We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 816: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
 Click to rate
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight before starting our South African tour. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff very friendly and helpful. It was lovely to relax around the pool with a cool drink after our long flight

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Pat W Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations and provide you with the relaxation that was needed after your long flight. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to continue to inspire and...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo is an all-around great hotel. It isn't necessarily the easiest to get to, because of the shuttle, but it is perfect for an overnight stay. It has a great restaurant, gym, outdoor area, swimming pool, breakfast options and a frequent and reliable airport shuttle. It also a has a cool, modern feel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are disappointed to hear that you had some difficulties with getting to the hotel and will strive to ensure that in the future this is prevented. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Protea is near the airport but not necessarily easy to get to. For a quick sleepover, it fills the bill. The design and decorating is very industrial so there are common areas that are VERY noisy- including the computer work station which is located across from registration in the hotel's lobby. The place did not give m e warm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 110,349
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear 110349 Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. As a Valued GUEST, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you rated your overall satisfaction an “4”; however, we also noticed that there were...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On the morning of 3 March 2017, an alarm went off in the hotel towards 7 a.m. As usual we all had to get out of the showers and leave all that we were doing to assembly at the bottom. Hardly a minute of being down, nobody addressed us on what was going on. I asked the staff member there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sbaningi
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Sbaningi Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. In our efforts to ensure the safety of our Valued GUESTS by undergoing a mass evacuation after a fire alarm was activated, we have unfortunately disturbed the peace and quiet that was owed to you. We offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused when the fire...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent business/airport hotel. It is visible from the airport but taxis have to go past it to get off the motorway Taxi is about R120. Breakfast is good once you have worked out the system. 0700 to 0800 is a busy time for breakfast. Free shuttle goes to the airport at 15 and 45 past the hour, and to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogerrobert98
Letsitele
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is excellent, rooms are well furnished and of high quality, reception staff very welcoming. Staff member (Mandla) at the dinning hall/restaurant was more than welcoming and very professional In his work. but some staff members are too into guarding as if customers will run away without paying- that was intimidating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guestgB7080CK
Natalie B, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear guestgB7080CK Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to...

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in December. We were only planning on staying one night and then flying on to Victoria Falls. Unfortunately, we were there three nights and had to cancel our trip to Victoria Falls. That's because on our first night at the hotel, we had dinner in their dining room and my wife came down with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey G
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Harvey G Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that your vacation was cut short due to your wife's unfortunate experience in our dining outlet. I have spoken to both the TEAM and Vince who once again offer their sincerest apologies for this incident. I...

St. Albert, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 3xs for 1 night each time as a stopover and for this purpose it's fine due to the good location to the airport. The restaurant has good food. However the front desk staff need help with service etiquette and the poor restaurant serving staff have uniforms that are a parking vest. The swimming pool is not swimmable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahunter2008
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear sarahunter2008 Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for firstly the delay in getting back to you on your concerns. It is rather disheartening to hear that you had experienced such poor service from both our Front Office and Restaurant TEAM members. Your feedback has been addressed...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was nice to get rest before catching a connection flight, stayed in the hotel for 4 hours, the wi-Fi was great, and so was the food. However the TV wasn't working in our room and it was a bit pricy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panagiotis S
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Panagiotis S Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and you had found rest after your long flight. Please accept our apologies for the TV not working in your room, please could you elaborate on which room you were staying in...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Next to the airport and highway but nothing around it. Very noisy hotel. My room was airport side and single glass. I could hear everything! Breakfast is good but pricy. Dinner was nice. Gym is extremely small and so is the swimming pool. I do not recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annika T
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Annika T Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. We have brought your concerns to the attention of our Management TEAM so as to keep in mind all feedback received when making decisions in future. We have also made it our priority...

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (140)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,855 reviews
1.0 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
1.1 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.2 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: RM372 - RM829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott OR Tambo Airport South Africa/Kempton Park
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Houston, TX USA

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that does not face the airport”
 of 5 bubbles 110349, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Travellers must choose Airport view when they check in”
 of 5 bubbles guestgB7080CK, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room on the parking lot side, much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 54dl, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room facing the parking lot. The road on the other side is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles BruceM53, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper room facing airport for better view.”
 of 5 bubbles REVJCF, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5