We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor

Show Prices
#19 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
 Click to rate
Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 12 nights while I was in Pretoria for work. The room I stayed in was not so bad, but the staff looked angry all the time not a single smile. During breakfast they don't even ask if you would like some hot beverage. I was not impressed with the service as well as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 967kamol
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear 967kamol Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about the STAFF certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel Manor is usually proud to offer. As we strive to deliver a flawless GUEST experience, we would love to discuss your areas of concerns further....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a brief summary of our experience Staff - Super friendly, helpful and professional. Hotel - Located nicely in Pretoria. A safe environment. Also secured parking for vehicles Room- We had the apartment, it was spacious. The room was comfortable. Our only issue was the bathroom. sub standard to say the least. The toilet kept leaking from the piping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bman093
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear bman093 Thank you so much for your honest review, it is so wonderful to hear such valuable feedback from our GUESTS. Protea Hotel Manor prides itself in the quality of our service and the friendliness of our STAFF, the TEAM are looking into the situation to ensure that a similar problem will not occur again in future. Despite the...

Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

At first we booked the place for 4 days and the service was poor. However, after a review on this website which we wrote, the management of the hotel offered us a complimentary room. We took them up on that offer and behold, the did not disappoint. The room we were checked in was clean, new and bigger than the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 669makhalam
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear 669makhalam, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We appreciate your lovely comments about the STAFF and the hotel, truly a lovely ambassador for Protea Hotels. It brings my TEAM great joy to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations We certainly hope to welcome you back...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

it is especially good for a business traveller as it is located in centrally - closer to cbd, highways, university and gautrain station. parking can be a challenge when it is fully booked however staff is there to assist.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 915faniem
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear 915faniem, Thank you providing us with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate such valuable comments. I am delight over your comments regarding our STAFF and service experienced, they are indeed special. We are fortunate enough to be conveniently located within the Hatfield Precinct, a mere walking distance to a broad selection of stores, restaurants...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Perhaps I've been spoiled by international mid-range hotel chains (Ibis and Scandic). This hotel does not compare favourably. The hotel was okay, but there were several problems. The bathroom window didn't seal properly which meant all the street noise was allowed in and the hotel is in a noisy area near the university. The shower enclosure on the bath (shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaturaZA
Protea Hotel M, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Manor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting and...

Pretoria
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Hatfield Pretoria is not usually the first place you think of when you are in need of a peaceful weekend to catch up with your best friend. You expect the busy -ness of the mall nearby, the buzzing restaurants nearby full of patrons and the streets full of lively students to translate to a similar vibe once you are inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandiswas
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear sandiswas Thank you for your wonderful review, I’m so glad you had such a wonderful stay! What a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback! Thank you so very much for acknowledging our beautiful facilities and recognizing the property’s appeal to both the corporate and leisure markets. It is indeed a feat of excellent design combined with warm, authentic service...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This newly refurbished Hotel, location perfect, easy accessibility from N4 or N1. My safety comes first and this is the Hotel to book, like the idea that is close to the shops and restaurant not to forget the Gautrain station and free shuttle offered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ncube2016
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear Ncube2016 Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor As a VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and I am delighted to hear that the hotels facilities, service and safety met your expectations and that our location was convenient for you. We hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel...

Phalaborwa, South Africa, Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Very beautiful and stylish hotel. Situated in a busy Hatfield street surrounded by many restaurants. The hotel is also closer to Gautrain station and University of Pretoria. I love their rooms which are big and stylish.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McDVusi
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear McDVusi Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are fortunate enough to be conveniently located within the Hatfield Precinct, a mere walking distance to a broad selection of stores, restaurants, the University of Pretoria and the Hatfield Gautrain Station. Our rooms boast the perfect personal space for GUEST relaxation, the shower is a unique attribute to...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Staff were extremely helpful in setting up the function room and serving the guests. The food was really good and the variety was great. Room was clean, neat and very comfortable, an excellent experience, thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marielouise321
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear marielouise321 Thank you so very much for this wonderful feedback! We are delighted that you so enjoyed your time with us at Protea Hotel Manor and that the 40th School Reunion was a success. We are delighted to receive your compliments and will certainly congratulate our STAFF members for a job well done. It was our pleasure accommodating you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I stayed in one of the deluxe rooms, the beds are big and comfortable, rooms have double glazed windows so its nice and quiet. I had a lovely big shower. Everything in the room was great! The breakfast and buffet lunch for our conference was superb. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The décor is gorgeous! Def a place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vmaymclachlan
Protea Hotel M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor, responded to this review

Dear vmaymclachlan, Thank you so very much for this wonderful review! We are delighted that you so enjoyed your time with us at Protea Hotel Manor and it was an absolute pleasure hosting you. Our rooms boast the perfect personal space for GUEST relaxation, the shower is a unique attribute to our rooms and it involves a technique of creating...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
3.8 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#13 of 73 in Pretoria
460 reviews
5.4 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
4.2 km away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Manor provides an urban adventure. It’s chic design and true affordability provides the ultimate lifestyle hotel for all travellers. The hotel is a brilliant reflection of the trendy and life filled city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Chic – stylish, young at heart and utterly cool. The hotel features a trendy cocktail bar, deck, pool, bistro and nail bar. For all laptop nomads, the hotel features 100MB free Wi-Fi throughout. Centrally located in the urban district, just meters away from the Gautrain, University and entertainment hub and within walking distance from Loftus Versveld, 5km from the CBD and 45 min from OR Tambo International Airport. Needing to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city? Up in the rooms, big white fluffy beds and bliss spa toiletries make you actually want to spend time there. Our deluxe and standard rooms are equipped with double glazed windows providing a quiet and relaxing environment in the urban hub in which to unwind. Our 29 self-catering apartments have kitchenettes with refrigerators, stovetops and ovens. Once you're ready to face the world again, the hotel's lobby makes for a great spot to grab a drink and catch up with friends. All GUEST rooms at the Protea Hotel Manor are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor

Address: 1050 Burnett Street | Corner of Burnett and Festival Streets, Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa (Formerly Hatfield Manor Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: RM258 - RM449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room on the 2 nd floor had a bit of A/C noise”
 of 5 bubbles sandiswas, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“inner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Ncube2016, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe rooms are great, but they also have self catering rooms for long stays”
 of 5 bubbles vmaymclachlan, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that face the parking lot are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles NotATravelNewbie, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Spacious rooms”
 of 5 bubbles honeyimage8, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5