We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 523: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

We booked a reservation for Fire & Ice but was told that we were "upgraded" to African Pride down the block. The "upgrade" was to a "5 star hotel". No explanation was given for the "upgrade". We were told there were plumbing problems. However, we assume the hotel was overbooked or for other unexplained reasons. African was clean and as... More 

Thank S R
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SR I am exceptionally disappointed that your experience at our fine establishment failed to meet your expectations and that you had such an atrocious stay at our beautiful property. Especially after being informed of an upgrade from the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. The fact that you did not experience the service delivery that we normally offer... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Good welcome without any reservation, good price for one night in a nice family room where a confortable bed was dressed when we went back from dinner. Beautiful furniture and deco. The swimming pool was great, the staff also. We had a small lunch our feet in the water, very nice after so many hours spent driving. Speaking about the... More 

Thank Natalie G
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2015

This hotel is brilliant , service and attention to detail is out of this world. The breakfast buffet is the very best value for money I have seen in a very long time. Service in the dining room is outstanding. Rooms are very well appointed and worth every a visit. will certainly visit this hotel again, should be 6 stars.

1 Thank ShaneBehr
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Attended an all day business conference and it was really well done. The Board Room was comfortable with all the expected facilities. AV guy was there from the start and made sure everything started smoothly. Staff in general was very helpful and attentive. Food was good too! I had a veggie stir fry that was yummy. We needed the offsite... More 

Thank santoori
London, JHB
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2015 via mobile

small rooms. Very poor service. Reasonably priced for the product. Convenient for Melrose Arch and business meetings in Sandton. I really would not recommend this hotel for a non business break. I would estimate the facilities at 3 Star and the food is terrible, especially in the restaurant.

Thank Goodtaste73
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goodtaste73 It is regretful to read your comments on Tripadvisor about the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about the small rooms and poor service certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel... More 

Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2015 via mobile

The hotel has an excellent location with several good restaurants in a walking distance. Rooms are large and comfortable. Service is professional in any perspective. A pleasant bar area and lounge opened to the bar is comfortable and relaxing. Internet worked fine also in the room. Breakfast is excellent, but expensive when compared to South African prices. The fact that... More 

1 Thank Vinidive
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2015

This is my first time staying at this now famous hotel and I'm pleasantly surprised by how accommodating the staff was especially Refiloe and how beautiful the rooms are. This was well worth the effort is took to get here. Nicely done.

Thank richveinofform
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

I finally found a great hotel in a very centric location. The rooms and facilities are awesome. The Breakie is amazing and the best part is that you have plenty of things to do walking distance. For this reason I will stay here in the future instead of Westclift.

Thank rwurbina
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rwurbina Thank you for choosing the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel! We are delighted to hear that your stay was amazing and that we will be your new Hotel of choice for all future visits to Johannesburg. I am convinced that our competitive edge is our true South African hospitality, our unique STAFFING philosophy and the amazing personality that... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2015 via mobile

I stayed for only 2 nights but was really impressed with the staff, the quality of the decor, the lovely pool area (with tables in the pool) and the excellent location. Can strongly recommend. Everything you would expect of a five star hotel with a little twist. The entire team made a really good impression. Will definitely stay again in... More 

Thank DBVUAE2012
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DBVUAE2012 I would like to thank you for your prompt posting on Tripadvisor after your stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. We are truly blessed to be able to share this magnificent property with our GUESTS and it is extremely gratifying to read that our delivery of excellence matched your expectations and experience. Thank you for your... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Since we last stayed here, I'm afraid the hotel has declined. Firstly, the service at the front desk remains excellent. The room was fine except for a wobbly handbasin tap with hot and cold water the opposite of the markings. It was the breakfast which was the biggest disappointment. No croissants at 9 o'clock (breakfast finishes at 10.30) - the... More 

Thank RogerP138
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RogerP138 It is with great disappointment that I answer your complaint regarding the experience at breakfast on Sunday past. The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel prides itself in being voted the best breakfast in town, which I am sure you have noted in previous Tripadvisor comments. But however, it seems that the TEAM failed to offer this brilliant experience... More 

240 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (199)
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Bathroom (21)
Room/Suite (42)
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Dining (16)
View from Room (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Videos (1)
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (41)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Room/Suite (11)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Dining (7)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.5 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
627 reviews
5.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 71 in Johannesburg
324 reviews
3.0 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 71 in Johannesburg
507 reviews
0.9 km away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 71 in Johannesburg
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: RM627 - RM1,294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 1st floor, and there were some stairs, so if mobility is a problem, try and stay on another level.”
 of 5 bubbles harado, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You need to go up and down steps to get to some rooms, so let staff know if this is an issue.”
  • Comfy beds
  • Rubber duckies with the bathtub!
 of 5 bubbles Daman1992, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 112 is right off the pool and is a bit bigger than other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Wolfpack81, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an Executive Room - overlooking the pool”
 of 5 bubbles Aneesh2011, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick top floors overlooking the poolside”
 of 5 bubbles 110kelvinm, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay