We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 734: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Excellent hotel situated at the top of Melrose Arch approximately 30 minutes taxi from Tambo international. I was upgraded to a suite 534, which was perfect for me as I was there for 2 weeks. The staff are super helpful and eager to please. The food in the hotel is OK, but there are many bars and restaurants near by.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Victoria A, Thank you for the amazing review, it was such a good read! We are fortunate enough to be located within the Melrose Arch Precinct, which as you have noted, is a very centrally located area that makes it much easier for our GUESTS to commute to and fro the O.R Tambo International Airport. I am glad that... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Tried phoning the evening before to make a reservation, was put though to the restaurant and no one answered. Phoned again and was kept on hold constantly. I then sent an email reservation, unsurprisingly there was no reply to confirm my breakfast reservation. If this was the guest service extended, I had my doubts about their breakfast buffet being of... More 

Helpful?
Thank finesse1
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear finesse1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our restaurant. There is absolutely no excuse for us not answering your calls or responding to your mails, our GUESTS take president in everything that we do and providing them with the best GUEST service is what we work hard to achieve on a... More 

Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I really had high expectations of this hotel. I was super excited after I made my reservation and was looking forward to checking in.The hotel is just about average ( I am not sure why it is rated so high-maybe because of the location). There is a contemporary feel to the hotel but way too much Marilyn pictures in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flygeirl
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Flygeirl, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It saddens me to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. We tirelessly aim to meet and exceed all our GUESTS’ expectations and we have dropped the ball with you in this regard. Our design is inspired by the ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’... More 

charlotte
Level Contributor
124 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2015

The property is unique for sure. The vibe and decorations really reflect the personality of the hotel. The location can't be beat. You can safely walk around to many upmarket shopping and restaurants with ease. It's almost as if you're in the middle of a small walkable city. The rooms are not large, but very comfortable. If you look at... More 

Helpful?
Thank brianparsley
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear brianparsely, Thank you for the detailed and great review! As part of the Protea Fire & Ice! Brand, we pride ourselves of being unique, exuding an exclusivity that our GUESTS can feel from the moment they stride through our doors. Our décor and vibe is one that aids us in keeping young, bold and sexy in order to echo... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Went there with friends for drinks. Food was lame to say the last. They were unable to accommodate the smallest of requests I ordered the burger and the patty tasted better than it looked but the processed chase slapped on their was horrible. Also they move you inside to their trendy lounge area in the evening already so as not... More 

Helpful?
Thank 8mmSA
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear EnzoRSA, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I would like to express my most sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction that you had with the meals that you ordered at our restaurant. It saddens me to think that the food that was served to you was anything but the best. We pride ourselves of the products... More 

Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Spend a night at the fire and ice. Room was nice, clean and great decor. Used room service a few times and it was great. A big plus that it's 24 hours. The bar service is extremely slow, but that's normal with this place. Also beware when you order a drink they serve doubles by default, if you want a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rayan R
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Rayan R, Thank you for the review! We appreciate your lovely comments of our hotel and the décor, our design is derived from the ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’ theme which is undoubtedly modern and trendy. I would like to apologise most profusely for the slow service that you experienced at our bar, it saddens me that this element of your... More 

Weyers Cave, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Trendy hotel in the heart of Johannesburg. Large room with comfortable bed, free wifi, and free breakfast. Protea is now associated with Marriott so it now has Marriott benefits. Close to shopping but that is not what brought me to South Africa. Nice hotel but I'd probably stay elsewhere in Johannesburg.

Helpful?
Thank 1979Chas_Deb
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear 1979Chas_Deb, Thank you for your review! We are located within the Melrose Arch precinct which can be described as a village within a city bustling with restaurants and shopping facilities for the convenience of our GUESTS within a safe, secure and top-class environment. We offer all our GUESTS 500MB complimentary Wi-Fi for everyday of their stay. Protea Hotels is... More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

We had a clean, spacious room with a trendy movie star decor. Wifi was good. We loved the location in Melrose Arch. Safe area, wonderful places to dine and good shops close by. We would have loved to stay longer just to try more places to dine in the area. The only issue with this hotel, is that our walls... More 

Helpful?
Thank okanagansun
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear okanagansun, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is highly appreciated! Our establishment boasts of a unique style and is inspired by the old Hollywood glamour making all our GUESTS feel like stars the minute the walk they enter the door. We are located within the Melrose Arch Precinct which is not... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Very chic, modern rooms, with amazing design. The bed is extremely comfortable. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The milkshakes in the bar are just ridiculously amazing. The best you can drink!!! The area around the hotel is very nice. Good shopping and restaurants around the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank SentosaSIN
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear SentosaSIN, Wow, thank you for such an amazing review! All our rooms are inspired by the old Hollywood glamour era to ensure that we stay chic and modern, while still providing comfort for our GUESTS. I will be sure to praise our STAFF members regarding your kind words. We are world famous for our milkshakes and I am absolutely... More 

Cobar, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015

The room was great. Very modern and very comfortable. Hollywood star photos all over the place. Staff were terrific and helped organise transport into Johannesburg for sightseeing. It's a bit out of the city and public transport not available but the area is extremely safe and within walking distance of heaps of restaurants and shops. Hotel also has dining and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LnG270
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear LnG270, Thank you so much for the terrific review, your feedback is highly appreciated! All our rooms are designed to be trendy and modern, yet still comfortable for our GUEST’S convenience. Our establishment’s décor is inspired by the Old Hollywood Glamour era ,so you’ll find plenty pictures of Hollywood favourites such as Marilyn Munroe, Audrey Hepburn, etc. scattered about... More 

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.7 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
625 reviews
3.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 71 in Johannesburg
282 reviews
5.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 71 in Johannesburg
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: RM304 - RM969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing courtyard quieter”
 of 5 bubbles suezettes, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superior King Suite is the best”
 of 5 bubbles aluettev, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid first floor rooms, just in case the Bar becomes noisier than when I stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Letsgoblues1, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the Oreo or the Ferrero Roche Milkshakes. You will go back for more ;)”
  • Stylish!
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check your booking when you check in!”
 of 5 bubbles skistar15, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay