They can be noisy with cars coming and going at all times."
Read review
"Rooms on the Silverbirch Wing closer to The Grill restaurant are good with strong wifi"
Read review
"Rooms on the West side are further from all the noise and commotion that happens close to reception."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing