We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Elegant Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Elegant Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Start your review of The Elegant Lodge
 Click to rate
Singapore
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A small, comfortable lodge. Perfect for an in and out trip. Ample parking. The staff were just wonderful, friendly and professional.The coffee delicious and the quaint bar a good spot to relax after work. My only complaint is the bathroom is a little old and the shower-over-the-bath a trickle. Not ideal for the taller individual! Otherwise the bedroom was lovely,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia74Durbs
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We are looking forward to serve you again. Regards, The Elegant Lodge

Bethlehem, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Would be nice to know if the room does not walk out on to the garden. We had breakfast and it was not that greate. We had to ask for everything. There were four people who had breakfast before us that finished a lot of the food and we had to ask for more. Not very nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacolien001
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We will definitely look into the points that you mentioned and will take it to heart and see how we can improve our service and facility in the future. We are looking forward to serve you again. Regards, The Elegant Lodge

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Our "garden" Room opened onto a conference courtyard & people smoked & drank until early hours of morning -couldn't sleep. One second night a drunk man was arrested there & there was noise all night. Not suitable for family!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shazizam
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated on a very busy highway. Despite assurances that the the traffic will calm later in the evening and early morning as well as double glazing windows in the bedroom the traffic noise was very disturbing. Throughout the whole week my night rest was disturbed by either traffic or noisy hotel guests. Definitely not recommended. Staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fjv2015
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. Please try our superior rooms next time; they are located on the outside building.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The people working here is the Lodge's best asset. Experienced consisted friendly and efficient service, but... I was also surprised by the Lodge's 4 star rating. It is really a bare bones facility with plenty of quality features missing. Not having access to your room via the passage door is really unacceptable. Room are clean and fairly comfortable but lack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TsamayaSentle
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and informing us about your experience during your stay with us. It is highly appreciated. We will definitely look into the points that you mentioned and will take it to heart and see how we can improve our service and facility in the future.

Pretoria
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We booked this accommodation based on it being a 4-star rating. We also needed parking for a trailer and their ample parking facilitated this. The lodge is comfortable enough but it appears to have not been upgraded in 20 years. Everything looks over used and tired. In addition, one expects some little extras from a 4 star establishment asking rates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wally8
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this establishment. The name alone is very misleading as there is nothing elegant about this Lodge. The place seems very old and run - down. The staff do not seem trained. It felt awkward arriving and going to reception which is in the middle of the restaurant while people are eating. The rooms are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julescorndog
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. Apologies for any inconvenience caused. Regards, The Elegant Lodge Team

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Well situated and the rooms are neat and clean The staff are very friendly and the conference area is small, but user friendly. The food is good, but the variety on the menu is limited. The only problem is, that there is no area to sit as a group and watch rugby and the bar is small, part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgeaY8778DC
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We will definitely look into the points that you mentioned and will take it to heart and see how we can improve our service and facility in the future. We will try our best to maintain our set service standard by spoiling you a little!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Home away from home experience, with neat rooms and friendly staff. Perhaps you can add more variety to your menus. The maintenance of the pool was not up to standard in November. Probably add weekend newspapers as well

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank xolat
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time and giving your feedback. We will definitely look into the points that you mentioned and will take it to heart and see how we can improve our service and facility in the future. We will try our best to maintain our set service standard by spoiling you a little! Regards, The Elegant Lodge

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Clean room, but in comparison to other similar establishments not as well furnished. In Menlo Park it would be the last place I pick in the future. The breakfast was terrible, raw pork sausages, poor service. Definitely not worth R115. Fortunately breakfast is an optional charge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickroche
Elegant L, Manager at The Elegant Lodge, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you informing us about your experience during your stay with us. We will definitely look into the points that you mentioned and will take it to heart and see how we can improve our service and facility in the future. Regards, The Elegant Lodge

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#10 of 73 in Pretoria
220 reviews
15.3 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
135 reviews
7.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
25.9 km away
No photo provided
Lizvilla Guest Houses
#25 of 93 in Pretoria
3 reviews
6.1 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#13 of 73 in Pretoria
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Capturing the grace and elegance of Cape Dutch Architecture, The Elegant Lodge is your exquisite and convenient destination away from home. With a beautifully decorated and luxuriously furnished interior, we invite you to a pleasurable and memorable experience with our friendly and qualified staff. We offer you a variety of services and cater for your individual needs. So come and see for yourself and let us spoil you a little! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Elegant Lodge

Address: 83 23rd Street Menlo Park, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: RM275 - RM395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elegant Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Elegant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Elegant Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms on pool side lack privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles TsamayaSentle, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles georgeaY8778DC, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go for upstairs rooms. Good view over the gardens and pool area as well. Still a bit noisy at certain times as on the road though”
 of 5 bubbles 636daleh, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“try to get as far away from the road as possible”
 of 5 bubbles IngridW_CapeTown, 3 Oct 2014 | Read review
“The superior rooms in the outside area are very peaceful and quieter than the rooms inside the main building that face the road.”
 of 5 bubbles rejanew, 14 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5