We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherry Tree Cottage B&B

8.6 km from Johannesburg centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
57 Ninth Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Very nice stay. Quiet and peaceful. Great breakfast. Good position for my needs. Liked the separate entrance and good off street parking. Room not really suited to business travel as desk table not that comfy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 500alexia
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The hosts are beautiful souls. I enjoyed every minute from the time I checked in and right up to my departure when I knocked down their flower vase. I felt so terrible but they let me get away with it. I love the place, rooms are all nice warm and cosy. I will not hesitate to stay with these 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VusaNkala
Bonn, Germany
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Very familiar and quiet accommodation. Owners are very helpful and care for you. Though the sleeping rooms are not the newest ones, it is very clean and a pleasure to stay inside a pretty house and a wonderful garden.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 788clausb
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Russell Thomsen - Oudtshoorn Marelyn and Ron went out of their way to help at all times. Marelyn gave me directions when I lost myself at night on the way to Linden, and later on, tips as to which were the best routes to see my contacts. The room was quiet, comfortable and like the whole establishment, beautifully decorated with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell-Thomsen
TheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Russel- we enjoyed your company and wish you well in your new adventure. Do stay in touch and we look forward to hearing from you

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My second stay here five years apart. While the rooms are comfortable enough and the location convenient, the breakfast menu needs improving both in content and service - no bacon, stale bread (if you prefer bread over toast) no fruit juice and that awful cheap vacuum sealed sandwich ham are not for me. Insufficient milk supplied in the room for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O4529PUcharlesb
TheCherryOnTop, Manager at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

Hi Charles We do apologise as the breakfast was not up to standard. However we must draw your attention to the fact that we have NEVER offered an English Breakfast in all the years we have been in existence. That is since 1997 & going on 20 years. It is a pity you did not ask us for more milk...

Rustenburg, North-West, South Africa
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We decide to overnight at the Cherry Tree Lodge, when attending a family function The feedback is not about the 2 owners, they are special people in the prime old age of life and a inspiration to all in term of energy, passion, and making you feel welcome The facilities are old and dated and not keeping track with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charl and Kirst... K
TheCherryOnTop, Manager at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

We take your kind words in the spirit that they were meant .. (but we do know we are well past our “sell by” date) and do apologise for not coming up to your expectations. We have been keenly aware of our shortcomings, and have not been idle, but we had to decide this year to prioritise the upgrades of...

Central SA
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Thank you Ron and Marelyn, you have a beautiful guest house and I enjoyed my stay with you on Monday and Tuesday the 23rd and 24th of May. I will see you again soon. Cherry Tree is lovely, feels like a home away from home, with an amazing breakfast. Kind Regards

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CentralSARob
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

Rob You were the perfect guest and we did so enjoy having you stay. Do come again when you are in town.Warmest regards

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 May 2016

A great place to stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Ron and Marelyn are great hosts and very accommodating. We were a very late arrival at 11:30pm and Marelyn was up and waiting for us to personally welcome us and see us to our rooms. Great location for our needs and a good breakfast. We would definitely...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterDV
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to help you out.. you made it easy to go the extra mile!!! Warm regards

Johannesburg
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Well looked after. Would like greater choice at breakfast. Owners very friendly. Tranquil setting. Lovely gardens. Well situated. Secure. Great laundry service very good value. Nice guests overall. Would go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gav219
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

We were glad to be of service! And thank you for the compliments... we do have lovely guests. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Ron & Marelyn

Ispra, Italy
Reviewed 27 April 2016

My stay at Cherry Tree was wonderful. The owners are great especially the man who is very friendly and came in at breakfast for quick chats which I very much appreciated. Its very easy to walk to shops and restaurants nearby and an easy drive (or minibus ride) to major shopping malls.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mangomousse
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

We do so enjoy interacting with our guests over breakfast and weve made some wonderful friends as a result. Its one of the perks! Do visit us again soon. Warm regards Ron & Marelyn

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.4 km away
Moonflower Cottages
Moonflower Cottages
#4 of 92 in Johannesburg
74 reviews
3.1 km away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#37 of 288 in Johannesburg
59 reviews
4.2 km away
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
Sleepy Gecko Guesthouse
#70 of 288 in Johannesburg
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
5th Avenue Gooseberry
5th Avenue Gooseberry
#61 of 288 in Johannesburg
77 reviews
2.0 km away
Mendelssohn Manor Guest House
Mendelssohn Manor Guest House
#84 of 288 in Johannesburg
10 reviews
2.1 km away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#15 of 288 in Johannesburg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take advantage of South African hospitality wherever you go and experience our wide variety of fascinating cultures and local traditions. Let yourself be drawn into the rhythm and soul of Africa, see the country's natural wonders, have a close encounter with our wildlife and make an unforgettable journey through our ancient and recent past. Make the most of your time with us...... Feel welcome, relax and enjoy your stay.This small, personally run, 3 star B&B lies in the serene country setting of Linden that is centrally located to Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and just a short drive from Randburg and the Johannesburg CBD. This hidden gem is surrounded by Delta park, Emmerentia Dam and Botanical Gardens. We offer a tranquil environment & country feel only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city life which suits both the corporate and leisure traveller. Cherry Tree Cottage offers good value for money. It is comfortable, safe and secure, and centrally situated. The four, twin or king bed suites, can accommodate up to eight guests. The bedrooms are spacious, light & airy, & you can relax in the morning on your own private patio overlooking lush gardens. Enjoy a substantial, wholesome, continental breakfast with that special touch. Feel welcome, make yourself at home, and enjoy your stay. Very close to Melville, Cresta, Randburg, Sandton, Hyde Park and Rosebank, Parktown, Parkhurst, Greenside and Parkview. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Cottage B&B

Address: 57 Ninth Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: RM205 - RM317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cherry Tree Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cherry Tree Cottage B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at the far end has excellent access from car-park for the elderly or disabled”
 of 5 bubbles Russell-Thomsen, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Everything was Perfect”
 of 5 bubbles sebolelok, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the inner courtyard room is especially nice”
 of 5 bubbles davidnbunn, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The room at the end....its tucked away from everyone and has a lovely outside sitting area”
 of 5 bubbles CharisseM_13, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable and private”
 of 5 bubbles DougCapeTown, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5