We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lebo\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

My mother and I took the 4-hour tuk tuk tour on recommendation from my travel group. It was an excellent view of the history of the area from the viewpoint of people that actually live and work there. I knew that I did not want to take a tour from someone offering it in a big bus like the citizens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DamaliC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Just took a tour there but next time for sure I would also stay the night there. A lovely place in Soweto, where real township life happens. It's nicely designed and offers plenty of activities. I took the bike tour which was well guided and totally safe You could talk to staff and get more explanation. Lunch in their beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I stayed at Lebo's Backpackers for 4 nights.The first night I arrived late around 11 pm. The next morning I went to reception to check in. I didn't get a warm welcome nor did I get an orientation of the property. I signed up to do the 4 hour bicycle tour that morning, which I really enjoyed. My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamika H
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband and I live in Johannesburg and we booked a 2 hours bicycle tour on 13 October 2016, when my sister came to visit. We absolutely loved it. It was so nice to see Soweto from a different perspective. It was easy going yet very informative. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and happy to share just enough info without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathalieboucry
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time and write a review and give us feedback on your experience with us. We are also extra happy that you are locals from around Johannesburg as we really want our fellow South Africans to explore their own backyard. We hope to see you back! Warm Regards Maria Malepa

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We did the 2 hour bike tour today and it was really really cool. After reading reviews that suggested the 4 hour tour was too long we decided to do the 2 hour. It was so hot, the bikes were not the best so the 2 hour was perfect for us. Th guide was awesome. Very knowledgable and friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesHRL
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and write a review and give feedback on your tour experience with us! Good to hear that you had a great experience and you are happy with the guide. Our tours are designed to take in different aspects of Soweto but of course Soweto is famous for the political turmoil and anti-apartheid activism so...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 October 2016

What a fabulous way to experience Soweto! Thando and Issac make an incredible team together. They are open and it felt like they wanted us to get the feel of Soweto. How it is such a tight-knit community. They asked what we wanted out of the tour and went well beyond what we expected. We were shown all around Soweto...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam-travelfan
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! We are so happy you got what you expected - and more - out of your tour. This is what we strive for with every visitor. Soweto has so many faces and so many stories to tell, and it seems like our guides really gave you this during the few hours you...

London
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We went on the four hour tuk tuk drive around Soweto. Our guide, Philip, was excellent - extremely knowledgeable and personable and he greeted many people on the way in Xosa or Zulu, which we enjoyed. He took us to many different areas and explained about how it was for people living there, as well as information about the history...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 416Ann
Manager_Malepa, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review and feedback on your tour experience with us! We are happy you enjoyed Phillip as your guide as all our guides work hard to make sure to give an informative and fun tour - and be passionate about their job. We will sure tell him he did just that! We remember you...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We booked the 4 hour bike tour (530 Rand, about $38), but were not overnight guests at the hostel. We arrived late due to our lost Uber driver; however we were warmly greeted by Thammy and were easily hooked up with the tour which had already left. Due to this, we advise extra time allowance to find the hostel as...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank hannahbanana1186
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We did an amazing bike tour that was eye-opening about the effects of Apartheid, and its remaining effects on the people of South Africa. At the same time, it was uplifting to see how warm and welcoming the locals were to tourists. Our guide Chico was very knowledgeable about the history of the settlement and incorporated visits to local establishments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Had a great 2 hr Tuk Tuk drive around Soweto. Our guide was very informative and had a very good sense of humor. We stopped at places such as Mandelas house and Desmond Tutus. We also stopped at a kindergarten and had a great time with the owner and the little kids. We would recommend this trip to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex M

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
12.5 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
16.1 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
697 reviews
18.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 98 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
11.3 km away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#6 of 98 in Johannesburg
31 reviews
10.3 km away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#10 of 98 in Johannesburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: RM53 - RM150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lebo's Soweto Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lebo's Soweto Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private rooms are the best”
tomgarble, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The double room is lovely!”
annaoY2016PD, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a fan to be put in your room in the hot summer months.”
garethcraig, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Dorms are cramped and crowded. There are only 2 single options. The double room is the best room but is expensive if you are on a budget.”
littletripper1968, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Have both shared and private rooms, according to your preference.”
277tamaraw, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hostelworld.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates