We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Richtershuyz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Richtershuyz
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Richtershuyz
 Click to rate
Phalaborwa, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I would deffinitely recommend Richtershuyz to anyone. Tranquil surroundings, privacy, professional staff and the rooms are great and beds comfortable. I will make use of Richtershuyz when visiting Pretoria in future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank linette571
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day Linette, Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to return in the future! We are pleased that you found the surroundings, room and staff as pleasant. We strive to offer an experience for guest which is relaxed and memorable. We...

durban
Reviewed 12 October 2016

wouldn't go back ... no electricity and i appreciate it was an eskom problem but no warning and we arrived with no welcome, door fully open and in pitch darkness also had no electricity plugs out on our half of the unit in the morning... breakfast excellent

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra S
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day Sandra, Thank you for your review. It is a shame that the "Eskom" situation caused that your experience with us was more negative then positive. It was unfortunately a situation out of our control and we really tried to accommodate you the best we knew how under those circumstances. We strive to offer pristine services and a relaxed...

Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Kindest people, a very cute dog, and an amazing breakfast. They have a vrey clean and good place, an espresso machiene in the room, great breakfast menu included, and the nicest people running the place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssilbe_627098
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day Shachar, Thank you so much for your review! We enjoyed having you at our guesthouse! You are very pleasant people to serve. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting South Africa. We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our special facilities in the rooms and our breakfast...

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 12 September 2016

At very short notice the BnB accommodated the 3 of us even though they were full. The room was clean and well stocked. We found the staff to be very pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was delicious. Will definitely visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniebeukes66
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day Melanie, Thank you so much for reviewing our guesthouse. We are so pleased that we could accommodate you in that short period even tough we had little space left. We strive to offer our guests the most comfortable environment and stay while with us. Therefore we are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Richtershuyz went out of their way to go the extra mile for all of our guests on the weekend. Made us platters whilst we were busy finishing off for the big day. They made sure everything from their side was smooth so our day can be so much more relaxed and enjoyable. Constantly checking in with us and asking if...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielJvV
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Daniel! We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay at our guesthouse! We enjoy going the extra mile if possible for our guests and therefore we are glad that we could have assisted in making the day more relaxed and enjoyable! We are honored to have shared in such a...

Van Reenen, South Africa
Reviewed 24 June 2016

From the beginning on it was bad. We send an enquiry but we didn't receive an answer so we had to send an email again to ask why they didn't answered our enquiry. They apologized and send us the quotation. When I answered this email that we wanted to book and asked how to go on with the booking we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peggyu928
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day, We hope that you are doing well. We would like to thank you for your review on our Guesthouse. From the Management Team of Richtershuyz we would like to apologize for the bad service you experience from our staff. We will follow-up on our service standards and we will improve on this so that it will not happen...

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The place is so homely away from home.I was given a warm welcome. I really enjoyed the private and secluded environment. I was able to complete my office tasks at night comfortably on your study desk without falling tired. The room is so spacious with good lighting. I will definitely come to your place on my next visit to Pretoria.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank grit_tech
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your review about our Guesthouse. We are pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable and pleasurable stay at our guesthouse. We strive to keep all guests happy at all time and therefore we are glad to hear that the room was comfortable and that you good finish all your tasks easily. We are...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Very disappointing. Noise levels in the passage at night kept us awake till after 1.00pm. Showers going, toilets flushing!! Doors banging!! Bathroom had hair from previous Guests all over!! Breakfast....shocking! Tea and coffee cups dirty...table cloths...dirty. Only white bread. The young girl on duty burnt the milk ....we asked for warm milk for Muslei. Breakfast took forever. And it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lydia755
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day, We would like to thank you for reviewing our Guesthouse. We would also like to apologize for the unsatisfying experience you had at our Guesthouse. We overall try our best to keep all guests happy at all times, and therefore apologize that you had this negative sleeping experience and breakfast experience. We will definitely follow up on the...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable with all basic needs met. It was a nice touch to have access to my very own Nespresso machine in the room whilst staying there as well as a few snacks. There is also a "honesty bar" on site where guests help themselves to drinks and indicate what they've had and pay on departure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyager249
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you so much for your review. We are so please to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have in our rooms for you to enjoy while staying with us. We strive to offer our guests convenience and a sense of 'home away from home' environment and therefore we and so glad to have offered you an...

Durban
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Staff are very accommodating and the choice of breakfast excellent and very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable - very large bathroom for the space and the extra touches like the snacks very nice. The only thing I can say against it was the shelf that holds all the coffee/tea-making facilities was a tad narrow. Overall I would recommend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendymK3945RG
Richtershuyz, Manager at Richtershuyz, responded to this review

Good day Wendy, Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to offer a clean and relaxed environment to all our guests and therefore we are very glad that it was enjoyable for you to stay in one of our rooms. Thank you for your suggestion on the...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.4 km away
Foreigners Friend Guest House
Foreigners Friend Guest House
#23 of 355 in Pretoria
36 reviews
0.6 km away
Brooks Cottage
Brooks Cottage
#13 of 95 in Pretoria
15 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wardrobe Guest House
The Wardrobe Guest House
#25 of 355 in Pretoria
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Bay Tree Guest House
Bay Tree Guest House
#40 of 355 in Pretoria
40 reviews
1.5 km away
Osborne Guest House
Osborne Guest House
#51 of 355 in Pretoria
41 reviews
1.6 km away
Guest House Seidel
Guest House Seidel
#38 of 355 in Pretoria
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Richtershuyz

Address: 375 Mackenzie Street, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: RM319 - RM399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richtershuyz 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Richtershuyz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Richtershuyz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The layout of the guest house appears that all rooms have a view onto the garden”
 of 5 bubbles MyGeld, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms face the back garden with pool area, which is cosier than the rooms facing the front lawn towards the gated wall. The pool area should not be mistaken for allowing a swim- the pool is not of the crystal-clear variety.”
 of 5 bubbles 497AndreaR, 7 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The property is designed to allow privacy and space for each guest. All rooms are well positioned , either garden facing or pool facing . we booked two rooms and had both views.”
 of 5 bubbles losh_12, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All suites are well located.”
 of 5 bubbles DrAugustaDorning, 30 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Suites - Room 7 , Large and Sunny . Standard Rooms are quieter - Southern side of the Building and ....all rooms have private entrance .”
 of 5 bubbles ChazelleLBruno, 25 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5