We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

571 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 490: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Second time staying at this hotel and fast becoming our 'go to' hotel when visiting Joburg. Comfortable and spacious rooms, good sized and modern gym, efficient and helpful service, and wonderfully relaxing patio/garden area with outside bar. Location also cannot be beat, adjoining the Rosebank Mall with close proximity to many shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjlimm
Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night but we really enjoyed it. The service was great, the food was delicious and the ambience lovely. One could almost forget you're in Johannesburg. The gardens are beautiful and the rooms quiet and spacious. They just need to keep an eye on the general cleanliness ( especially the elevator floors) and check that all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christelle W
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hyatt is accessible and positively predictable. You know you will find comfort you can trust and food you can stomach. Therefore a very safe bet for business trips. It has several areas where you can have informal meetings or gatherings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas O
Toronto
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marieP3036DX
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. Not a good welcome to international tourists and business people to SA. In the restaurant to staff refused to push two tables together to enable a group of us to sit together, even with an empty restaurant. The conference facilities were good though and very well organized events.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sellabella
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Sellabella, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was overall a positive one! We were however disappointed to read that you encountered certain issues while staying with us, all of your comments have been noted and...

Nairobi Region, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I attended a one week conference at this property last week. The rooms are excellent, modern and spacious and I enjoyed every brief minute that I spent inside the room. The breakfasts were very generous with a wide selection of cold and hot food and very friendly wait staff. My colleagues who had organized the conference, however, were very unhappy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Carol M, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team

New York, USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were happy at the Hyatt. Our room was large and pleasant with a comfortable bathroom. My friend however felt the mattress was hard. She suggests they look into using similar mattresses / pillows like the St. Regis in Mauritius which was our following stop. The hotel is attached to the Rosebank Mall with great shopping, supermarkets and restaurants. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank semsemsemsem
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear semsemsemsem, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very unfriendly and unhelpfull staff at the reception/check-in even to a loyal member from Hyatt group worldwide for more than 10 years. Staying annually about 20 times in Hyatt hotels... I have never experienced that 3 times in a row bookings are either not made or even not honoured after receipt of confirmation by mail. When adressing that matter with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 518benv
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear 518benv, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your most recent experience with us. It is important to us to receive your feedback and to learn where we can improve our service and facilities. We were disappointed to read that you encountered some issues while staying with us, we will most definitely address these with the...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been there for 2 nights on Bussiness, 1 got a smoking room but could not change, 2. shower is outdated and is not working properly, no pressurer and temperature could not be regulated, so far so good, but even that was not fixed even though talked twice to the reception. So not responsive at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moarti
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear moarti, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your most recent experience with us. It is important to us to receive your feedback and to learn where we can improve our service and facilities. We were disappointed to read that you encountered some issues while staying with us, we will most definitely address these with the...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the more expensive hotels in Jhb, but reliable in terms of quality and service. I can highly recommend the downstairs restaurant. Especially the lobster bisque. Its the best I have ever tasted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 805janinee
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear 805janinee, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We will definitely pass your compliments about oneNINEone's Lobster Bisque onto our Chef. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.4 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
326 reviews
2.6 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
630 reviews
3.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.4 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: RM623 - RM1,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor with view; preferably on same floor as the pool / spa if you use these facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles semsemsemsem, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Staying higher up is closer to the gym and has great views. Closer to the lift is more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles 926marcusp, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room would do.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnyBlue77, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The eight floor is safe, the city noise is blocked out and it is very private.”
  • Seating in the bedroom.
 of 5 bubbles 260charlottep, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street could get a little noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Whi06396, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay